We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good to be healthy”
Review of True Food Kitchen

True Food Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
True Food Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 503 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too good to be healthy”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My daughter is Vegan, so when we go out west we always look for a True Food Kitchen. She is so happy to find dishes that are vegan and delicious. I also love the food and I have no problem eating meat or dairy. As you can imagine, the salads are to die for, but the entrees are amazing too. My daughter gives the desserts 2 thumbs up.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fifioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    99
    33
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unfortunately Average”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had high hopes for Dr Weil's endorsed restaurant but once there, the large restaurant was nice and airy but the food was below average given the price (both of our fish dishes were overcooked, dry with no culinary bells and whistles worthy of the price), the food presentation was decent and the service staff were nice but not smooth (we got punted for asking for water and our finished appetizer dishes sat emptied at the table and weren't taken until our entrees arrived). I think the restaurant is simply too big to have great cooking and tip top service or it just doesn't have the right kitchen staff and manager.

If you're looking for truly local and fresh cooking, you're best off else where. Even lovely Zinc Cafe and Market Place nearby is better for service, ambiance and food. Or just go to the farmers' market.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vilasinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful Healthy Food Restaurant”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Both appetizers and main course were outstanding. They have a wide variety to choose from and with creative combinations. I would recommend making a prior reservations for seating outside, from where the view during sunset is gorgeous.
Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MDP_Love_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so cal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Favorite healthy restaurant in Newport”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I love the food at True Food Kitchen. The best tip is to try half sizes of salads or even some entrees. They don't do half entrees of fish, but half of curry or teriyaki bowl. You can also order half of crudité which usually has some odd veggies at you never would have tried. The kids menu is also great. They have some great drinks both with and without alcohol. I am not a fan of green tea, but love their iced green tea. My favorite tips have come from the servers who know the menu and if you tell them what you like they will make good suggestions. My favorite dessert is the chocolate cake with caramel sauce. My husband likes the salmon with quinoa. It can get very busy at lunch time or during dinner time on the weekend, so expect to wait or come early. If you like vegetarian meals and want something more basic, try Mother's Market cafe which is in Costa Mesa or other locations.

Helpful?
Thank joantri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for veggies and health freaks!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A little on the O.C. hipster-chic side, but still a great place for food. Expensive, but it is Newport Beach, right? Staff is very nice and helpful. Food changes seasonally to let you know you are being environmentally conscious while eating your Bison burger and drinking your Pellegrino. Good place for families as the seating can hold large groups.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PNCaporaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True Food Kitchen also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to True Food Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing