We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some 4-star, some 1-star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Corona, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some 4-star, some 1-star”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Room service was excellent, food was great and definately made up for many other things that were not expected in a $300/night place. Had we not had a seventy dollar a day food credit though, I would say the food was great but it should be when you drop $71 on breakfast.

Noise and a room that sounds closed was an issue for us. The airport is right across the street but it sounds like its on your patio. Had there been no flight restrictions on the airport from 11pm to 7am, this would have been fully unacceptable. Still, even after hours, the other rooms doors slamming were loud and so was the street traffic like harley's and trucks going by. Again, with all the doors and windows closed, it was amazingly loud even on the 8th floor. Personally I can think of a motel 6 in NJ that was nearly on the runway but was sealed up amazingly well so I know it can be done, they clearly just haven't tried.

Room decor and bedding and such... pluses were great sheets, a great matress and awesome pillows... minuses were the room having one robe when we reserved for two of us, the room having one chair to sit in, and no table or chairs which even a basic room in say Vegas will provide. The one person style of the suite was honestly baffling, but I gave the fluffy robe to my wife and wrote it off as close enough since I can live without a robe.

The Spa at Amedaus is not even worth half a star. Nearly two hundred each for a 90 minute massage that was not even up to par with the job you get at the asian places with the bars on the ceiling of the room. There is no spa there, the hotel pool is outside on the say to the 'spa' and there are no facilities whatsoever, unless you think a spa is simply a large bathroom with a sauna. I used to think places like Glen Ivy were just so-so but I've come to find that place is way more spa than places like this, we dropped the better part of 5 bills and should have skipped it entirely. Again, a trip to a strip mall for sixty an hour would have gotten us a real massage and over three hundred left over to keep or spend or go out to sushi with. A total waste, avoid.

The front desk was friendly, the concierge was helpful, the staff was friendly. If you sign up for the presidents club you can get free WiFi, but I also totally get the other reviews where they feel nickel and dimed at every turn. To think they would accept eleven bucks a day just for wireless is unreal, until you surf thru the pay per view movie offerings that average about $17 each. We arrived with a goal to stay in bed for three days, live on room service and order PPV and basically since there was a DVD player in the room, we bailed for dinner, hit the redbox and bought some microwave popcorn which, by the way if you ask they will bring a microwave up to your room so again, pluses and minuses.

I'm not the sort to write online reviews and all this, but after dropping about a G on the entire trip I feel obligated to share what we saw. If you book here, definately pick something like the bed and breakfast package since part of that deal will be a food credit that should cover a meal a day at this, a very spendy joint.

Room Tip: Get something facing south, the opposite side of MacArthur Bvld.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    501
    285
    141
    94
See reviews for
339
427
71
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

From the exterior, this property has appealing architecture and beautifully landscaped grounds. Once inside though and past the lobby, this changes to one of disrepair and poorly trained staff. The common areas were quite unkempt.

We have stayed at this property in the past and thought we would give it another chance. We were very disappointed. Little has changed over the years.

We travel regularly for pleasure and stay approximately 70 nights a year in a variety of hotels from Hilton, Starwood all the way up to the Viceroy , Ritz Carlton, and Four Seasons. We know what to expect at each price point and felt that we did not receive fair value at this property.

The room that we were given on the first night was unacceptable. The noise was so loud from the generators and fans outside the window that the room felt as if it were vibrating. We had a similar experience on a previous stay and as a result connected with the reservations manager prior to our visit to request a quiet room on a different wing away from this equipment. I simply cannot understand how our request was overlooked when our room was assigned. We know that we cannot be guaranteed a specific room but in this case there appeared to have been no attempt at accommodating our request. On the second night we were moved to the wing we had requested. This location was much better except for the planes taking off from 7am at John Wayne airport. If the sliding doors closed properly this would likely eliminate much of the noise.

Some of the rooms are worn and in need of an upgrade. The standard room we were given on the first night following our displeasure with the noisy suite was in much better condition than the suite we were given on the second night of our stay. It seems as if there have been no renovations or upgrades in years even though other reviewers indicate receiving an upgraded room. The blackout curtains in our room were so disintegrated and full of holes that they looked like a doily. The heating/air conditioning units rattled and smelled foul. We opened the windows instead. The bathrooms were the only part of the suite that met our expectations for a Fairmont.

Housekeeping was inconsistent and lacking. Dirty glasses were removed and not replaced, an empty tissue box was not replaced even though we left it out for the housekeeper to see, and we noticed that there were no recycling bins in the room at all. We struggled with getting feather pillows in each room we were assigned over the weekend only to have housekeeping remove them from the bed after their service. Admittedly when issues were raised, staff was quick to respond.

The breakfast buffet was very weak in its offerings and in its preparation. We have enjoyed other buffets in the area (for example the Hilton South Coast Plaza). The Fairmont's was inconsistent in preparation and service. Restaurant staff definitely needs more training for the caliber of this hotel.

The valet and front desk staff though are the shining stars of this property. They were always courteous and very efficient.

As mentioned, we are regular travellers and have high expectations of properties like the Fairmont. To say that we were disappointed is an understatement. We would not have been at all surprised had we been compensated for the first night stay given the issues with our suite. That offer was never made nor was any offer extended for a future stay. Either would have been a welcome gesture of goodwill. There was no follow-up response from management to an email outlining our disappointment with the property.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room if one exists. The suites are not worth the extra $$$ and are in noisy loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ywgtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We welcome all guest feedback but particularly from seasoned travelers such as yourselves. I’m very disappointed to hear of your experience overall, particularly since some of the issues from your last stay were not corrected. As you mentioned, while we can’t guarantee specific rooms, we definitely are able to accommodate requests such as yours and I apologize we failed to do so. I would like to put you in touch with the general manager so that he might be able to discuss your stay at greater detail. If you would email me at: lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks again for your feedback and I anxiously await your response.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip. They have a shuttle that picks up from the airport. Friendly staff, fast check in and nice lobby. The rooms look like they have been recently updated. My first room had an issue with the toilet running so I switched. The next room the air conditioner/heating was loud and didn't seem to work well. The restaurant was good. They have a small buffet for breakfast. I might have missed omelettes or waffles as it didn't seem to have them. If not, the buffet was a bit expensive for the limited choices. Overall a nice enough stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel. It sounds like you had a nice stay with us and found our services and amenities useful. I’m pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and efficient. I apologize for the issues you experienced with your initial rooms, but it sounds like that was resolved relatively quickly. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you for your next business (or pleasure) trip.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on vacation traveling through California. I only had the opportunity to stay one night. The hotel had that "Grand Hotel" feeling and the room were very nice. The coffee in the room was a Kuerig which you do not see everyday. The bar area was very nice and had great service. I did not use the pool area but it looked very nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kabish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had a great time and found our property full of useful amenities. We strive to provide excellent service and I know our team will be thrilled to hear of your experience! Excellent service can definitely separate a great stay from a good one. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Having just moved out of my home with still a week to work before my official retirement, I chose the Fairmont Newport Beach because of its reputation and location. It is a beautiful property with friendly and efficient staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank pirtfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and congratulations on your impending retirement! That must be very exciting and hopefully we made your stay with us a pleasant one. I'm pleased to hear you found the staff friendly and efficient. Thanks again for your kind words and congratulations!
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very nice hotel. Only stayed one night but it was very comfortable! Only complaint which ended up not being an issue for me is that the valet parking was required at $20 per night. However, if you have a hybrid vehicle, it is complementary!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveislamujeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and found the property comfortable. I look forward to sharing your note with the team and welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is an okay hotel if you are spending the night and flying into and out of Santa Ana Airport.
It's located very close to the Airport and it's a typical business hotel with no mini bar nor outstanding extra services.
Wifi and Breakfast are quite expensive. Breakfast's buffet is around 30$ offering a few croissants, scrambled eggs, sausages, juices and cereals.

The hotel offers a shuttle to drive you to Fashion Island and Balboa Island 4 times a day.

The staff is nice and the rooms are fairly clean. There were some hairs in my bath-thub but I did not complain as the rest seemed to be clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cara_s322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. As you mentioned we are centrally located near Santa Ana Airport with close proximity to Orange County and many of Southern California's most desirable locations. It sounds like while you enjoyed your stay overall, you felt we were missing some amenities to make your stay a great one. We always welcome guest feedback and I've shared yours with the team. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,520 reviews
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
987 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#12 of 17 in Newport Beach
722 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Property: The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing