We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Very Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
247 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very Nice, Very Expensive”
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Even if you get a good rate, parking is all valet, restaurant/bar is expensive, it's just a very high rent property. Rooms are very nice, and you are right next to the Fashion Island mall. The staff goes out of there way to be extra helpful. Overall a great place to stay, but be prepared to spend your money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007DAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    248
    73
    41
    39
See reviews for
171
268
49
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery,Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Nice hotel, well located, but doesn't have much happening-except Friday & Saturday Nites. Music excellant. Rooms, room service nad resurants expensive for expected food and service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamond_Guy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

The Island Hotel is a member of the leading hotels of the world group. So you know it has a certain standard to live up to. It doesn't disappoint. Everyone was very helpful. They pay attention to the details. They open the door for you EVERY time you go through it. They address you by name when they are able to.

I would really recommend this for locals for a nice long weekend. I'd also recommend it for out of towners - but you need access to a car if you want to go to the beach and really see the area.

The area is nice. It's very convenient to shops at Fashion Island. - An easy 5 minute walk. The beach isn't close. But there is a nice longer 3 to 4 mile walk that you can take down to the bayside/water way.

We brought our 80 lb dog with us and everyone was very receptive. They have a nice big grassy area for them as well behind the hotel. There aren't any outdoor/patio areas though for you to eat with your dog. So we had to do all room service unless we went elsewhere. Note - service is included on the bill for room service. The concierge had two dog-friendly off-site recommendations. So I recommend doing a little research on your own first. Fashion Island does allow dogs. We only saw two other dogs - so I don't want this to discourage all non-dog people.

The pool is nice. Nothing fancy but nice. You get access to it 24 hours a day. It's just not attended to 24 hours a day. The jacuzzi is pretty big. I REALLY recommend the steak quesadilla poolside!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kengyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed at the Island Hotel over Memorial Day. We were upgraded to a suite with a beautiful view. The room is very nice, and the service was excellent. The fitness facility has great equipment. The only negative is that if there is a large event the valet parking can be a bit of a nightmare.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eltoronv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Island last month and had a phenomenal experience. Our room was a junior suite was on the corner of the building overlooking Fashion Island and the Pacific ocean. The views were amazing. The renovations are wonderful. Our rooms was spacious and very comfortable. Service is impeccable - my husband was amazed each staff member he came in contact with remember his name. I know they are trained to do so, but their desire to make our trip a good one was geniune. You can walk to Fashion Island for shopping and some good dining options. Only a short trip to Laguna Beach and Balboa Island for more fun and dining options and the beaches. Truly enjoyed ourselves.

I saw the prevous post of the name being criminally misleading. That is unfair to say if no research was done prior to making a reservation. They never imply they are close to a beach or that they sit on an Island surrounded by water.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VABound09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Went with the family for a relaxing weekend. Can't say enough positive things about the hotel. We chose the relaxing weekend package, got upgraded to a suite, enjoyed a nice room service breakfast and valet parking. Everyone on staff was extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay special. The room was awesome, with lots of space and privacy for parents of young children. They thought of every amenity. They even brought our son some cold milk and cookies in the evening. It was overall a great experience and we now have a new hotel that we would always stay at while in Newport. The location was great and very short walk over to fashion island.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rednorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We went to the Island Hotel for Easter brunch. All I have to say is that Denny's would have been a better pick. We paid, get this, $72.00/per person and it wasn't even a buffet. The menu consisted of a trio of appetizers and 4 things to pick for your entree. We had to ask for bread and water. The waiter was no where to be found. My husband's pick for lunch was white fish with miso soup poured over it. And to fill you up, they put 2 bowls of mashed potatoes in the middle of the table. Never, never will we go to Island Hotel again for anything!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ocanimallvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,453 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,496 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
569 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Newport Beach

Property: Island Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Hotel Newport Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 295 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is THE place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing