We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday weekend at the Island Hotel, Newport Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a great two days at The Island Hotel at Newport Beach, Fashion Island. The service and quality was top shelf and we are looking forward to going back again. Great harbor views and sunset from balcony.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptBill64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
There are newer reviews for Island Hotel Newport Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Anthony from Hotel Impossible would not be able to find a single thing wrong with this place, i'm sure. The hotel was luxurious, loaded with amenities, excellent service and the price was a deal! I particularly enjoyed the fitness center and pool. I plan to be back with my family in tow.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrqjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The valet service was excellent. They let us check in early. Also excellent. Breakfast was outstanding. But the $16.00 each mimosa were not worth the price. The room was beautiful. When we left for dinner I asked about turn-down service and was assured that this was underway. When we returned just before 9 it was not done. Adding to that was the NOISE! There seemed to be a DJ running music for their lounge and somewhere along the way someone got the idea that the name of the property was The Island Dance Club rather than The Island HOTEL. I called down to find out how late I could expect the noise and was told that they would stop at 10:00. I called back at 10:40 and was told they would be done at 11:00. For the inconvenience of the noise the front desk manager removed the valet charge. For me, that did make up for the inconvenience. I would return, but I would probably ask for a room that was farther away from the DJ.

Room Tip: Away from the noise if they will be having a DJ at the lounge.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BPD501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed in Newport for a weekend after a day spent with the kids at Disneyland. The management neglected to tell us the pool wood be closed for a wedding. They obviously knew about it ahead of time but did not tell us, even at check in. Said wedding went on into the night with a very loud DJ at the pool. Manger when asked said he had no idea about the wedding until that morning. Would not turn down the incredibly loud music until the cops were called. It's about making a fast buck at this hotel not about customer service. We stay at a lot of hotels and the lack of respect for the customer will not bring us back to this one.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1yearofftotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIslandHotelNB, General Manager at Island Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

Foremost please allow me to extend a personal and professional apology for us falling short of your expectations over the weekend. This clearly was not our intent.

Our desire is to ensure every guest has a memorable experience whether staying overnight or attending an event. The particular celebration you mention was widely communicated throughout the hotel; having a late night private poolside event was an exception and not the rule at Island Hotel Newport Beach.

I invite you to call me personally so we may discuss your experience as I hope to welcome you back to our magnificent hotel in the future.

Respectfully,

Donald Stamets
General Manager
949-760-4950

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place is gorgeous, and my double room was huge. The bed was really comfy with king size down pillows. A couch and 2 chairs around the cocktail table was perfect for reading, with good lighting. (the lighting for the bed, not so good for reading). The bathroom was also huge-2 sinks, large counter, separate bathtub and shower with a great showerhead and pressure.
I was at a conference here and the lecture rooms were pretty comfortable but COLD!
The hotel is directly across from the (very) upscale Fashion Island shopping center--lots of restaurants from white cloth to take out, wander around watching the "beautiful people" and take a break sitting by one of the numerous fountains.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelindoc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Great pool for lap swimming early in the morning. Pool is showing it's age but still very nice. Hot tub pool nearby was very relaxing after my swim. Food from room service was great. Try the salmon and the ice cream sunday. Staff was a bit slow, but they were polite and got the job done. I forgot my comb and had to ask the front desk twice for a spare. Those are my only knits. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Istayed in this hotel for the second time with my family and really one of the best hotels in the area.
The location is perfect next to Fashion island.
The rooms are decent size and well decorated ( although i still say the hotel needs renovation)
The breakfast at the palm terrace is not to be missed especially the cinepon pie
The staff are very friendly and helpfull

Room Tip: Try their cinepon pie in the palm terrace restaurant
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rasheed_albader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,543 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,531 reviews
2.4 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $237 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Hotel Newport Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 295 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is THE place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Island Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing