We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've stayed at the Island hotel before and wrote a review that I took down after the manager explained to me a few things that I had an issue with, which were resolved.

The hotel itself is very nice and clean. Spacious lobby with a great pool/gym/firepit area that can be a nice place to unwind. The rooms are done up very well. Very comfortable. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Elegant bathrooms with plenty of space as well.

The cons...NO coffee makers in the room. There is only a select time in which you have the option to have coffee and teas in the lobby around breakfast time. Its just one of the little things that really gets you. Speaking of which, the price of Valet parking is high. $32 plus tip every time you get in or out (of course you tip...don't be one of those) really adds to the price of a nights stay. Since you have HAVE to have Valet and no self parking (if you want to park at the hotel) I think that price should be added to the price they show for the night!

Customer service was great at The Island. Very helpful and nice. No complaints about that whatsoever. All in all, it was a really nice hotel, with a decent view (if you get upgraded), really nice/elegant rooms/bathrooms, and a very comfy bed.

Due to the little things such as no coffee maker (it is a 4* hotel so amenities should be there) and high valet price, have made me stay at the Marriott just down the street when I am staying in the Newport area.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. If they do, take it. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoso68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    252
    73
    42
    41
See reviews for
177
273
51
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Island hotel in Newport Beach. Located in a great area with Fashion Island Mall across the street and a 10 minute drive to the beach. When we arrived at valet everyone was helpful and check in was a breeze. We took the elevator up to our room to get situated. The room is decorated really nice with top of the line furnishings, beds, bedding, and materials. Bed was really comfortable along with the down filled pillows. The bathroom was quite large with a long marble counter for your toiletries. The shower/tub combo had a glass door and I wished I had taken a picture of it here to post. Room was equipped with a Bose sound system that connected to the flat screen TV as well. Get a room overlooking the pool. We were in room 518 that faced the east and I would have preferred a pool view. We checked in early and hit the pool about 1pm. They have an air hockey table, a foos ball table, and a table tennis table for recreation. They had a dj and were serving a menu with happy hour food items and drinks. My fiancé ordered a glass of Chardonnay and I ordered a Grey Goose and soda. We got a mango smoothie for my daughter. We then ordered some calamari (good) and some chicken wings (yum, hard to go wrong). Wings were really crisp and went well with the goose :) We will be back; hopefully we find it for the same price or lower $180 per night (Sunday). Valet is expensive with in/out privileges at $34 night.

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool view. Pool area has a happy hour menu between 1-4 on Sunday. Rooms ending in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seven0two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely corner suite on the 14th floor. Beautiful views. Lovely room. Great staff and location in Newport beach is next door to fashion island. Pool was crowded every day but we had a beach to go to so not an issue. Fun bar scene on Saturday night. Only complaint was carpet stains in our bedroom. Oh... And bring your own shampoo/conditioner. Theirs is really bad.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIslandHotelNB, General Manager at Island Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Good Day Valued Customer:

Thank you for being our guest over our very busy 4th of July Weekend. Your comments regarding the staff, our location, the pool and the bar scene are greatly appreciated; be confident that these will be shared among the staff!!! We understand that you have many choices within our great city of Newport Beach and are honored that you have selected our location.

Please be aware that we are in the process of hand selecting new bathroom amenities and we will be prepared to launch them before the end of summer. Your feedback is a gift and because of caring customers like you, we continue on our journey towards perfection.

I look forward to meeting you in person upon your next trip to the west coast. Please reach out to me personally if I may be of any assistance.

My very best,

Donald Stamets
General Manager
949-760-4950
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The island hotel was a great find. Formerly a 4 season hotel the grounds are beautiful. The outdoor pool is a tropical oasis with lounge chairs and thick luxury pads. Drink service ,outdoor fireplace and outdoor dining make it a perfect setting. The rooms are equal to any 5 star hotel I've stayed out. The beds are a luxury with quality linen. The location of the hotel is not on the water but in the middle of fashion island mall. Don't let this keep you away. Dining and shopping are in walking distance. Beaches and balboa island are 2 minutes away. Make sure to try true food restaurant in fashion island. I have eaten there 3 times this trip. Market fresh food for people who appreciate healthy organic food!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyfeet59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Based on other reviews we were a little hesitant booking this hotel because of complaints of construction noise and the hotel needing to be updated. We booked a 5 night stay starting 6/25/13. When we arrived at the hotel in the evening from a flight from Florida the valet was immediately available to take our car. Checking in was a breeze and the registration staff was very friendly. We were taken to our executive suite on the 14th. floor. Upon entering the room I did notice the upholstery on the couch and chairs and also the carpet appeared to be rather dated. As mentioned by other reviewers the rooms do need new furniture and carpets. We visited the lounge and it was the same story for all the furniture and carpets. However, everything seemed to be very clean. The pool area was tropical and very clean and a pleasant place to spend the day. The cushions on the lounge chairs at the pool appeared to be a lot newer than all the cushions on the other chairs throughout the interior of the hotel.

The hotel staff were very pleasant to talk to and they were very efficient. When we were out at the pool I did not hear any construction noise. Apparently, the construction from the office building near by has been completed. We ate at the pool and in the lounge and the food was very good. This hotel, many years ago was managed by the Four Seasons and is now managed/owned by the Irvine Company. Hopefully, the general manager, Donald, will be able to convince someone at the Irvine Company that the hotel needs some tender loving care. I would not let the minor issue of dated upholstery keep you from booking The Island Hotel. It is just not a 5 star hotel at the moment in my opinion. I am giving it an overall 4 1/2 stars with 5 star service.

Room Tip: The higher floor corner executive suites have great views and are very bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sasejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband was at the hotel for a business conference and I was able to accompany him. We have been to this area many times and the last time I stayed at this property it was (I believe) The Four Seasons. Same lovely accommodation and excellent staff but a bit more casual than what I remember in the last. Nice change. I enjoyed the hotel pool and restaurant off of the lobby. The bell staff provided towels and a beach chair each day I wanted to drive out to the beach. Shopping in Fashion Island is always an option. A Whole Foods Market opened in Fashion Island while we were here and it is amazing. Great place for breakfast after a long morning walk! The men with my husband were pleased with the business meeting accommodations. Cocktail parties each evening out by the pool were beautifully catered by hotel staff. We had dinners outside the hotel on evenings when the men played golf at their sister hotel and golf course. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels with my husband when he was traveling on business and this one was right up there with the best. Excellent place to take a spouse or family to combine business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Larger rooms on the end have ocean views nice in the AM if you are an early riser and enjoy watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMac28046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This property used to be a Four Seasons Hotel. I am not sure when it changed hands but it needs some refreshing up to demand the prices they ask.

Service is sometimes lackadaisical. When one of our associates ask for a coffee maker for the room, one was delivered. When my wife ask for one she was told they don't provide coffee makers and gave her a pot that heats water instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomthbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,528 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Newport Beach

Property: Island Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Hotel Newport Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 295 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is THE place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing