We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balboa Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balboa Bay Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

In celebration of my 70th birthday, a group of nine friends booked rooms at the Balboa Bay Club. We arrived before check-in time, but were warmly greeted and given access to our spacious bright, clean rooms with a lovely patios. After getting settled we had lunch at First Cabin, as we enjoyed the view of the bay. Some of the people in our group went swimming in the sparklingly clean pool, while others enjoyed lounging in the area. We all enjoyed having the availability fresh beach sized towels, in addition to a pitcher water nearby. The showers and restrooms by the pool were especially clean and well maintained. Although we didn't use the gym, it was available and conveniently located. Some of us did take advantage of kayaking, which was located just a few steps from the hotel, and (I think) part of the adjoining club. The entire hotel staff was helpful. The receptionist, Jen, was especially helpful. Flowers had been delivered, and I had nowhere to store them after we checked out, because we were driving and touring nearby areas. However, she made arrangements to keep them behind the desk until I could retrieve them later that night. I would love to return again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotoGalFromCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    150
    73
    33
    20
See reviews for
165
206
35
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Balboa Bay Club at the end of a long vacation. We needed a place close to John Wayne Airport and we hadn't stayed in the Newport Beach area in 20 years so the BBC fit the bill plus it's reputation promised a positive experience. What we hadn't expected was just how high the level of service and professionalism of the entire BBC team was. These folks are some of the best we've experienced in all of our travels. Everyone was friendly, helpful and knew their job. Needless to say the facility was clean and well-maintained and while we were not BBC Club members, we felt as if we were. I can't imagine how our treatment could have been any better. So while there are a lot of hotel choices in the Orange County/Newport Beach area, we would highly recommend the BBC.

Room Tip: If you like million dollar yachts, stay in a room overlooking the channel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APS-Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

It is an unfortunate fact that this old style hotel which is a Preferred Hotel is in absolute terms quite comfortable and clean with good amenities like a terrace on the water for dining, superb valet service for your car as well as a spa.

The fact is that the hotel adjoins a club strictly for members and many of the facilities are designed as exclusive venues for members. The hotel is located on the main road but cannot really be considered a resort in the traditional sense. Pelican Hill, 10 minutes away, while more expensive is simply spectacular and much better value.

The staff try very hard and the standard is high but the property is slightly tired.

Room Tip: Ask for view on the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrganicForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

“GREAT STAY FOR WHOLE FAMILY!!!”





Our trip to BBC was over the 4th of July with our 9 yr. old daughter. We arrived early (12noon) and were surprised that our room was ready for check-in....we opened the door to our bayview room and were greeted by an amazing view of the water!! The room was exceptionally clean and well accomodated. At one point, there was an odor of oil coming from a vent in the room...we reported to the desk staff and it was rectified and fixed within 5 minutes. We wetre also told if we prefered we could change rooms but that was not necessary. We dined in The First Cabin the first night there and were treated to a beatiful dessert personalized for our 8th Anniversary!! My daughter was thrilled! The next day ( July 4th) we were able to sit on our room's patio and see the amazing boat parade go by right outside. We spent 2 hours taking a duffy boat from the hotel and cruising around Balboa Island...of course, we had room service deliver our dinner to the boat...which was a real treat! Later the concierge staff told us of a great place to view the fireworks and we were there and parked within 5 minutes. I was a bit skeptical about bringing a child to BBC but it was wonderful! The staff was great with kids and she had a fabulous time!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to go back next year at the same time!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracygilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our trip to BBC was over the 4th of July with our 9 yr. old daughter. We arrived early (12noon) and were surprised that our room was ready for check-in....we opened the door to our bayview room and were greeted by an amazing view of the water!! The room was exceptionally clean and well accomodated. At one point, there was an odor of oil coming from a vent in the room...we reported to the desk staff and it was rectified and fixed within 5 minutes. We wetre also told if we prefered we could change rooms but that was not necessary. We dined in The First Cabin the first night there and were treated to a beatiful dessert personalized for our 8th Anniversary!! My daughter was thrilled! The next day ( July 4th) we were able to sit on our room's patio and see the amazing boat parade go by right outside. We spent 2 hours taking a duffy boat from the hotel and cruising around Balboa Island...of course, we had room service deliver our dinner to the boat...which was a real treat! Later the concierge staff told us of a great place to view the fireworks and we were there and parked within 5 minutes.
I was a bit skeptical about bringing a child to BBC but it was wonderful! The staff was great with kids and she had a fabulous time!!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to go back next year at the same time!!!

Room Tip: Spacious rooms....Amazing beds... slept really well:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgilchrist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Beautiful resort located on Newport Harbor and within walking distance to restaurants and shops. Rooms were lovely with comfortable beds and large bathrooms with plenty of water pressure. Front desk, valet, room service and maid service are outstanding and friendly. First Cabin and more casual Duke's restaurants both have amazing views. The food at First Cabin is very good and you can use the first cabin menu in Dukes which has a limited menu. Bikes, Duffy boats, paddle boards and kayaks can be rented at the resort. Based on the location and resort amenities, I think the rates are very reasonable. I can't think of any other hotels in Newport Beach actually located on the water. A real treat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules-OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We went and stayed at the Balboa Bay Club for my friend's birthday celebration and were not terribly impressed. We booked a "standard room" and were not clear that meant a view of a parking lot and a busy street. It was probably one of the worst hotel views I have ever seen. There was a ton of street noise and a view of a parking lot so we asked to be moved, which at first they were not willing to do, but after I spoke with management they eventually acquiesced. There were also ripped and stained blankets on the bed (room 242 I believe). If they had kept us in that room, I would have only rated this hotel only one star. Thank goodness they moved us to a room overlooking the front entrance view, which at least had less street noise and decent blankets.

We went down to the pool and were surprised that there was no poolside service and that if you wanted to be served, you had to go find a special phone to call room service.

When we got back to the room, the hotel had sent up balloons for my friend's birthday. That would have been a nice touch had the balloons said "happy birthday" instead of "happy anniversary."

The two redeeming qualities about this hotel were:

1) They are across the street from Pizza Mozza which was an outstanding restaurant that I highly recommend and made the trip worthwhile
2) They had some great jazz playing at the bar downstairs on Saturday evening

If you are a looking for a great experience in Newport, I would not recommend going out of your way to visit this hotel. There was nothing remarkable about it.

Room Tip: Do not choose a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenHillJHCCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
2.3 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balboa Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Bay Resort

Property: Balboa Bay Resort
Address: 1221 W Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92663-5026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balboa Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience life and style that's perfectly balanced at the Balboa Bay Resort. A boutique ambiance combined with plush accommodations, sophisticated and personalized service, gourmet dining and unparallel location close to scenic beaches, nearby world-class shopping, restaurants and award winning designed golf courses make it the perfect destination for those seeking the quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience. Whether you're planning a romantic weekend getaway, a large-scale business function, or the wedding of your dreams, the Balboa Bay Resort offers unparalleled services and amenities to suit a variety of needs. Located on 15 waterfront acres in the heart of Newport Beach, halfway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the four-diamond property sprawls along the bay like a meandering Mediterranean villa. **Please note that starting Friday, November 6 through Thursday, January 7, 2016, the resort will begin a very exciting and highly anticipated guest room enhancement project. Each guest room will be updated with fresh, modern and contemporary furnishings including carpet, wall coverings, furniture and fixtures, along with a select number of rooms which will receive reconfigured bathrooms. We anticipate the noise level to be slightly higher than normal during the hours of 9 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday. Please be assured that your guest room will be far removed from the area of work so you can fully enjoy your time with us and delight in a quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Balboa Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Bay Club And Resort
The Balboa Bay Club Hotel Newport Beach
The Balboa Bay Hotel
The Balboa Bay Resort
Balboa Bay Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing