We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and amenities, sometimes service is a little off”
Review of Balboa Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Balboa Bay Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location and amenities, sometimes service is a little off”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the BBC and used the electric boat in the harbor, spent time at the pool had before and after drinks and breakfast at Dukes and ate dinner at First Cabin and worked out at the fitness facility. We used everything just short of the spa!! And we LOVED it; can't wait to return. The pool staff was horrible though... We tried to order drinks and he told us to use the phone on the wall because he was "busy" and we looked over shortly after to see him piling more folded towels on the towel desk. Really? It never got any better as far as pool service but that is truly my only issue. Great place to stay for a romantic weekend or as a family! Love the BBC!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking advantage of the Resort's amenities and sharing your comments. We appreciate your kind remarks, however, I apologize for the service you experienced at the pool. I will make certain to bring your experience up with our Recreation Manager so that the issue can be addressed immediately with the pool staff. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    156
    76
    36
    20
See reviews for
181
218
35
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Every time I have ever driven by the Balboa Bay Resort, I always think how fancy it looks and just assumed it was for members only. Luckily, I recently met someone who works there who told me otherwise. Yes, they do offer private club memberships, but it is open to anyone. When my son told me to pick a place to go for my birthday, I chose the Balboa Bay Resort, out of curiosity. We went yesterday, and were pleasantly surprised at how luxurious it was but at the same time low key. It was pretty overcast, so not alot of people around. We had drinks and eats in Duke's Place. Delicious drinks and creative dishes. We loved it. A gentleman was playing the piano which was a nice touch. We sat by the window and gawked at the mega yachts docked before us. We were shocked that the prices weren't higher; pretty typical for the area. The valet was free because we dined there. A fabulous find! Great place to take a date. We will definitely be going back there more often, now that we have had a taste! Like a hidden gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank gabrielleflawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing. Yes, since opening the resort 10 years ago, we are very much a public resort with wonderful amenities and an incredible food and beverage program. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Duke’s Place and hope to welcome you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our second stop in Newport Beach. We left the Resort at Pelican Bay and came here for a couple days... Not to Impressed. I would normally refrain from giving my opinion unless I have something positive to say..but..I chose to share a negative review today.The Valet Parking staff was the friendliest and most courteous staff at the resort. The resort is a hotel and private club. The concierge and staff are confused as to the difference. Hotel guest could not use the private beach... Or so they thought. The concierge wasn't sure if I could rent a kayak or paddle board..as these may be exclusive for the club members. They didnt have a staff member at 11 am to tell me about any activities available. The next day I tried to rent an electric boat...listed as a feature at the resort as were the other activities, mentioned.. They weren't sure..asked me to call back as they were too busy I was quite shocked at this response..so I walked a block North and rented from Duffy Boats. This is a 4 Star resort.... One would expect more for the $300 plus rate for a Garden View. They have a car n driver available..but my destination was 3 miles away and I had to call a cab and wait 20 minutes..kinda crazy..as the resort is right on the main strip! The dress code is a definite must for the restaurant ..Bar and Grill. So I had to order 2 cans of coke from room service..at $3.50 a can..plus fees. No vending machines. You definitely need a car..as there bikes..no activities available and the driver is able to take you far enough to get to any of the local action...and no apologies. This would not be a resort I would return to or recommend.

Room Tip: We rented a Garden View...for the value..however..this is a view of the roof over the valet parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Warehouse2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. I sincerely apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. Our intention is to exceed our guest’s expectation, so it is very disappointing to hear that our staff was not able to better assist you or provide you with helpful information during your stay. I’d like to assure you that the issues you mentioned have been brought to the attention of the management team who will be addressing all aspects with the staff immediately. Thank you again for taking the time to explain everything. We value your feedback and will use it to better our guest’s experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We live in the area and had to vacate our home while some work was being done so booked a junior suite for two nights at the hotel. Since we had to leave our home early in the morning, I called and asked to get an early checkin. The receptionist said she would check to see if it would be available and would call me back. She did so in 30 minutes and said we could come over any time. All the staff were very friendly and out going. The room was great. Had dinner one night and breakfast two mornings in the main restaurant. All very enjoyable. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Balboa Bay Resort while your home was undergoing some renovations. We’re delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and are most appreciative when we receive comments like yours, since it requires a team effort to achieve the high standards we set for ourselves. Thank you again for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lovely old school hotel. Seems to be struggling to keep its high rating. The food is mediocre, bedding is wonderful, towels and robes are low quality, they charge you to mail post cards, there is a spa fee for the sauna, pool furniture is old and worn, place is clean not spotless, and the service is not great. I expected much more for $700 night. I have a great view of the bay and am enjoying my stay, but no plans to return or recommend it. This is a far cry from a Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, or Oberoi.  This hotel feels old and tired and in need of some upgrades.

Room Tip: Go for a bay view if you choose to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and sharing your impressions. I truly apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. As a four diamond resort, we strive to provide our guests with a lifestyle experience, excellent customer service and high quality accommodations. We are disappointed when we fail to reach our goals. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our management team. Again, we thank you for letting us know about your experience. We truly value your feedback and hope you enjoyed the latter portion of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

First time to stay here and hope to return. Beds were incredible. Views to delight. Staff went overboard to make sure we were taken care of. Perfect location. Really enjoyed my time at the spa. Highly recommend this well appointed resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Balboa Bay Resort. We were there for 7 nights and had interconnecting deluxe bay view rooms. Check in was great - as we were flying in from Sydney we were early on a Sunday - staff were able to give us one of the rooms early which was very helpful. Waking up to the sounds of the water is always relaxing and this hotel really got us into a holiday mood! Service was excellent - especially from Patrick the concierge - his knowledge was great - giving us a very good list of restaurants to try while we were there. He had also organised a winery tour for us prior to our arrival which was very helpful. The hotel has a very boutique feel and is very good value for money. Location is excellent - we did have a car which is worthwhile to allow for day trips down the coast and the the great shopping at South Coast Plaza!

Room Tip: The rooms with the view of the water are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesmith_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review and kind comments. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and are most appreciative when we receive comments like yours, since it requires a team effort to achieve the high standards we set for ourselves. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
2.3 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,448 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
4.5 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,494 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balboa Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Bay Resort

Property: Balboa Bay Resort
Address: 1221 W Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92663-5026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balboa Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience life and style that's perfectly balanced at the Balboa Bay Resort. A boutique ambiance combined with plush accommodations, sophisticated and personalized service, gourmet dining and unparallel location close to scenic beaches, nearby world-class shopping, restaurants and award winning designed golf courses make it the perfect destination for those seeking the quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience. Whether you're planning a romantic weekend getaway, a large-scale business function, or the wedding of your dreams, the Balboa Bay Resort offers unparalleled services and amenities to suit a variety of needs. Located on 15 waterfront acres in the heart of Newport Beach, halfway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the four-diamond property sprawls along the bay like a meandering Mediterranean villa. **Please note that starting Friday, November 6 through Thursday, January 7, 2016, the resort will begin a very exciting and highly anticipated guest room enhancement project. Each guest room will be updated with fresh, modern and contemporary furnishings including carpet, wall coverings, furniture and fixtures, along with a select number of rooms which will receive reconfigured bathrooms. We anticipate the noise level to be slightly higher than normal during the hours of 9 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday. Please be assured that your guest room will be far removed from the area of work so you can fully enjoy your time with us and delight in a quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Balboa Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Bay Club Hotel Newport Beach
The Balboa Bay Club And Resort
The Balboa Bay Hotel
The Balboa Bay Resort
Balboa Bay Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing