We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel by the Fashion Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent a weekend at Newport Beach and stayed at the Island Hotel. Hotel price is very reasonable ($199) for the quality received. Our check-in process was very fast. The room was very large and comfortable and we had a small balcony. There is a very nice pool and a fire place by the pool to enjoy your drink on a winter night.

The hotel is very close to Fashion Island. We didn't have a car but we were able to walk to the restaurants. It is pretty close to the airport (SNA) as well. It was only $17 by taxi.

The staff is very efficient and nice. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musti_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
There are newer reviews for Island Hotel Newport Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel within walking distance of the Bird Refuge and Fashion Island, but everything had an additional cost.
WiFi for an extra $13.00? (Unless you go to the lobby and that's no fun!)
Coffee? If you miss the morning urn in the lobby, it will be $4.52 for a cup!
Fortunately parking was included in our rate or that would have been an extra $32.
Although the bed and linens were the best! and the bathroom was exquisite... for $295.00 a night I just wanted a few perks.
Or....just go ahead and charge $350 a night and throw in some extras.
It's a nice hotel, we'll pay it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was there on a business trip Oct 2012...nothing fell short. The hotel is not busy so it gave it a good boutique feel. Room was fine, no problems. Close to Fashion Island for some high end shopping. I was there for a private business function in the pool area and the buffet stations were very very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pammyvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I had a last minute trip to Newport Beach. I found a last minute special for The Island. We loved it! The room was great, bed comfy, staff amazing. We walked across the street a few times for shopping and Whole Foods. We loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travlnqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Sayed one night at the Island Hotel for a business meeting in January. Very nicely appointed rooms with high-end bed linens. Very comfortable and the staff provided excellent and attentive service. Area couple buffet style meals associated with meetings and the food was also good. The hotel location is average ( next to fashion island mall) and the views from the room are also average. Meeting rooms were good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling_Berry_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was booked here for a business trip. I had hoped the 'island' was Balboa, but it was Fashon Island.

Everyone was very pleasant and appeared eager to please. My shower did not drain and my TV remote did not work. I understand how the TV remote could be overlooked, but if the housekeepers really cleaned the tub should they notice that it drained only a cup a minute? Maintence came and fixes it - and left a dirty plunger (wonder where it was before it was used in my shower) in my bathroom, and apparently dirtied my bath mat because it was missing.

When i left, i was in a hurry to catch a flight so i called down and asked for my bill to be printed and a taxi called. Neither was done. I had to wait 15 minutes out front for a cab - and then shared it with other travelers (which was ok with me).

The gym - I guess your assessment of it is a matter of perspective. Compared to your average business hotel it was above average. Compared to other hotels that offer spa services I thought it was disappointing. The equpment worked well, but the accessories did not: the heart monitor on my eliptical did not work and the TV controls only would change channel down.

The bed was also severly used on one side - the left side of the bed was 3 inches higher than the right.

Positives:
great location near Fashon Island and not far from PCH.
did not get to use it, but the pool looked great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wandere1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

For travelers who want a hotel with a nice workout facility, the Island Hotel delivers a professional gym, with new machines, a full set of free weights, and a full compliment of bands, beams, and balls. The space is bigger than most hotel gyms, able to accommodate 30 plus people, although there were no more than three each time I went. The rest of the hotel is strong in a retro sort of way in keeping with the Fashion Island location - nothing flashy or glitzy but rather solid and classy. If you want to be in the heart of Newport, this is the spot you should stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldwighto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,543 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,525 reviews
2.4 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $238 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Hotel Newport Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 295 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is THE place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Island Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing