We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Solarena, BW Premier Collection
Nearby Hotels
Newport Beach Hotel(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Renaissance Newport Beach Hotel(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$274
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Newport Channel Inn(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$185
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balboa Bay Resort(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
$287
$270
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveler rating
170
155
96
43
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
155
96
43
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetbig belly delieat chowroom was cleanspaghettibusy highwayfree breakfastrent bikesbeach accessrestaurants within walking distanceheated poolthe pacific coast highwaywould stay here againlocation is greatbeach towelsorange countyboogie boards
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 500 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My family and I stayed at this property last weekend expecting a restful and enjoyable weekend, but had a bad experience instead! The hotel is in a residential area and behind it is a busy restaurant. So between their loud neighbors and trash dumping during the wee hours, we were awoken by conversations and slamming of the large trash bin of the restaurant!

On our first night, I asked for extra blankets and was told by the front desk that they're out. The next day however, when I saw the housekeeper and her cartful of blankets, I asked for a couple and mentioned that they ran out last night. She looked at me confused and almost wanted to say something but shook her head instead, which led me to wonder if the frontdesk lied and was just lazy! I also wanted to point out that our duvet blanket in between the 2 flat sheets was already tattered, torn and had holes on it!!!

Both mornings of our stay, we were woken up by the overwhelming smell of waffles cooking at 7:30AM and we're on the third floor on the opposite end where their dining area is at! This place seriously need to improve their ventilation and air filtration!

The only plus to this place is the hardworking and friendly lady working their dining hall for continental breakfast.

Yes their location is good, but none of this matters if you couldn't get a decent sleep.

6  Thank VegasMom777
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Location is great, right across the street from the beach. However the beach is more quiet, there is no shops or restaurants on the beach, depending what you want this could be good or bad. It is about a $10-15 cab ride to get where the action is from your hotel. We didn’t realise how big Newport beach is, if you want to go to places such as Balboa, fashion island, you will need to rent a car. There is a couple restaurants beside the hotel which we didn’t try, also a corner store, we had breakfast at the diner a couple blocks away, it was OK. We are a couple in our late 30s, like to have fun, no kids but don’t party like we did when we were in our 20s, we found Newport Beach boring….stay at Huntington beach, better shopping, pubs, more fun. Back to the hotel…room was spacious and quite nice, décor was nice and modern. We had a fridge, room was clean and also the staff was friendly. Continental breakfast was pretty good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cardom1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica R, General Manager at Hotel Solarena, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Cardom1127,

Thank you for staying at our Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn. We are so happy you had a great stay!

May I recommend renting one of our beach cruisers next time you are in town to bike to the Newport Beach Pier? Its a 7-10 minute bike ride along the beautiful Newport Coast!

The popular restaurant adjacent to our hotel, Eat Chow, is not only a hip & fun place to dine and people watch, you will want to order everything on the menu. The food tastes as good as it sounds when you read the menu.

We are excited to share with you more great places to visit & fun things to do next time you are in town. I will gladly help you plan your best trip to Newport Beach.

Thank you again for staying with us and thank you for sharing with others about your experience at our Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn. See you soon!

Regards,
Angélica Rivera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A real zesty enterprise, nice location, just across a beautiful beach. Clean rooms, friendly service and overall a great package with free breakfast and wifi. Parking available on the hotel lot for additional fee (fair enough). Car needed to reach the more interesting spots in the area, but I strongly recommend it also to families or business people in town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tamar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica R, General Manager at Hotel Solarena, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with other Trip Advisor members about your stay at our Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn.

We appreciate you staying with us! We hope you'll have an opportunity to stay in Newport Beach for a little longer on your next visit. We would love to share with you "must see & do" in town.

Thank you.

Regards,
Angélica Rivera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Too many add on fees. Had to pay to rent bikes. Had to pay to park in the hotel's parking lot. Not as close to the beach as they lead you to believe. The facility is separated from the beach by busy Hwy 1 and some housing units. For the price, I expected a much nicer facility. The accommodations were nice but not extraordinary. I definitely would not stay there again nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Kandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica R, General Manager at Hotel Solarena, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Kandi K,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your dissatisfaction with parking pricing. While our hotel charges $7 per night for parking on property, there is street parking available that is free of charge. We do rent bicycles by the hour for those guests who wish to bike around town.

Our hotel has great complimentary amenities such as a hot breakfast, wi-fi with fast speeds as you would have at home, complimentary beach chairs, toys and towels for you to borrow as well complimentary tea and coffee available 24 hours. Our hotel is just across the street to one of the best rated beaches in our Country. We hope you took advantage of our great location and hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Please contact me directly at 949.642.8252 should there be anything I can personally help you with.

Regards,
Angélica Rivera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel ranks top in amenities, location, and cleanliness for a coastal city hotel. The rooms are large and have everything you'd need for a holiday or business trip. The morning breakfast food is filled with good choices and there's a frig and coffee maker in your room if you're in a rush. We chose a balcony room and watched and listened to the night sounds of Pacific Coast Hwy 1 all night during a lovely rainstorm. Diane was especially accommodating at the front desk, and we loved her great smile. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room is you like the sounds of humanity rushing by. We loved it. But the ones without ones are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica R, General Manager at Hotel Solarena, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear JoyceF,
Thank you for staying with us during Thanksgiving! We appreciate you making our hotel your home away from home. Thank you for commending Diana on her great service and smile, it makes us proud! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Regards,
Angélica Rivera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews