We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed a brief stay at this hotel, beautiful grounds great staff the only disappointment is that it was up near a shopping mall, not near the beach or any island! We got a good deal on it but probably wouldn't stay there at rack rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 56JDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    243
    73
    41
    39
See reviews for
166
266
48
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is not a cheap hotel, but I felt that the prices were worth the stay. My mother and I had a suite for 3 nights. It was quite large, with a balcony, living room, vanity area and bathroom. The bed was so comfortable and everything is very clean. Everyone at the hotel was exceptionally friendly and competent. It's also across the street from a beautiful outdoor mall with upscale shopping.

My favorite part of the hotel, however, was the restaurant, and I wished we had eaten there more. We had breakfast each day and it was delicious. The <<chilaquiles>> were amazing! Service was fabulous and I loved the decor: muted yellow and green flower-type prints against dark wood, with small couches up against the walls, covered with pillows. I could have hung out there all day.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank madamekyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

$12/day for internet, $19/day for "premium" internet. Typical antiquated, inappropriate charges for a basic service. A good hotel that generates loyalty simply does not charge for WiFi.

Much more infuriating: $32/day valet-only parking. This is a property only accessible by car and they offer no self-park option at a reasonable price. So get ready to pay the equivalent of an extra night for someone spend 2 minutes putting your car in a garage every day.

This hotel will nickel and dime you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stay 3 nights for business purposes. I cannot review additional services such as spa as I did not use them, but the overall experience was very good. The suite room was very comfortable, large and clean. It has a large flat TV, desk, king size bed, complimentary coffee, a large wardrobe, etc. The bathroom was also very large and well functioning. The hotel and the room were clean, modern and in line with the hotel category.

In the few times I had to ask for staff service it was fast and very responsive. I asked for higiene items with no problems. Also, ask for directions, small change and similar issues to the frontdesk and were very helpfull. Also, the hotel provides the "hold for guest" parcel service for free, so it is very handy for international travellers to buy online and pick your stuff upon arrival.

Beware that this is an upscale hotel, despite not being 5 stars. Some people complain about not free parking and so on. This is a place to come with your brand new car and ask the valet to park, it is not for tight budgets. People dress elegantly and formal, it is not a place to have breakfast in sandals and T-shirts.

Location is nice but Newport is not a city for walking or to use public transportation. You have to take a cab or car to anywhere, so forget about walking distance.

The only minor complain I had is that the availability of soap and shampoo were scarce. The maidens only provide 1 soap each day, and if you want more has to ask to the frontdesk, but overall it was fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulAuster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Beautiful hotel with first-class service! I've stayed here several times for business and vacation. Superior location (walking distance to Fashion Island and short drive to John Wayne Airport). Friendly attentive staff. Lovely relaxing rooms, especially the executive suite with a patio and big windows facing the bay. If you stay here, get a suite with a view!

Room Tip: Corner suite with a view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is very comfortable and quiet.
The staff is very professional and polite.

I went with the package that includes breakfast and found the food to be sub- par.

$23 for two bland eggs, a preformed round of hash browns, bacon and weak coffee was disappointing.

The wait staff is excellent and very attentive.

Valet only, $30 night

I know this is Newport Beach and prices are higher than what one may expect for mediocre food. There are much better restaurant choices very nearby, so avoid the included breakfast plan.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JPaulTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Island was recommended to us by friends and we booked a suite on line from Australia. We have never stayed in such a large suite, complete with two bathrooms and a study, and kitchen. This worked extremely well as I had to have meetings with clients and all the facilites were in the room. The balconies had views of the ocean and the bed was fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Island Shopping Centre have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
2.8 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Newport Beach

Property: Island Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Hotel Newport Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 295 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is THE place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Island Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing