We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“First Cabin Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balboa Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balboa Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Canyon Lake, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“First Cabin Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were for my birthday celebration and had a stunning time. The room was beautiful overlooking the bay and the bed with European sheets and down coverlets was so comrfortable and slept great. We went for a duffy ride in the bay at sunset and it was absolutely the best. The beach is raked each day to keep it clean and the boats going by entertaining. We could listen to the birds sing and water splash. Had some drinks by the pool bar and the weather was warm and nice as could be.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bay are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kitty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at the Balboa Bay Resort. We always enjoy hearing when our guests enjoy their stay and great memories are created. We look forward to creating even more memorable experiences for you at the Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    142
    70
    33
    19
See reviews for
152
195
35
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

It was a treat to stay here! I would recommend a bay view room. It was expensive, but if you want to pamper yourself for a pleasant weekend try this place. The room was pretty, cheerful and comfortable. Loved the bathroom and the big tub. Although, one must be agile to climb into it. The carpet was a bit stained, but otherwise beautiful. The beds were very comfortable if you like the soft, cushy tops to the mattresses. I prefer a bit firmer mattress. The main restaurant was great, with good service and good food. We ate upstairs because the first floor was full. The staff was very attentive. The car attendants were very good, too. Make sure you budget and figure in the parking, resort/internet fee etc into the price so there are no surprises when you check out. We will remember this stay for a long, long time.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We are all most appreciative when we receive reviews such as yours, since it requires a team effort to achieve the high standards that we set for ourselves. We truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort and creating even more memorable experiences for you the next time you have the opportunity to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We attended a 4 day business meeting held at this hotel. The service was truly outstanding and the staff sincerely offered the highest class of service.
Our room overlooked the beautiful harbor and the mega yachts were just outside our terrace.and were a beautiful backdrop to the sunrise/sunset features of a waterfront location.
Food service was truly European style with personal wait staff attention.
Even the food served as a part of the business meetings was a class above anything we expected.
My wife enjoyed the Spa facilities and commented that the service personnel made her feel special.
Even the valet parking (at $28 per night) was first class, with the cars appearing within a minute and the staff always interested if Iwe needed directions, and welcoming us back on our return.

Room Tip: Choose a waterfront room for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stannie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were there for a girls weekend. The room is nicely appointed, with a lovely bathroom. Beds were comfy, turn down service nice, but the shutters don't shut well enough to properly keep out light. We sat on our little deck which faced the parking circle and watched the expensive cars come and go. The room was clean. We didn't use the pool but I thought it was kind of too bad it didn't have some kind of a view, it is in the courtyard, and the cushions on the chairs looked like they could use a good cleaning. The members only pool looked quite nice.
All in all not bad, not great. I suspect that if one is a member it would be a lot better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveltoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your impressions from your recent stay, and your kind remarks about the guestroom and facilities. We are always interested in feedback from our guests and have noted your comments about the shutters, as well as the pool area. I’d like to assure you we are inspecting the chair cushions and will address the issues you mentioned. Again, we thank you for your review and the opportunity to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The outstanding features of this hotel are it's location, friendly staff, spacious, nicely decorated
rooms. The down side is the per day $20 resort fee and $28 valet parking fee. We were aware
of the resort fee prior to making our reservation, however, the parking fee was quite a shock.
That's $50 per day on top of the room charge, for things that do not enhance your stay.

The most troubling aspect was that although the bathroom was very spacious and every day
the towels were folded as fans, the cleanliness of the floors was a big flaw in my neatness
freak opinion. Upon arrival there were spots right in front of the toilet and they remained there
despite our specific request to pay more attention to the bathroom floors. To assure myself
that they weren't part of the marble design, I successfully removed one with a little scrubbing.
It appears the floors are not part of their daily cleaning routine in any way since dust bunnies
floated on the floor as well. It is a shame that such a small task, could affect the overall
enjoyment of an otherwise lovely hotel. That being said we will probably return as there is
no other hotel right on the bay and in such a convenient location.

Room Tip: Away from highway. Overlooking bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter H, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and sharing your recent experience. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our resort, however, I sincerely apologize that our housekeeping staff overlooked this simple task of cleaning the toilet enclosed floor. Each guest room is thoroughly cleaned and maintained daily, and I have addressed your specific experience with our housekeeping manager to ensure that all areas are cleaned and checked. Additionally, I want to make sure you’re aware that as a lower cost alternative to valet parking, we do offer self parking on the resort grounds. Again, we thank you for letting us know about your experience. We truly value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Balboa Bay Resort very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Though the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, I was shocked to receive a bill for "Hospitality Service Fee" of $22.40/day. This is a hotel, where one would expect the whole of their business to be hospitality - so to be given a bill for this seemed either ill-considered by the hotel management, or just downright mean. When I questioned it I was told that this was to cover the use of the pool (which I did not use) and the internet, which I did not need to use as the conference had its own set up. They would not reverse this from the bill but said "mention it next time you stay and we will not charge you". There will not be a "next time".
Why don't hotels wise up that the last impression of a hotel is the bill. With what seem to be "rip-offs" and additions when you receive the bill leaves a very sour taste in one's mouth and spoils what should be pleasant memories of the stay. Having read the other posting about the exorbitant parking fee I think the owners of this hotel must feel that there business is always going to keep coming and that customers don't matter.

Room Tip: Rooms on three sides of the hotel do not look out onto the ocean. Outer rooms face the busy road or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Onbusiness1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed for a week at a conference in a great room overlooking the pool. The hotel was first class; the staff were attentive and friendly, the food was excellent, the facilities were outstanding. I had a suite with a beautiful bathroom, the bed was great too. The hotel is a short walk from some great restaurants like Garlic Jo's and Billy's at the Beach. The AC was too cold though!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
2.3 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balboa Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Bay Resort

Property: Balboa Bay Resort
Address: 1221 W Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92663-5026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balboa Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience life and style that's perfectly balanced at the Balboa Bay Resort. A boutique ambiance combined with plush accommodations, sophisticated and personalized service, gourmet dining and unparallel location close to scenic beaches, nearby world-class shopping, restaurants and award winning designed golf courses make it the perfect destination for those seeking the quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience. Whether you're planning a romantic weekend getaway, a large-scale business function, or the wedding of your dreams, the Balboa Bay Resort offers unparalleled services and amenities to suit a variety of needs. Located on 15 waterfront acres in the heart of Newport Beach, halfway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the four-diamond property sprawls along the bay like a meandering Mediterranean villa. **Please note that starting Friday, November 6 through Thursday, January 7, 2016, the resort will begin a very exciting and highly anticipated guest room enhancement project. Each guest room will be updated with fresh, modern and contemporary furnishings including carpet, wall coverings, furniture and fixtures, along with a select number of rooms which will receive reconfigured bathrooms. We anticipate the noise level to be slightly higher than normal during the hours of 9 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday. Please be assured that your guest room will be far removed from the area of work so you can fully enjoy your time with us and delight in a quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Balboa Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Bay Club Hotel Newport Beach
The Balboa Bay Club And Resort
The Balboa Bay Hotel
The Balboa Bay Resort
Balboa Bay Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing