We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People Watching, Overpriced beer, poor food”
Review of Baja Sharkeez

Baja Sharkeez
Ranked #163 of 508 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level 6 Contributor
654 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Great People Watching, Overpriced beer, poor food”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This place is good to grab a couple drinks and people watch. Mix of locals and tourists.

We were on a table near the front entrance, had a good view of the outside street,beach, even the sunset. No waiter to be seen, so ordered off the bar.

Loud, hip, place, good for a "scene", but poor service and standard overpriced bar food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ORD-TGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    40
    19
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Fun!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a great spot if you are looking to spend some time with family or friends and grab a couple drinks. Thursday nights are the best nights out its not overly crowded.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank robbrock11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Restaurant-poor food and service”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A group of 7 adults went to have dinner and drinks there a few weeks ago. The menu is ridiculous. It is way too busy and it's hard to figure out what to order. The food was not that good. Fajitas came out cold. Rest of the food was just okay. The drinks were weak and the service was just okay. We would never go there again. We were very disappointed. I would not recommend it if you are looking for a good meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmartin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“This place is the definition of sleaze on the peninsula”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you want to hang with people pretending to live on the peninsula, watch "bouncers" with cocked flat-brimmed hats inciting fights, 30-somes claiming to be Justin Bieber's relative, while a UFC fight blares in the background, then, by all means hang here.....and stay here.

I would maybe rate it a 1.5, if possible, because the tacos are pretty good...pretty good. Other than that, if you go, be prepared for long stories from everyone pretending to be "the next big thing."

Just don't forget to bring your flat-brimmed hat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Surprise at the Pier!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our son wanted Fajitas...and Monday was Fajita night...so we headed into Sharkeez. Well, first off, this is not your typical "family restaurant" lol...but to our surprise - the food was awesome! And as our family says, we got a number of free "shows" while we were there. One of the best values in Newport, buzzing atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baja Sharkeez also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Baja Sharkeez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing