We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuffy atmostphere”
Review of Balboa Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Balboa Bay Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stuffy atmostphere”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Balboa Bay Resort. Not very welcoming to outsiders, although the room was large and spacious, overlooking a pool. Overall, the resort is lovely. We also could not escape the jazz music, even poolside. If I had gray hair and no love for blue jeans, maybe we would have enjoyed the stay. We ate out for all of our meals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    157
    76
    36
    20
See reviews for
181
219
35
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We travelled with friends in October to Newport Beach. Our original room was classified "Deluxe". It overlooked the parking lot and a busy road. We chose to upgrade to a room in the club section overlooking the pool and it was a good decision. Our friends were on the 3rd floor in the main building and apparently their room was very noisy. Our room was beautifully appointed and the bed was exceptionally confortable. We breakfasted each morning on the patio at the restaurant and the food was good. What I continue to be surprised about is that many of the 5* hotels that I have stayed at recently in the US have removed the turndown service as a cost cutting measure. When checking into a hotel of this calibre, I expect turndown service. Apparently this service is now by request only! When I asked the Receptionist about this, his attitude was less than accommodating. After requesting the service on the first morning, we again did not get turndown service that evening. Again I asked the Front Desk what had happened and I received a flippent "Sorry, I wrote it in the book and I can't do anything about it." Not cool nor the kind of response I would have expected.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor of the main building or if you can afford to upgrade to a club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_regular_traveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and wanted to apologize for the turndown issue you encountered. We are addressing this issue to ensure that turndown service is indeed provided upon request. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Balboa Bay Club & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very clean place. Large rooms. Excellent location . Great service.We had a problem with our room & they took care of it in a great professional way . I definitely recommend this place if I'm in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebassali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Surprised my wife by having an over night stay here. WOW! They surprised me by giving us the best room possible with a wonderful view! Thank you too everyone who works there. This was the best hotel for anyone that is looking to relax and have a great evening. We will be back!

Room Tip: The couples message was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I take a girls trip once a year. We normally go to the Four Seasons in Scottsdale, but decided to try something different. Our trips are about laying at the pool and just relaxing. The pool was not what we expected. This resort is also a work out facility for the locals. So as we laid at the pool people would come and go after doing their laps. The pool was not a resort type pool. I also wanted beverage service at the pool and went to the bar inside the hotel and requested pool beverages. I was told to make a request at the front desk. I did. No service ever arrived. I saw a pool attendent walk by and I asked for beverage service and was told to use the room service phone located near the pool. I did. After that the service was no problem. The food was just okay. We went to the bar for dinner one night and the service was fine but the food was not worth the price. The rooms appear nice upon arrival, but as you stay you notice the carpet is filthy. I wear socks when I stay in hotels and my socks were nasty by the time I left. The hotel isn't a five star quality in my opinion. Often after the room was cleaned the maid would not have picked up used glasses. The valet parking was friendly and quick. If I were to stay at Newport Beach again I wouldn't stay here. It isn't a horrible hotel, just not worth the amount of money it charges and not five star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review regarding your stay with us. Although you were able to order pool service by using the pool phone, I apologize that you were incorrectly directed (we do have servers located in the pool area during the peak summer months) and we will be reviewing our current procedure. Your observations have all been noted and will be addressed wherever possible. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

checked in on Fri. at 1 PM. found I was assigned a handicapped room and asked to be changed since I was not informed of this at check in. Was told they were over committed. No CAll back. My clothes were dragging the ground and was very difficult to get in and out of the tub for a shower. Just a horrible room! Went to the First Cabin for lunch. After a 20 min. wait I asked the manager if I could order. Lunch was fine but again had to chase the waiter down for my check. A genral lack of service and over rated for the price!!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I apologize for the inconvenience caused by your room assignment. Handicap accessible rooms are a requirement for all hotels and when we are fully committed, these rooms will often be allocated to guests who do not require these particular facilities. It was an oversight on our part that no explanation was provided upon check-in and I apologize that we did not communicate this to you.
Our intention is always to provide timely, excellent service and I was very disappointed to hear that this was not the case with your lunch. I am sorry that you had to ask to order, instead of receiving attention from your server, and I would like to assure you that this matter is currently being addressed with the First Cabin staff.
If you would like to discuss this in person, please do not hesitate to contact me at 949-630-4205.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My son got married at Balboa Bay last weekend. All of our out of town guests stayed there. They all raved about the hotel.

Upon arrival, the valet team was professional and efficient. The check in was flawless and the staff was extremely friendly.

The bed in the room was very comfortable and the bathrooms were quite large, with an awesome bathtub that you could actually use comfortably with a great shower head. I had one breakfast at the hotel, overlooking the yachts...the service was awesome and the food reasonably priced and high quality. We also had a brunch on Sunday at the hotel. The view was magnificant and the food was wonderful. I would return to Balboa Bay in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: upgrade to a bayside view or pool view, otherwise you overlook the parking valet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
2.3 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,458 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
4.5 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,497 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balboa Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Bay Resort

Property: Balboa Bay Resort
Address: 1221 W Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92663-5026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balboa Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience life and style that's perfectly balanced at the Balboa Bay Resort. A boutique ambiance combined with plush accommodations, sophisticated and personalized service, gourmet dining and unparallel location close to scenic beaches, nearby world-class shopping, restaurants and award winning designed golf courses make it the perfect destination for those seeking the quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience. Whether you're planning a romantic weekend getaway, a large-scale business function, or the wedding of your dreams, the Balboa Bay Resort offers unparalleled services and amenities to suit a variety of needs. Located on 15 waterfront acres in the heart of Newport Beach, halfway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the four-diamond property sprawls along the bay like a meandering Mediterranean villa. **Please note that starting Friday, November 6 through Thursday, January 7, 2016, the resort will begin a very exciting and highly anticipated guest room enhancement project. Each guest room will be updated with fresh, modern and contemporary furnishings including carpet, wall coverings, furniture and fixtures, along with a select number of rooms which will receive reconfigured bathrooms. We anticipate the noise level to be slightly higher than normal during the hours of 9 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday. Please be assured that your guest room will be far removed from the area of work so you can fully enjoy your time with us and delight in a quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Balboa Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Bay Club Hotel Newport Beach
The Balboa Bay Club And Resort
The Balboa Bay Hotel
The Balboa Bay Resort
Balboa Bay Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing