We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Construction Zone- Enter at own Risk” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Hotel Newport Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Construction Zone- Enter at own Risk”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Came for a 2 day stay for pool and R/R with my daughter for her birthday. At check-in the jack hammering in the lobby was so loud we couldn't even hear the desk clerk without shouting. Was given note saying restaurant, bar, pool and fitness center were closed for renovations. When I asked why I wasn't made aware of this, the clerk said it's on the website. I went back and can't find anything about the construction. Hammering starts at 7am, and the jack hammer lasted the entire day. The Fitness room is a converted hotel room and TV don't work on machines. My package breakfast was a buffet within another converted hotel room. Was able to use sister pool at Pelican Hill 15 minutes away which is lovely but convenient and additional expense for parking. Not at all a relaxing experience at hotel or a high end stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OntheroadCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterHissin, General Manager at Island Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback about your recent visit to Island Hotel. After taking a moment to read through your comments, I want to sincerely apologize that your getaway was disrupted by our reinvestment project, especially knowing that you were joining us to celebrate a special occasion like your daughter’s birthday.

I am delighted to let you know that the main construction portion of our renovation has been completed at this time. We expect that our guests will hardly be impacted by the remainder of our work prior to opening Oak Room and Aqua Lounge, along with our new outdoor space and fitness center early this summer. However, I understand this does not change or resolve the disappointment you encountered during your stay, and I would like to take a moment to speak with you about your experience further. I will provide you with my contact details separately in a private message.

I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you soon and hope you will return this summer for the debut of our new restaurant and lounge.

Kind regards,

Dieter Hissin
General Manager
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    235
    72
    41
    38
See reviews for
158
263
46
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed one night in a "Coastal View Corner Suite". The suite, room 910, was very spacious, cozy and clean but a little outdated. I kept thinking the living room area looked like my grandma's apartment in the 80's. The rooms are next to be refurbished. The bed was very comfortable. The tv was a little confusing. My disappointment was with the "coastal view".There were two balconies in the suite. The bigger balcony with the furniture overlooked the parking lot. The coast could only be seen when you leaned over the second smaller balcony. A true water view would have been nice sitting out on the balcony.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in the front of the hotel for a true coastal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boo0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The property is beautiful, decor reminiscent of Hawaii island style. It's across a road from the high-end Fashion Island shopping mall and ideally situated for a holiday shopping trip or business at the many office towers nearby. However, the property is undergoing extensive renovation and as of this review there was no pool, no gym, and no restaurant except for a converted 2nd-floor suite offering buffet breakfast and lunch. You have to go 4 miles away to a co-owned resort to use a pool, or an apartment complex a block away. In addition, during our stay, loud continuous construction noise started at 8:30AM on a Monday. These issues are reflected in some rate concessions, but overall, I can't recommend this property until construction is done. When it's done, it will be great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mr_sunol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterHissin, General Manager at Island Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Island Hotel. We value your comments and appreciate your kind words in regards to our property and ideal Newport Beach location.

I understand your concerns with the amenities during our reinvestment project and want to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We understand that our creative redevelopments mean there will be an unfortunate gap in availability for our on-site amenities, but truly look forward to the debut of Oak Room and Aqua Lounge and the new outdoor and lounge spaces when they come to life early this summer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Island Hotel to showcase the exiting new developments we have coming to our property. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly if I can be any assistance for a future reservation.

Kind regards,

Dieter Hissin
General Manager
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

The rooms are always nice, the staff courteous and I really like this location when on business. It is easy to get to Costa Mesa and Irvine for meetings, but you can also see the Ocean from the rooms and there a number of good restaurants across the street to walk for dinner. Usually, I give high marks for the workout room (one of the attractions for me when traveling on biz) -- but be aware, it is currently under construction for a remodel.

Room Tip: If the workout room is important to you, make sure the remodel is done and it is open again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasJ206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

You can just walk outside to the wonderful fashioned island shops and restaurants. Unfortunately they were renovating the restaurant and bar area which we had not been notified about and there was no reduction in the price of our stay The rooms are in need of a refurb also. They have not been changed since it was the four seasons hotel which was a very long tome ago. We stayed there over 10 years ago and the rooms have the same decor! We stayed for 3 nights then went away and came back for 5 nights. We didn't get any preferential treatment even though we had been there in November and returning again this November. Because of family commitments it suit us to stay there but I can't believe they didn't discount the rate with all the work going on.

Room Tip: High floor as you can't the drilling of the work going on as badly as you can on the lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterHissin, General Manager at Island Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
As a return guest at Island Hotel, I am delighted to read that we have been your home-away-from-home while visiting Newport Beach, but I am disappointed that you were not satisfied with your overall experience during your recent visit.

We are currently working on our grand reinvestment project for our restaurant and lounge, with our new culinary destination set to open in just a few months. I want to apologize if you were inconvenienced during your stay and understand your concern as this information was not provided to you ahead of time. I can assure you I have followed up with our staff to reiterate the importance of communication with our guests during this period.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here. We look forward to welcoming you back to Island Hotel in November so you and your family may enjoy the newest additions to our hotel. If I can assist you in any way prior to your arrival, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Dieter Hissin
General Manager
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
302 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Wonderful deluxe hotel. the best part is comfy wonderful beds with walking to the major shopping in fashion island. the hotel has a lovely spa with the elevators going directly to the spa. this is a major bonus !! Just robe from your room and viola spa... the jacuzzi is outdoors so be prepared. the restaurant is special in that the servers are polite and helpful. Friday and sat evening music in the bar. Fun and great entertainment...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denise k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Recently stayed here with my family on a business/fun trip. The hotel knew we were celebrating a special occasion and they left a little treat in our room! We stayed In a double queen room that is very spacious even with 3 people! Bathroom is big, no problem even with 3 women getting ready at once! Workout room, pool, and hot tub were excellent! Overall, one of my favorite hotel stays!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieSobieskiWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Newport Beach

Property: Island Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Hotel Newport Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 294 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to the new Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is the new place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Island Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing