We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Island is an Outstanding Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Island Hotel is at the top of my list!!! It is a classy hotel with top notch service, very clean rooms decorated with style, class, and comfort, and each room has glass sliding doors that open up to the fresh air, which I liked allot!!! I booked my reservation to attend the Newport Boat Show. I took a taxi to the boat show and back to the hotel. It was a no hassle way to see the boat parade. I really enjoyed my stay!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
There are newer reviews for Island Hotel Newport Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

732 - 738 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I attended a Christmas party at the Island Hotel and decided to stay the night. We are big Westin fans so I was pleased when I found traces of that particular style/feel in the rooms. However, I happened to notice subtle wall stains and minor curtain damage which leads me to understand that this hotel is advancing in years and perhaps the budget may be redirected towards other things besides repairs. It wasn't enough to make me raise my eyebrows because everything else was quite acceptable. Even the staff was wonderful and welcoming, down to Maria, the nice lady who brought us a few things from Housekeeping.

We ordered room service the next morning and were pleased with the food quality and portions.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmurf6873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIslandHotelNB, General Manager at Island Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Good Day Valued Guest:

Thank you so much for selecting to spend the night with us after your companies Holiday Party! We are thrilled to hear of the glowing remarks about the service from our staff. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the entire team.

I am certainly not proud of the comments regarding the curtains and walls, but please know that we take pride in the condition and presentation of our rooms. There are no excuses for what you experienced nor will I provide you with one; we clearly dropped the ball in this particular room. Please accept my personal apology!

We view feedback as a gift; to learn from and to assist us on our journey towards perfection. Know that our Engineering and Housekeeping teams work collaboratively with a dedicated focus on our perfect room program. We indeed have located the process breakdown in regards to your room and have fixed these issues.

It is because customers like you that make us the best hotel in Newport Beach. Thank you for sharing your comments and I hope to meet you and your wife in person during your next visit. Please call upon me personally should I ever be of assistance.

Donald Stamets
General Manager
949-760-4950

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Pro-On my week long westcoast trip this was the last stop. I had stayed at the Hyatt on my last trip so I was constantly comparing it with the Hyatt in Newport. Although the grounds were better at the Hyatt, I think this hotel has a better lobby and rooms. Get used to a Huge bathroom! The property it self is smaller than the Hyatt but has most of the amenities that one looks for in a 4-5 star hotels are available here.

Con-The reason I didnt give a complete 5 is because, and I know am being picky, is that they could not give me a room when I arrived at 1:30PM and there was no coffee machine in the room!!! If you are really picky then I will also add the cheap padding on the ironboard.

Room Tip: They serve coffee in the morning in the lobby but unfortunately no coffee machine in the room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have been staying at the Island for 20 plus years. A lot of the staff are the same. I'm just amazed at how nice they all are. My kids have grown up at this hotel and they remember my girls names. Dogs are well come and it an amazing location. Close to shopping and the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gprimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spent the Thanksgiving holiday at the Island. The staff and rooms are excellent, and the construction of the office tower next door is almost complete so there is very little to no construction noise. The location in the middle of Fashion Island offers great shopping and the Island movie theater has a luxurious theater to watch movies. Great restaurants in Fashion Island all within walking distance. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

hi now 6 years every time i come for business the food never improved , even my company pay for my stay and the food but still i have to eat outside . other thing the hotel great only ac is too old , location great , staff nice , but old swimming pool .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ahmed a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIslandHotelNB, General Manager at Island Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Loyal Guest:

I am sad to learn of your comments after being such a frequent guest for 6 years!

Whether your plans bring you here for business or a personal retreat, our culinary team led by Executive Chef, David Man prides itself on our fresh and local approach to our cuisine in both The Palm Terrace Restaurant and our Private Event Spaces.

Although your posting did not state any specifics that we could learn from, I encourage you to personally reach out to me or Chef David when your travel plans being you back to Newport Beach. We would like to custom design a menu that will quench your palette and suit your nutritional needs.

I look forward on seeing you in 2013!

Happy Holidays,

Donald Stamets
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was only in town for 1 night and truly liked the beautiful rrom, large tv with bose surround. Had dinner in the lobby restaurant- wonderful! Service is stellar! Would be great for a local, romantic weekend !!

Room Tip: Pretty sure they are all up to par in this hotel- however the higher up you can get in many hotels t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiotechCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,543 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,531 reviews
2.4 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $237 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Hotel Newport Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 295 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is THE place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing