We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balboa Bay Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little inn By The Bay(Newport Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Beach Hotel(Newport Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Balboa Inn(Newport Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Newport Channel Inn(Newport Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandpiper Motel(Costa Mesa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveler rating
525
175
80
40
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
175
80
40
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterline restaurantclub membersduffy boatprivate beachwater viewroom servicevalet parkingbeautiful hotelhotel guestsvalet servicepool staffbusiness meetingearly checkfitness centershort drivefashion islandsouthern california
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
599 - 604 of 847 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited for Father's Day/ our anniversary. It was the perfect place. Splurge on a bay view room. You won't want to leave. The decor was lovely, the staff was warm and accommodating, and the food yummy. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Go for the bay view on the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Family of four in Queen / Queen bayfront room. Staff greated and treated like we were old friends. Room was spotless; room service rapid; valet about the best we've even seen. We did not feel out of place in our rental Ford Escape, even while mixing in with the Ferarri and Bugati folk - everyone was treated as a friend here. This is an understated elegant hotel. I have one very small caveat - the housekeeping staff are zealous and we were getting knocks on the door at 7:50 a.m. - don't be shy about using that DND sign. Otherwise - perfect.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and shoot for the Bay View rooms; they are worth the incremetal cost and oversized veranda creates a larger overall space.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience. We always like hearing when our guests enjoy their stay and receive great service from our staff. I would like to apologize for the early knocks on your door from our housekeeping staff. I will make sure your comments are addressed with our Rooms Manger so they can then be shared with our housekeeping team. We thank you again for letting us know about your experience. We truly value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Balboa Bay Resort very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I just stayed at the Balboa Bay Resort for one evening. Stayed in a bay view room that was priced at $456 with taxes. Wife went to take a bath and the tub had a thick brown residue ring at the bottom. Thought it was a stain but upon wiping, it easily came off. Just a lack of cleaning. Outdoor furniture has cigarette burns in the upholstery. Also, there was construction under our room. Drilling, sawing, and hammering ceased around 6 pm and started again at ten minutes after 7am. No relaxation there and no mention of construction. Also, the food at Dukes place was marginal at best. Only good thing to say was that the location was good, but save some money and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShaunGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review. I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. As the only four diamond waterfront resort in Newport Beach, we pride ourselves on providing our guests with a wonderful experience, and are very disappointed when we fail to reach our goals. Please be assured that each of your comments will be brought to the attention of the applicable department manager for immediate resolution. Again, we thank you for letting us know about your experience. We truly value your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Balboa Bay Club was lovely. The rooms are super clean and large, beautiful location overlooking the bay. The service was great and it offered everything from valet parking, spa, restaurants overlooking the bay. Really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatExpectations2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was my second stay at Balboa Bay Resort. We love the location, quality of rooms and views of the bay. The hotel is part of a private club and I think this throws some guest for a loop and they get put off that some areas are private and for members only. For me, this is understood and no big deal. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. The pool area is adequate but inside the courtyard. We love sitting on the patio at Dukes each morning watching the boats and their is a bar with live music that is fun at the end of the evening. This is a great location in Orange County but you definitely need a car to get around. The valets are very polite and eager to assist. We will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SantosdeTejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience. We always like to hear when our guests enjoy their stay and have the opportunity to experience some of the great Resort amenities and waterfront location. We truly hope to welcome you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews