We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Fremont
1 review
“Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

spiders are there in the room, and coffee maker is not working. Water is kind of smell I am sure that is in my room or all. They collected internet fee from my conference booking, still they collected additional fee for internet. I have no idea why I am charged twice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Krishna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. I regret to hear of the various issues you experienced during your stay. I would like to get some more information about your particular case and would appreciate it if you would email me at: lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com. Thank you and I await your response.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    492
    278
    140
    93
See reviews for
332
426
70
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

As with most Fairmont hotels I stay at everything was excellent. But what was most exceptional at this Fairmont was the front door manager. I have no idea why but he remembered my name every time I saw him and he addressed me by name each time. I'm no one special but he certainly made me feel special. His name is Michael. Don't recall his last name but he is a true gentlemen that loves his work. I hope the Fairmont Newport Beach appreciates your value to the hotel. Kudos Michael !!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank J Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your extremely kind words about the hotel. We aim to turn moments into memories for our guests and it sounds like we did just that. Guest name usage is a simple, but effective way for us to convey our commitment to delivering engaging service. Thanks again for your kind words and I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Michael.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Called ahead of time to as concierge to book tee time and she sent me a link and offered to book a tee time but when I emailed back and said please book it but then no response so went on golf now and last minute. In my room, the carpet was dirty and worn, no free wifi, dirty toilet on bathtub side bottom, loose soap holder and loose towel rack. The restaurant people are very good as were the catered dinner service. Great location to the John Wayne airport.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shooties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall but apologize for lack of follow up by the concierge team. We are fortunate to be located near John Wayne Airport and close to many of Orange County's most desirable attraction. I'm sorry to hear of the state of some of the items in your guest room. That is certainly not indicative of the quality of product we strive to provide. I would like to get some more information about the condition of your particular guestroom. I would appreciate if you would email me at: lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com. Thanks again and I anxiously await your response.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

No free wifi
Customer service is zero.
Booked a suite with a pool view, upon checking in, front desk acknowledged the request. Checked into the room, no pool view and back to front desk asked for the pool view again and was informed the particular suites are not available with pool view! Should have told the truth upon reservation, could have prevent mistrust experience during stay

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and found our customer service lacking. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service, so I'm very sorry to hear we fell so short in your case. I did want to point out that members of our Fairmont President's Club Loyalty Program receive numerous benefits including complimentary WiFi. I apologize if you weren't made aware of that fact. Thanks again and I hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to give you the experience you deserve.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, Virginia
Level Contributor
334 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Business trip and client recommendation (they had a rate) brought me here. It is very close to John Wayne Orange County airport and they have a shuttle/pickup service which is very convenient. Hotel is located close to major businesses in the OC area. They provided a shuttle so I could rely on them for drop off at the client offices and pickup in the evening, Room was delightful with a nice bed and lots of pillows. The restaurants were all top notch - even the bar food was tasty. I noticed a couple of dogs so they are evidently pet-friendly as well. All the staff were accommodating and friendly without being too chummy. Consider this a strong recommendation from a very experienced business and personal traveller.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. While we welcome all guest feedback, we are particularly pleased to hear from such a seasoned traveler as yourself. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our service helpful and our location convenient. We feel fortunate to be located so close to John Wayne Airport and near many of Orange County's most desirable attractions. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

If you want to feel important, have lovely accommodations and feel like a millionaire, stay at the Fairmont Newport Beach. The staff is wonderful and the free shuttle service takes you to/from airport and local spots.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Diana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm thrilled that we made you feel so special, as we strive to do so for all our guests. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming again to the Fairmont.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is an excellent property - centrally located to airport, beach, shopping - getting from here to anywhere is easy because of its accessibility to freeways - if you want to enjoy the lounge after 12:00 bring your own bottle as the staff is more interested in going home than servicing drinks to the guests

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback about your recent stay. As you mentioned we are centrally located and an excellent point from which to explore Orange County. While I'm pleased you enjoyed your time with us, I apologize for the inattentiveness of the lounge staff. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#12 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Property: The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. "Green" Parking: Overnight guests who drive hybrid vehicles can enjoy 50% off parking at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing