We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - nice rooms - reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fashion Island Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Location: Newport Beach at Fashion Island Mall (large outdoor mall) - 5 minutes from Water, 15 minutes from laguna. Convenient to John Wayne Airport.

Check-In/ Check-out: Very slow check in - 2 out of 3 computers did not work. Did not have our request (from their Website) for high floor/ocean view or foam pillows. Room on 6th floor with pool view was not bad - slight ocean view. Check out was slow - only one person on duty.

Room: 2 Queen Beds - 600 Square feet room (standard rooms are ~400 sq. ft). Very nice size, sitting area (couch + table + chair), large desk, plasma TV in corner with Bose sound system and alarm clock. Mini bar + glassware stocked.

Balcony - only 2 ft wide - so no sitting. Drapes pull was broken. Air conditioning was stuck at 72/73 degrees - displayed 70 and we set at 65 but it would not budge. Beds are good quality - down comforter, very soft pillow top - a little too soft for my taste - was almost sinking in...

Bathroom: Large with 2 sinks, separate toilet, tub and shower room. Sinks, toilet and tub are rather low - should update and raise all. Towels were ample/ nice quality. Shampoos / soap were rather skimpy - only 1 oz. shampoo and conditioner...why? Shower was nice and HOT, however, water pressure is limited as is common in CA hotels to conserve water.

Ample closet space with Safe, Iron + Board + blow dryer etc.

Housekeeping: Asked them to bring up foam pillows they forgot from web reservation - promptly brought up - very good service.

Parking: Valet is $32 - expensive - given there is a massive parking lot a block away in the shopping center - not sure if you can park there overnight. Valet service was very good.

Breakfast: We didn't have time, however, they had free coffee, tea and paper in the lobby.

Elevators - 3 main elevators up to rooms - very quick and efficient.

Pool: Didn't use - freeform pool + whirlpool with chaise lounges + pool service. Surrounded by shrubs and palm trees.

Construction: Building going up next door => Mon thru Fri, so get a room away from this is you are staying on weekday.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face the construction - High Floor - Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 8-10 times in the past year for business travel. It is a great hotel. The highlights are:
1. Very clean, comfortable rooms. Even the basic rooms are spacious, very clean, with super comfortable beds.
2. The location. This hotel is located at Fashion Island and only about 1 mile from the beach. Great restaurants and shopping are right out the door.
3. Great food and restaurants onsite. This hotel has the best lunch deal in all of California probably. A nominal price of $10 gets you a great lunch buffet and the staff that work in the restaurant are friendly. This proved to be a great place for me to hold meetings. The more formal restaurant had a fantastic 50% off night and the food was wonderful with an amazing wine list as well.
4. Friendly staff. The staff are very friendly and helpful here and when I was working far from home up until Christmas Eve, I appreciated their free gift wrapping service and the beautiful lobby Christmas Tree and gorgeous gingerbread village created by the restaurant chef.
I'd recommend staying here for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Island Hotel is sadly no longer the Four Seasons it once was. We had a suite which was very basic, clean (but no frills) and not luxurious at all for the price. Pro: It is next to the shopping mall if you're interested in a shopping trip.

They need to advice hotel guests that there is major construction. In fact, we were awakened by LOUD construction noises at 7 a.m. The manager on duty was very apologetic and paid for our pricey breakfast that morning. Even though she was so gracious, we won't be returning to the Island Hotel as the hotel isn't up to par and not as nice as the nearby Marriot. For business, it's fine but certainly it isn't worth the money for a suite or for a weekend away!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank urbanetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Islands positions itself as a top flight hotel. But the attention to detail that makes the experience of a top hotel exceptional is lacking. It is pleasant enough and the staff is friendly. But given all the off details it would not rank anywhere near the top hotels in my experience. Some examples:

-The “balcony” is about 2 ft. wide. Ours provided a view of the roof of part of the hotel and of the Fashion Island parking lot, along with lots of AC and construction noise. No chair in the room will fit on the balcony so I’m not sure its purpose.

-The chairs don’t match the height of the desk making it very uncomfortable for someone of average male height to work there. The computer and printer for boarding passes is the most uncomfortable such arrangement I’ve ever experienced.

-The fridge is crammed with bottles for sale at prices that are outrageous even by minibar standards. At the bar a glass of wine costs more than the hotel is paying for the bottle but the selection is decent. No vending or ice machines, so to get ice you have to tip room service for delivery. No coffee in the lobby after about 10 a.m. No kiosk for incidentals.

-Mandatory valet parking is gouging when the lot is attached to the hotel, especially in what must be the most car-centric place in the U.S. They repeatedly urged me to call down to let them know I needed my car 10 minutes in advance. Not once in 4 tries was there any sign that the call produced any action—only when I showed up did anyone pull out the keys and get the car. Having a dealership owned Rolls Royces and Ferraris parked near the front door is just pretentious.

-Relatively slow internet access was complementary but that may have been because of the group I was with.

-The hotel sits next to the Fashion Island mega-mall in the upscale office building and shopping sprawl of this part of Orange County. Unless you like shopping at Neimann Marcus and the like, the only thing interesting in walking distance is the Orange County Art Museum.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elm4154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIslandHotelNB, General Manager at Fashion Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

I sincerely apologize for the circumstances you encountered that fell short of your expectations of Island Hotel - Newport Beach. I have reviewed your posting with our management team and will begin to search for solutions in order to regain your loyalty.

Please allow me to share with you that our hotel does offer furnished balconies in many of our suites and have noted this preference in your account so we may anticipate your needs on a return visit to southern California.

Regarding the pricing on both the valet parking and mini bar; our team does a bi-annual pricing survey so we may offer the most competitive options to our guests. I am confident in reporting that we are not the highest price point within our competitive set. If you and your guests have a special need or favorite beverage, I am happy to have in placed in your room as my gift upon your return.

Also, our concierge team would be happy to help with points of interest within walking distance, including unique shops and restaurants at Fashion Island, the Newport Beach Back Bay nature reserve, beautiful Newport Harbor or the charming beach town of Corona del Mar.

Once again, your valuable feedback is looked upon as a gift and we thank you for your thoughts. We look forward to your group returning next August and if I may be of any assistance, I invite you to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Donald Stamets
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Thank you ! We have travel and stay at many 5star hotel, we was very impress with the island hotel service, the General Manager Donald he is hand on along with his staff is amazing. Great leadership, they welcome you at the front door with a cheerful and polite. Love the fire place at the pool was great for a cocktail.
Thank you very much to all the staff and GM:)

Room Tip: Best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ansofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at the attention to details that the hotel staff and Mr. Donald Stamas the GM has for each guests at the hotel. It was refreshing and motivating to see the GM of the hotel interacting with the guests and staff each day I was there. As a bussiness woman I always compare how business are run and I have to say that the Island Hotel it is one of the kind; perhaps for the great leadership that the Hotel has. I will book a vacation trip next ; althought the staff made this business trip like a vacation to me. Thank You very much to all the staff and GM.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Thanks to all the great staff at the Island Hotel. From their professional and polite front desk.( Estrella checked us in ) to Donald the General Manager who was greeted us at the front door. Very cool to see a General Manager as a very polite and welcoming door man.
Im sure he has a lot on his plate dealing with this huge hotel to have the time to greet his guests at the lobby door.

Thanks again for making us stay welcome.
Rooms were very clean and they have a nice Bose system for TV.
Great stay. No regrets.
Also next to Fashion Island mall and room had a view of the ocean.
It's not beach front but you can see the water.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funinthesun1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,718 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
2.4 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
513 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fashion Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fashion Island Hotel

Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6431 (Formerly Island Hotel Newport Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $223 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fashion Island Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 295 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is THE place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Fashion Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing