We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, nothing else”
Review of Balboa Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balboa Bay Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
san diego
16
Reviewed April 5, 2006

Live in San Diego and needed place for weekend trip to Disneyland and South Coast Plaza. We have stayed at the Four Seasons on prior trips to Newport which is now Islands Hotel but we wanted to try something new.
Arrived at hotel around 11 pm and said they didn't have anything available. I had just talked to someone at front desk 2 hours ago before we had left San Diego and they informed me that the hotel was at 50% and there were lots of rooms available. The only positive part of this review will be the mangager on duty that Thursday night. He was very helpful and got us a room right away so my three year old didn't have to sit in the lobby too long.
The breakfast that is included is only really a $40 credit. That doesn't go to far when the orange juice was at least $7. The breakfast was ok, not fantastic. The rooms are very nice and clean. The service was average at best. I don't remember what we paid but it was right around $300 per night. If they made some changes to the level of service, restaurant and bar the hotel would be great for a quick stay.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 808 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
los angeles
230
Reviewed January 22, 2006

When dropping off a guest at this club/hotel after dinner, and not staying long enough to park the car, the security guard yelled at our entire party because we had stopped the car in an unmarked space for under five minutes--he wanted us to valet the car even though we were just leaving. After he yelled at us a second time, and refused to even have a conversation about it, we moved the car to park on the highway (!) at his suggestion, but were threatened with police intervention upon entering the property again to spend 5 minutes thanking the guest (standing right there) for dinner.

We'd had a drink in the bar earlier in the night and paid for valet during our earlier 90-minute stay -- and the hotel guest was paying the exhorbitant full rack rate.

There are hundreds of other places you can stay in this area where you can be treated with respect, for the same money or even less. I would recommend any one of those.

Stayed: January 2006
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2006

We stayed here over a long weekend, with fantastic weather. This hotel you might miss driving down the coast highway, but it's a great location, right on the water. Good rooms, service, with a great romantic bar right on the waterway. Live piano music in the evenings. Restaurant is quiet and romantic. It really is a prime location. The concierge Heidi was a great asset!!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for Thanksgiving 2005 while on a mini vacation. We're a family of four with a teenager and a grade schooler. I'll follow the TripAdvisor format in writing this.

The services we used were:
Valet Parking
First Cabin Restaurant
The Pool

Rooms: The rooms are fabulous and probably the best part of the hotel. We had a room with a pool view and it was great. Everything in the room was in top shape. The bathroom was large and done in stone with an oversized tub. The beds had a pillow top and large down comforter and were very comfortable. The room came with a DVD player and you could check out movies from the lobby.

Service: This was probably the second best feature of the hotel. Everyone was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Nightly turn down service and Toblerone chocolate was great.

Value: We stayed here on a package of about $250 a night with $40 a day for breakfast and valet parking ($24 per day)included. We've stayed at several other properties in the area in the past and each have their pros and cons. I would say that for the money, this is one of the best maintained properties of those. However, if you're expecting lots of things to do on property, you'll be disappointed.

Cleanliness: The entire hotel was clean and well maintained.

Dining: We generally ate at the First Cabin Restaurant for breakfast and spent the rest of the day off property. We did, however, have Thanksgiving Dinner at the First Cabin (I think this is the only restaurant on property open to the public). The Thanksgiving meal was very good and our server was great. Our youngest wasn't feeling well after a day at Disneyland and he bent over backwards to make her Thanksgiving enjoyable.

Activities and Gym: I don't recall there being a gym. I didn't look for it and I don't see it mentioned on their web site. I also don't think that there are many on site activities, but we didn't plan on doing much there, so I never checked into it. There are probably more activities for club members.

Pool: The pool was clean and pretty average. It was cold, though, and we soon migrated from the pool to the hot tub.

Other general info: The property is kind of centrally located if you want to do both beach and Disney. Probably not as well located as the Hyatt or Hilton in Huntington Beach, but we've stayed there in the past and for the money this is a much better place. The fact that this is a private membership club as well as a hotel is kind of interesting and I think it can tend to scare people off. Other than the Bentleys and Ferraris in the parking circle, I can't say that I even noticed any members as you are kept pretty separated. The members do have a private "beach" and pool. I see people complain about that, however, if your idea of a beach in southern CA is that beach, then you have pretty low expectations. This is definitely a "spend the nights on campus and the days off campus" hotel. All the yachts in the harbor were pretty cool though. We'll definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anonymous925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2596
Reviewed September 19, 2005

We stayed here at the beginning of a southwest tour & liked it so much we booked to stay again on our last night as a treat before flying back from LA. The service is great - valets, front desk & restaurant. The rooms are spacious with the most comfortable beds and divine bedlinen-you won't want to get up. Bathrooms are good, but be aware that some have great walk-in showers, whereas others have a shower over the bath. The standard rooms overlook the highway or the parking lot, you have to pay an extra $20 for a pool view, probably more for a bay view. The location is great, overlooking the marina. My favourite experience was early at breakfast in the First cabin restaurant, watching the boats and rowers glide past. The food in the first cabin is great. Duke's bar is a lively place for a drink with live music & dancing. There is a good size pool and hot tub, although I never got to use the hot tub as it is very popular.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2005

from the moment you enter this hotel you know you have entered 5 star luxury cannot reccomend this hotel enough. Service and surroundings were excellent.People saying drinks were expensive have you not been anywhere else in california? I found this place average for drinks and not excessivly overpriced especially when you consider where you are Newport beach trailers fetch a million! rooms are spacious and clean stay here! its not far from disney either about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Las Vegas
13
Reviewed August 27, 2005

Thank you trip advisor,

I read your reviews before booking this property, we are from Nevada looking for a place to get out of the heat. We checked into this resort and were very impressed. Service was great, I agree valet was problem but valet shuttled you to neaby areas for free. Beds are out of this world. They even have live jazz in the bar nightly, perfect touch. Had ordered room service and had breakfast served on the veranda ovelooking Balboa Bay. Nice surprize, my husband and I would highly recomend.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
2.3 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel
Fashion Island Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,048 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,720 reviews
2 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,587 reviews
4.7 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balboa Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Bay Resort

Address: 1221 W Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92663-5026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $252 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balboa Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience life and style that's perfectly balanced at the Balboa Bay Resort. A boutique ambiance combined with plush accommodations, sophisticated and personalized service, gourmet dining and unparallel location close to scenic beaches, nearby world-class shopping, restaurants and award winning designed golf courses make it the perfect destination for those seeking the quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience. Whether you're planning a romantic weekend getaway, a large-scale business function, or the wedding of your dreams, the Balboa Bay Resort offers unparalleled services and amenities to suit a variety of needs. Located on 15 waterfront acres in the heart of Newport Beach, halfway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the four-diamond property sprawls along the bay like a meandering Mediterranean villa. **Please note that starting Friday, November 6 through Thursday, January 7, 2016, the resort will begin a very exciting and highly anticipated guest room enhancement project. Each guest room will be updated with fresh, modern and contemporary furnishings including carpet, wall coverings, furniture and fixtures, along with a select number of rooms which will receive reconfigured bathrooms. We anticipate the noise level to be slightly higher than normal during the hours of 9 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday. Please be assured that your guest room will be far removed from the area of work so you can fully enjoy your time with us and delight in a quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Balboa Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Bay Club Hotel Newport Beach
The Balboa Bay Club And Resort
The Balboa Bay Hotel
The Balboa Bay Resort
Balboa Bay Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing