We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and service was great.”

The Old Spaghetti Factory
Ranked #139 of 507 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner and service was great.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Go early if it's summer. Valet parking is great however getting there could be a little troublesome.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 50thbirthday4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    31
    30
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The wait is worth it”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Great food at reasonable prices but there will a wait on most nights.

Helpful?
Thank jroger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to memories”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We used to go this restaurant in my home town on special occasions. It was fun for the kids with the balloons and sitting in the railroad car. There was a certain value for the money with salad and a scoop of ice cream included in the price of all meals. The problem is the food wasn't very good. Menu choice was limited to what they can make in bulk - and it tastes like something made in bulk.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank MAKDup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good Italian food in an eclectic setting, great for families”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was my third visit to OSF in Newport in the last couple of years. If you are looking for classy dining with upscale cuisine, look elsewhere. If you want standard Italian food in a fun atmosphere with family and friends, this might be the place for you. I asked the waitress for a recommendation and she suggested the crab ravioli, which was very good. My husband had the chicken marsala, which was good but a little salty for his taste. The teenagers had spaghetti with marinara or butter. Pretty standard stuff. The dinners come with salad and ice cream, a pretty good value. The wine list is nothing special, but sufficient for this type of restaurant. Our server was attentive and friendly. As others have noted, this location can be very busy. We called ahead to get our name on the list (a Monday night in late August) and were seated right away. On weekends and holidays the wait can be very long and the place is packed--and maybe not worth it if you have alternatives.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TooMuch2Do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, disappointing food”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

this is a nice place when you first get inside. We actually go to sit in an old trolley car to eat. however the food wasn't that great and the service was extremely slow. The bread they give you in the beginning was very difficult to cut and just ended up squashing while we cut it. My wife both ordered the Spaghetti with meatballs and sausage. Both the meatballs and the sausage tasted like it had a lot of fillers in it. The spaghetti was really thick and was not cooked properly. One bright Spot though, if you get there ask for the ballon lady and have her make you a monkey out of ballons. It 's incredible.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sgttaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Spaghetti Factory also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to The Old Spaghetti Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing