We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We stayed here recently for one weekend on a Travelzoo special to celebrate a family anniversary. Though the hotel's location in a business park is not particularly 'resort-like,' since we live in the Southern California area, where were aware of that going in so were not surprised by it We found the staff exceptionally friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable. We also were happy to receive a complimentary upgrade to a Jr Suite. The hotel has a fitness center, not huge, but perfectly adequate, and guests can use it at no charge. We especially enjoyed the tennis courts, which the kids in our group took advantage of most of the weekend. No charge to play, and the hotel provided complimentary loaner rackets and tennis balls. One of the tennis courts also had a basketball hoop, and the hotel also provided a basketball for that. Between the pool, tennis and basketball, the kids were fully occupied at no cost to us!
All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane6766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,412 - 1,418 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2009

This Fairmont is in an older, office-looking building at the edge of Irvine, just on this side of Newport Beach. Location is very convenient to John Wayne airport and all the super shopping areas of Orange County. One of the best things the hotel offers is a free shuttle service to major shopping centers such as South Coast Plaza and the touristy Balboa Island. This is critical as parking at these places can be a nightmare.

We were a little nervous to stay here after reading some of the reviews, but found the property to be really nice and comfortable. We had no issues with our room - it was quiet, clean, and updated. The bar area was really nice to sit in during the evenings after hectic days of touring around, though we found the food menu in the bar very limited. Also, we tried to eat lunch at the restaurant once, on a Saturday, and it wasn't open, so we ended up splitting a pricey appetizer in the bar and getting lunch later on.

The staff was incredibly friendly and very helpful. We weren't thrilled with the mandatory valet parking at $28/day, but I must admit it was convenient to pull up and have someone take care of parking the car while we walked right in. Also, the location of the hotel is in a quiet office park area of town, so we felt very safe and didn't worry about where the car was being kept overnight. The only down side to the location is that there was nowhere to easily walk to for meals. Also, this hotel is not on top of the beach, but the beach is not very far and you're staying at a Fairmont, enjoy it for what it is. We also got an incredible $119/night rate that included a $50 dining credit, so we felt we got a great deal for the level of hotel we were staying in, though it would have been great if the daily internet charge wasn't so ridiculous.

Overall, this is a great, convenient hotel in a safe, quiet neighborhood - very easy to get to and no traffic getting in or out of the hotel. We loved it and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpencerLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We stayed there for 10 days. Room had a very nice private patio. Every night when we came back from work or dinner, bed was turned down with a little note that showed next day's weather forecast...cucumber or citrus eye treatment mask, and a few pieces of candies.

The room was well appointed. Nothing over the top but it was very luxurious and clean.
Executive suite we stayed had two rooms and a private balcony with two patio chairs and a table so first thing in the morning and at night, we were able to sit there and look at the gorgeous sky.

Coffee they had was actually great! Usually the coffee that come with hotel room is horrible but they had pretty good ones.

Bathroom was very roomy with all marble/granite and came with a huge soaking tub. So clean that it looked like it was just intalled yesterday. DIdn't feel weird to sit in the tub.

I reserved the room over the phone and the person on the phone told me that if I rented a hybrid car, parking fee would be waived. So we went ahead and got a Nissan Altima.

I will come back to this hotel again for sure!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greatwhitechihuahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

This was our second stay here and, I have to say, both were disappointing. The first time, we booked and paid for some high end service which was supposedly going to include a member of the staff who was to be our contact for anything we needed, access to parts of the hotel reserved for such guests, and other services. During that stay, we could never get hold of the person who was supposed to take care of things, never could find the lounge dedicated to us, and had concierge actually hang up on us when we called to ask about reservations w had made at Tentation across the street.

This time, over a year later, we had friends coming in from Vegas and decided it would be ok to try it again.

First, the mandatory valet fee of $28 with no other option is unacceptable when you're paying for and staying at what is supposedly a high end hotel. Being that it's not even beachfront and in a business area that isn't the best part of town, it's ridiculous.

The property itself is nothing special. The pool is practically a bathtub, its so small, and the service is far from what one would expect from even a decent hotel, let alone an upscale one.

We ordered mojtos poolside, which were flat and barely cool. When we mentioned this, clearly stating that we weren't asking for anything but just wanted them to do better next time, the response was "that's impossible, I watched him make it."

Our suite was unimpressive, but nothing really to complain about. Again, for a top class hotel, that shouldn't b the case.

My husband ordered a club sandwich and two drinks from room service, nothing really special, but the $50 charge, coupled with the gratuity and service seemed excessive.

Despite the privacy sign on the door, we had housekeeping knocking every hour the following morning. Being that we had been up very late with our friends, we were exhausted AND annoyed to the point that we wound up just dragging ourselves out of bed and checking out just because we gave up trying to get them to stop.

All in all, considering location, shoddy service, the property, and meager amenities, this isn't a hotel I would recommend or return to.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kissyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

I accompanied my husband on his business trip to Irvine so I could visit an old friend in Long Beach. This hotel is quite ordinary. The lobby area is flamboyant, but the rooms are just average. We were not paying for this ourselves, but still, there is an extra charge for internet use [and this is in a business park], valet parking, etc. Breakfast was expensive: we ordered bagels and fruit plates and paid over $40! The whole place is rather 'cold' in ambience terms. We stayed two nights and then moved to a Long Beach Mariott which was much nicer. This hotel is OK for a business traveler, but it is not a good choice for someone visiting Disney or the beaches.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExeterNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Considering the Fairmont label and the allure of many of their other properties, it's hard not to expect more from the Fairmont Newport Beach. The reality, though, is that this is a nice but not outstanding hotel, a solid business or convenience choice, but not a resort.

The hotel itself is very well taken care of, but lacks any enticing public spaces. The lobby bar is pleasant but not great; the pool is smallish; there's no particularly appealing dining option. A large portion of hotel revenue appears to come from airline crews and special events. You would be well advised to make sure that the pool or restaurant will not be closed for events during your stay; it does happen with some frequency.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onechase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

After reading some less than stellar reviews I was wary about staying here but seeing that it is the Fairmont, a 4.5 star hotel (5 stars on some websites), I thought I would give it a chance for $100/night. Never again! Overall, dishonest business practice from management, presents itself as a deal then rips off consumers upon arrival.

Upon arrival, I was encouraged to upgrade ($30-$50 per night, I was staying 6 nights) not once, not twice, but three times during the check in process. After politely declining, I got to the room and which smelled so strongly of smoke it was unbearable even for me (I am fairly tolerant to smoking). One of my family members has a medical condition and cannot stay in a smoking environment. I brought this to the attention of the front desk and management but they were unaccommodating, one was even snooty about it. According to management, out of their 10 floors of rooms, not a single non-smoking room was available... unless of course, we upgraded (and this was two hours before their official check in time)! Basically, they forced the upgrade and made no exceptions no matter the circumstances.

$28/night for valet which is the only option the hotel itself offers. Even though there are plentiful parking spaces, none are made available to guests. There are, however, a few 30-minute spaces for guests BUT most of the time those were taken up by valet as well (even though valet had their own lot which remained predominately empty). The Radisson across the street offers their guests free parking. Rooms were acceptable though not at a 4.5 or 5 star level, more like a 4 star. Although most of the staff was friendly, the poor business practice of this hotel leaves a bad after taste. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hawaiisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,666 reviews
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,029 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel Newport Beach
Carlton Hotel Newport Beach
#13 of 18 in Newport Beach
749 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $139 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing