We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Decent hotel, quiet neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Hotel Newport Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, quiet neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel was decent. We didn't obtain our requested room type even though we called ahead of time. Most of the bell stand staff were friendly of helpful. I still don't understand why guests can't park their own cars. Valet service is mandatory for $32 per night. Local amenities are somewhat limited to the shopping area close by.

Food & Beverage staff were very friendly with speedy service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hernan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    214
    71
    39
    36
See reviews for
137
243
42
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in room 723. Nothing was bad. But it was not good either. We were supposed to have champagne and chocolate strawberries when we arrived however it was not in our room and we had to inquire about it. The gym was the worst. Very old equipment. The rooms were nice but needed some renovations. Remote control for tv did not work. A disappointment at 339.00 for the night. Expected a little more.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChandraThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrapston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here on Business for 2 nights. Impeccably clean, superb food, great facilities and convenient location for business or pleasure. The room was really well equipped for business or personal holidays, Stay here you will not regret it !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RupertPon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We got married in Newport in Feb2012. We booked a suite in order to accommodate the bridesmaids and have my wife's friends get ready. From the moment we checked in we were treated with the upmost respect. We opened the door to a bottle of champagne and an assortment of chocolate strawberries.

We had our car checked in by the valet and whenever we needed it we would simply call and have the car ready by the time we made our way down. Some of my groomsmen booked a room ad well as had an amazing experience.

We started drinking at the bar at 10 am and was told by the bartender that he would save us a table for the after party. When the wedding was over we worked our way to the bar and had our after party. I love it there, our guest lived it there and I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cristian1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was a family vacation with our son's family and grandchildren over Labor Day long weekend and we had two corner suites across the hall from each other. From our arrival and check in to check out we experienced excellent customer service. They even changed our entire bed out because we wanted a more firm mattress. The maid was excellent and cleaned our room to perfection every day;) The food was amazing, breakfast was included in our package and the quality was 5 star. We dined around the pool one evening and the pool side service is great. Loved the hotel location as we enjoyed easy access to the whole area.
We are planning to go back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I attended a conference in Irvine and organizers booked this hotel. Since my room was paid for I can't talk about its rates but it looked to me like a 4-5 star hotel. The lobby was spacious, the grounds were beautifully landscaped and the superior King room I stayed in was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was also large and its amenities were very good. I did not have to pay for Wi-Fi but it seems to have cost nearly $13 for a twenty four hour period. Parking fees also seemed quite high as I heard a lady complain about this at the desk. I did eat in the restaurant several times and the dinner entrees cost between $29-$40, fairly high for my budget. A glass of wine started at around $12. The menu included a lot of fish and some meat dishes but seemed fairly limited to me. Better priced snacks were available at the bar where I had an excellent hamburger.

The front desk and the serving staff were extremely friendly and very helpful and everything was spotlessly clean.

I did have about three free hours one day and spent it at the large and very well maintained pool. The lounge chairs had about three inches of padding on them and were hugely comfortable. Again, a bar also offered food snack for lunch and more reasonable prices.

On the whole, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there but would probably have not booked into it if I were on my own as it is beyond my budget. But I certainly recommend this hotel for anyone who can afford its prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

First, I should say that I travel a lot and generally have high expectations. The Island is above average and my complaints are really just pet peeves.

The hotel is nice and relatively upscale. It is very near a large shopping area, Bloomingdales, Nieman Marcus etc. Check-in was polite and effecient. My room type, a king suite, was unavailable so they gave me a free upgrade to a room with a better view, but this hotel is not located where any view could be considered spectacular.

My pet peeves:
First, there is no free bottled water in the room. Hampton Inn can pull it off but not a supposed luxury hotel??
Second, wi-fi is not included and valet is expensive.
My AC was on 67 for my entire stay, however the room never really got cold and always seemed humid. I did not notify the hotel of the issue to give them a chance to fix it.
I called concierge and the front desk three times during business hours for other issues but could not get anyone to answer. I finally had to walk downstairs and speak to them in person.
The in-room movies were not working.
My room was cleaned but the ironing board and iron were left out in different rooms. Maybe it was on purpose??

However, the valet guys were super helpful and friendly. The gym was also nice.

Mostly a nice hotel with nothing to complain about except small stuff, but nothing special that would make me want to rush to return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank isclloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Newport Beach

Property: Island Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Hotel Newport Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 294 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to the new Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is the new place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Island Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing