We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“running the surf city marathon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Reviewed March 1, 2014

we have stayed at the FAIRMONT two years in a row to run the SURF CITY MARATHON. they have shuttle service from John Wayne Airport, to Fashion Island, and to Balboa Island. the drivers have remembered us from both trips so it is like getting rides with friends. nice pool, spa, and clean, comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: get a higher floor so you watch the planes taking off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockonnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. The staff will be thrilled to hear it. I'm happy you felt the hotel was perfect for your needs and that the staff remembers you from previous visits. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed here recently for a work related trip.

This hotel appeared to me as a typical, aged corporate hotel. Nothing special about it.
My room was non-smoking, but, the bathroom somehow smelled like cigarets, and one of my colleagues said the same was true of their room.

There was no self parking, and valet parking was $20 per day.

Please be aware that they charged $300 as a deposit for incidentals!
I inquired about this charge at checkout. The front office staff said "Oh, it's pretty normal." and other staff standing next to him giggled. How rude!
This is a prime example why I choose to stay at privately owned smaller hotels for my private trips. That way I don't have to deal with a lot of snobbish people!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTRABBIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. I regret to hear that your experience was a mediocre one and that we were unable to provide excellent service. I apologize for the smell in your bathroom as there is no excuse for the smell of smoke in a non-smoking room. Most troubling however, is your experience with the front desk staff. I sincerely apologize for that interaction and can assure you that this is not indicative of the level of service we strive to provide. I thank you again for your feedback and will definitely share it with the hotel staff.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I am a member of Fairmont Presidential club and stayed in many other Fairmont locations, like Hawaii, Scottsdale etc…and I was looking forward staying in Fairmont Newport beach as well. However, I was very disappointed. We stayed here during February 2014 and here are the key points of bad experience.

1. Very rude staff service, especially in the bar/lounge
2. BMW shuttle service they offer is a joke. I called for a shuttle to get a ride to near restaurant (2miles from the hotel), they said to call back. I did, 3 times. Then they finally told me to go downstairs to wait for the shuttle. He never showed up (they said he got stuck in traffic ). So, we waited another 20 min downstairs for the shuttle and ended up taking our car from valet after all (which took another 20 min)
3. Valet is $20 billed to your room and there is no other way to park (they don’t have self-parking)
4. Spa only has steam room and no sauna. Woman’s steam room was broken (over a month already)
5. Pool is very small (not what you see on their website)
6. Restaurant is super expensive with slow service

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 710DanielK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Candid guest feedback is critical to our improvement as a hotel, so we definitely value yours. I am very sorry to hear of the numerous issues you experienced during your stay. This was certainly not indicative of the level or service we strive to provide our guests. I would like to put you in touch with the hotel manager so that he might address some of your concerns directly. If you could email me at lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks again for your feedback and I anxiously await your response.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I am a frequent guest at the Fairmont Hotel in Newport Beach for many years now.
I need to say, on my recent stay Daniel at the front desk gave me an excellent service.
This is how Hotels should operate.
I highly appreciate.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and for being such a loyal guest! We are thrilled to hear you always enjoy your stays with us and that Daniel was able to turn a moment into a memory for you. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I recently stayed at the Fairmont Newport Beach. The service was extraordinary! Everyone I came in contact with was more than polite and happy to help. The room was clean and comfy. The pool area was beautiful with cabanas to use if needed. I was in Newport beach for training, but I would stay here again for a family trip. Highly recommend this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Choose the 10th floor pool view, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and found our service extraordinary. We pride ourselves on our service, so it's great to hear you appreciated it! I'm also pleased to hear you enjoyed our pool area as we feel it is one of the best in the area. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The food here is a bit costly but that is to be expected in a nice hotel in this city. The rooms have very nice amenities including wifi access, dvd players, fine toiletries, and more. The Bambu lounge and restaurant offer a delicious variety of food, including a $24 breakfast buffet that includes salmon and parfaits. We stayed here so we could be close to the Hornblower cruises.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caltravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. While we welcome all guest feedback, we are particularly appreciative to hear from such seasoned travelers as yourself. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and found the variety of culinary offerings to your liking. We feel very fortunate to be so centrally located with easy access to all that Orange County has to offer. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the Fairmont and was frankly surprised by some of the reviews. No it isn't the Four Seasons but then again you are not paying Four Seasons prices. The room was roomy and clean. The bed was comfortable with great linens. The location was perfect. The pool and spa were both above average. I also had room service one night and it was prompt, friendly and good. The lobby area and bar are also quite nice . All in all I would definitely return.

One suggestion as others have said - the $18 a day for mandatory (no self parking) valet is excessive. Tack on a $5 tip each time and it is a big negative. Make the parking free or much less!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank andrew_branham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourself while on property and that the hotel exceeded your expectations. I'm pleased to hear your room was well-appointed and found the location perfect. I can understand your frustration with our valet parking. We are constantly reviewing our procedures and will certainly take your feedback into consideration. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,755 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel Newport Beach
Carlton Hotel Newport Beach
#12 of 18 in Newport Beach
754 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $131 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing