We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay overall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed at this Fairmont earlier in the year. I was very pleased with the service, from the check in, valet, room, location, value and even the restaurant. The food is excellent. I went back a second time to see if I got lucky. I was pleasantly surprised. And it has been that way on every visit. This is a hotel that I would stay at for business or pleasure. I especially love the fact that when I pull into the driveway to check in, they hand me my room key and I give them my car key. What a great service!

Room Tip: I have honestly never had a bad room in this hotel on any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay with us and for being such a loyal guest! We are thrilled to hear you always enjoy your time with us and find the service excellent. I look forward to sharing your kind words with the staff as I know they'll be thrilled to hear it. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    492
    278
    140
    93
See reviews for
332
426
70
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was the first time we have stayed at the Fairmont Newport Beach and we were not disappointed. Although the room may look a little tired, it was clean with all the facilities we needed. All of the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. Although the charge of $30 per day for valet parking I thought was expensive, our car was always delivered in a timely manner. We also made use of the regular shuttles to the Malls on our visit which were very handy. The pool area looked good however I did not use it due to the weather. I did use the gym 3 times and although the machinery is of good quality, the temperature of the gym is far too high for having a comfortable work out. All in all I would definately stay at this hotel again next time I get back to Newport Beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_gibson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear we lived up to your expectations and look forward to a return. We pride ourselves on our service, so it's nice to hear that yours was excellent. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the workout facility and found the lovely, even if it was too use. I will definitely pass on your comments about the temperature of the workout facility. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Newport Beach.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Attended a fundraiser hosted by Alpha Phi UCI on behalf of the American Heart Association. The venue was very good. The valet parking was ten dollars which was disappointing, but the valet staff was friendly.

A large outside tent housed the auction items, and the ballroom for dinner was beautiful. There was plenty of room for the 400 plus group. The food included chicken, mashed potatoes, and carrots. The meal was very good, and the staff worked hard to make sure everyone had what they needed.

We also ventured to the bar and restaurant of the Fairmont. The restaurant had a nice setting, and the tables near and around the bar were very nice. Each staff member we came in contact with was very professional and helpful. I would consider having one of our conventions here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the fundraiser. We are very proud of our banquet space and staff and think they are the best staff in Orange County. I'm pleased to hear you found the food delicious and the service hardworking. Thanks again for your kind words and please let me know if I can ever be of further assistance.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcgaheysville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

we have stayed at the FAIRMONT two years in a row to run the SURF CITY MARATHON. they have shuttle service from John Wayne Airport, to Fashion Island, and to Balboa Island. the drivers have remembered us from both trips so it is like getting rides with friends. nice pool, spa, and clean, comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: get a higher floor so you watch the planes taking off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockonnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. The staff will be thrilled to hear it. I'm happy you felt the hotel was perfect for your needs and that the staff remembers you from previous visits. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed here recently for a work related trip.

This hotel appeared to me as a typical, aged corporate hotel. Nothing special about it.
My room was non-smoking, but, the bathroom somehow smelled like cigarets, and one of my colleagues said the same was true of their room.

There was no self parking, and valet parking was $20 per day.

Please be aware that they charged $300 as a deposit for incidentals!
I inquired about this charge at checkout. The front office staff said "Oh, it's pretty normal." and other staff standing next to him giggled. How rude!
This is a prime example why I choose to stay at privately owned smaller hotels for my private trips. That way I don't have to deal with a lot of snobbish people!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTRABBIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. I regret to hear that your experience was a mediocre one and that we were unable to provide excellent service. I apologize for the smell in your bathroom as there is no excuse for the smell of smoke in a non-smoking room. Most troubling however, is your experience with the front desk staff. I sincerely apologize for that interaction and can assure you that this is not indicative of the level of service we strive to provide. I thank you again for your feedback and will definitely share it with the hotel staff.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I am a member of Fairmont Presidential club and stayed in many other Fairmont locations, like Hawaii, Scottsdale etc…and I was looking forward staying in Fairmont Newport beach as well. However, I was very disappointed. We stayed here during February 2014 and here are the key points of bad experience.

1. Very rude staff service, especially in the bar/lounge
2. BMW shuttle service they offer is a joke. I called for a shuttle to get a ride to near restaurant (2miles from the hotel), they said to call back. I did, 3 times. Then they finally told me to go downstairs to wait for the shuttle. He never showed up (they said he got stuck in traffic ). So, we waited another 20 min downstairs for the shuttle and ended up taking our car from valet after all (which took another 20 min)
3. Valet is $20 billed to your room and there is no other way to park (they don’t have self-parking)
4. Spa only has steam room and no sauna. Woman’s steam room was broken (over a month already)
5. Pool is very small (not what you see on their website)
6. Restaurant is super expensive with slow service

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 710DanielK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Candid guest feedback is critical to our improvement as a hotel, so we definitely value yours. I am very sorry to hear of the numerous issues you experienced during your stay. This was certainly not indicative of the level or service we strive to provide our guests. I would like to put you in touch with the hotel manager so that he might address some of your concerns directly. If you could email me at lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks again for your feedback and I anxiously await your response.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I am a frequent guest at the Fairmont Hotel in Newport Beach for many years now.
I need to say, on my recent stay Daniel at the front desk gave me an excellent service.
This is how Hotels should operate.
I highly appreciate.
Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and for being such a loyal guest! We are thrilled to hear you always enjoy your stays with us and that Daniel was able to turn a moment into a memory for you. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#12 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Property: The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. "Green" Parking: Overnight guests who drive hybrid vehicles can enjoy 50% off parking at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing