We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Was nice but not spectacular for a 5 Crown rating. We stayed in a regular room. Rooms were just ok nothing out of the ordinary. We did not eat there so I cannot comment on the food. Pool area was average.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

995 - 1,001 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel several times. It is close to John Wayne Airport. The rooms are spacious and lively. I was upgraded to a suite (pays to be a President member) It was perfect for my daughter and grandchild!
We had a great experience using the hotel nanny service so my daughter and I could enjoy one of the 5 star restaurants in the area.
The rooftop pool was beautiful. you could call from the pool phone to the restaurant and order lunch. It was served
eleganty. Not a typical poolside service!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your extremely kind words about the hotel and for being a loyal FPC member. It sounds like you truly enjoyed your time with us. I’m very pleased you found the pool beautiful and the presentation elegant. We are very proud of our pool area and service, so it’s always nice to hear positive feedback from our guests. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Fairmont brand should lead to an expectation of quality amenities and great service. The Fairmont Newport Beach does not disappoint in that regard. However, there are a few important aspects of the Fairmont Newport Beach experience that should be understood before you book your stay. And this is why we have Tripadvisor!

1. Valet Parking - Expect to pay $28 per day for REQUIRED valet parking. There are 20 minute temporary spaces if you are meeting someone or arranging a ride. Otherwise this come as a surprise to some and leads to hard feelings. It's not in the brochure.

2. Wifi is NOT Free - It's 10.95 per 24 hours, applied your bill. But here is a hint: Join the Fairmont President's Club for free wifi during your stay. They will credit you back if you join.

3. Location - While convenient to the airport, the hotel is NOT convenient to walk to anything else. Even going across the street to Staples requires you to cross six lanes of traffic. If you want a local hotel with walking distance amenities, stay elsewhere. The location is however very convenient to the airport (SNA - John Wayne International). Also they run shuttles to the airport every 30 minutes. The ride takes about ten minutes.

Those three biggies aside, the hotel was very comfortable and the rooms well-appointed with quality furnishings. I found the food to be outstanding both in room and at Bambu, though I was disappointed that my steak was way overcooked the second time. I am sure they would have made it right though. The fact that I ordered the steak a second time at all is indication that it was excellent. The pool is tiny, but I did enjoy both the spa and the poolside.

Overall, I had a great stay at the Fairmont and was there a whole week. I recommend you get an upper floor room with a "mountain view". Be sure to avoid the rooms that are adjacent to the suites, some of them are smaller additional bedrooms for the suites. If you don't mind the location and can afford the rate this property will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor mountain view, avoid the rooms contiguous to the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triptickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks very much for commenting on your recent stay with us. It sounds like while you had a nice stay overall, there were some challenges associated with your visit. I’m very pleased to hear you found our service excellent and our amenities top-notch. I’m sorry to hear you found our valet process cumbersome. We are constantly reviewing our procedures and will certainly take your feedback into consideration. We are very proud of our bambú restaurant and lounge, so it’s nice to hear you enjoyed it. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you in the future and making your next stay better than your last.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here because it was the hotel that came up through Priceline's "Name Your Own Price" deal. The service was great, the hotel reception employees and valet employees were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was not the best for what we were here for, we were hoping to have something close to the beach or Balboa Island, but this location was further away from those attractions and would be better suited for business travelers. The hotel was not in 4 star condition, the rooms were definitely showing their wear and tear and the air conditioning in the room barely cooled it down. The rooms, however, were still very clean. Wouldn't stay here again if I was coming to Newport to go to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliciaLeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and found our service to be extremely friendly and helpful. We thank you for your positive review which we will be delighted to share with our colleagues.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fairmont has such exceptional service and attention to detail . I had a quick trip that needed to taken and the early check-in and great location made this perfect! The staff was helpful and the bar relaxing!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poor lady maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is one fantastic resort. It has everything you would want and more.
Tremendous patio, hot tub, pool ,fire pit, and great area's for sunbathing or relax in the cabana's.
The rooms are a good size and very clean, The fitness area and equipment is very enjoyable, again with a view, The restaurant is also very good.
The entire resort is extremely clean, neat and tidy. excellent stay, we are Fairmont Platinum Members and have been for some years.
Thank to the management and staff, a job well done

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 281bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and for being a loyal Fairmont customer! While we value all guest feedback, we are particularly pleased to hear from our FPC Platinum Members. We are quite proud of our pool and workout facility, so it’s nice to hear you enjoyed them both. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Newport Beach.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent one night at the Fairmont Newport Beach to attend a concert at the Pacific Amphitheatre. This was a perfect location for our purposes, close to the airport & fair grounds. The hotel itself was fine but not what you might expect for a Fairmont hotel; definitely nothing special or outstanding. Room was comfortable, decent restaurant & lounge , lovely pool area if you have time to use it; but nothing more than average all around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itraveltherefor... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,718 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel
Fashion Island Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel Newport Beach
Carlton Hotel Newport Beach
#12 of 18 in Newport Beach
752 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $118 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing