We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice staff, good location, good restaurant, good choice when in Newport Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Hotel Newport Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice staff, good location, good restaurant, good choice when in Newport Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am not the greatest lover of Newport Beach but this hotel is central to anything there is to do and see in this town. The posh mall, restaurants, offices of major corporations, the beach, art museum and anything else. My room was beautiful and they provided free coffee in the lobby in the morning. The gym and the pool are great and the restaurant is very good with above average food and presenatation and excellent staff. If I am in the area again, I won't hesitate to stay here again. p.s. there is some construction next door right now so ask to be near a section of the hotel where you are less exposed if you are looking to sleep in.

Room Tip: a room facing the pool is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    227
    72
    40
    37
See reviews for
151
254
45
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was so pleased with this hotel on my wedding day. I was able to check into my suite at 9am with my bridal party, makeup artist, and hair stylist even though our check-in was not guaranteed until 3pm. The manger sent up a bottle of Champagne and cookies as the girls and I got ready. We took our wedding photos at the hotel anywhere and every where, this was the reason we chose this hotel for our special day. The bar was great for the wedding party to hang out as my husband and I took our photos. The suite w/ one bathroom was large enough for 10 people. Although we did not get married here we would highly recommend this hotel for your wedding day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Island Hotel is located in one of the most beautiful places in the world. I may be a bit bias as Newport Beach is home, but it really is a wonderful place. This is more of a business hotel than a resort location. ideal if you need to stay in or near Fashion Island and the nearby offices. Everything about the hotel is exceptional. Great room service, responsive and polite valets, helpful front desk and very nice rooms.

Room Tip: Request a room on the side of the hotel facing the main entrance (even number rooms looking north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LudwigNewportBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was there for two nights, it was a 5 star experience. Close to restaurants, the mall, excellent location. This hotel was a Four seasons and converted to an independent hotel. Feels just like a Four Seasons, everything was perfect, from check in to check out. Don't miss this hotel if you are ever in Newport Beach CA.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakesidejimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip that we extended for pleasure. We were there for 5 days. The property has been well maintained (Used to be a Four Seasons property) and the room service offerings are good. The location is fantastic because it is right across the street from Fashion Island and close to PCH & the airport for easy transportaion. The hotel still charges for internet, which seems old school for a hotel that expects business travelers. The Valet rate is high too - like $32/night or something. They also have a mini spa on site - but good luck getting anyone to answer the phone or help with appointments there. They do have a nice bar which does have entertainment on certain nights, so that is a bonus. Given that there are so many nice hotels and resorts nearby, I would recommend staying somewhere else if you are looking to spend time on the property itself. If you are just staying close to the airport for a quick trip, then this hotel is a good option. Oh, but beware the rates vary a ton. Of all of the people we knew that were staying there when we were, the rates were all over the place - some much higher than others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgirl955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIslandHotelNB, General Manager at Island Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to communicate about your experience while here for 5 days on a business trip. As the finest luxury business hotel in Newport Beach, we are delighted to hear your comments about our cleanliness, location, accessibility and lounge entertainment. I will be sure to applaud our Housekeeping and Food and Beverage Teams in recognition of their efforts.

Regarding our internet rates, we do offer complimentary internet access in all of our public spaces while the guest rooms offer a tiered option based on the bandwidth required for the business demands of today’s traveler. In reference to the overnight valet parking rates, I personally perform a bi-annual competitive analysis of this area and our current rates are not the highest within the city of Newport Beach.

I would love an opportunity to speak with you in person regarding your spa experience as this is a department within the hotel that maintains over 95% customer satisfaction year to date. There are no excuses for what you experienced; I simply want to understand your difficulties so I can address the issue. My office number is 949-760-4950.

I look forward to welcoming you back next year if not sooner.

My very best,

Donald Stamets
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The Island Hotel is literally across the street from Neiman Marcus and within walking distance from 3-4 good restaurants. It seems to have been updated since my last stay 3 years ago. The lobby and rooms are clean and airy. Service is crisp, valet is fast, and the room bar is well stocked. The young female singer in the lounge shows promise.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a great two days at The Island Hotel at Newport Beach, Fashion Island. The service and quality was top shelf and we are looking forward to going back again. Great harbor views and sunset from balcony.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptBill64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.4 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Newport Beach

Property: Island Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Hotel Newport Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 294 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to the new Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is the new place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Groupon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Island Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing