We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day at Amadeus Spa!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
1 review
“Wonderful day at Amadeus Spa!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

After spending some time on the net looking for a place to relax for the day, I ended up picking this fabulous spa. I was sold when I found out you could use the hotel pool and hottub which was also located just outside the spa doors on the 3rd floor! I packed my lunch and headed to the spa! After checking in and meeting the people at the desk I was very delighted by the inviting staff! I drove up from SD so I spent a few hours outside which was very peaceful on a Thursday. The hottub was super warm which felt great after swimming in the pool. Later that afternoon I had a massage appointment set up with Ivan who was absolutely amazing. I have been looking for a place to go for a relaxing massage and I just found the sweetest, most pleasant experience at this day spa! I would reccomment Ivan to anyone! I love that Ivan does not leave any part out of the experience so your whole body is relaxed and rejuvenated! After being swept away into Lalaland :), I had a facial appointment with Veronica! She was also soo passionate about her line of work which made my facial experience super pleasant! We connected on many levels about health and natural products. She also did my eyebrows while I was there and her "wow-brow" definitely gave me the wow reaction when complete! I will be coming back to see both Ivan and Veronica regularly for sure! Thank you Amadeus Spa for my "escape to tranquility" day!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qtcatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    499
    284
    140
    94
See reviews for
338
427
71
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Why is it that the big, expensive chain hotels have to nickel and dime you to death? The better "value" hotels don't charge for Internet or parking, this place does. Here you don't have ANY option but valet parking and the rates vary by day and they are expensive plus you feel obligated to tip every time you come and go. They charge double digits for Internet. Rooms are ok but small. Another big complaint, room service trays lined the halls and smelled. Why can't people call and have the trays remove? Why doesn't room service follow up and retrieve them? Tacky. Plus, room service prices are off the charts. Overall impressions: nickel and dime artists, gouging at every turn, average rooms. The Fairmont name does not carry the cachet it once did. Will never stay at a Fairmont again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is not in the middle of retail if you are into shopping but for a quiet place to stay for a few days it is great. There is great access by road and there are several good restaurants nearby. The hotel will even provide shuttle service to take you to them. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The grounds are park-like. The staff is very friendly and helpful making you feel welcome from the moment you arrive at the door. Parking is by valet, which came as a bit of a surprise, but it is not overly expensive. Definitely would stay there again! Visit the Bambu restaurant for breakfast if you like Eggs Benedict. Check out the review under restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prairietravellerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place is perfect for the business traveler that is just there for a quick stay. It is located close to the airport and the shuttle arrives promptly to pick you up. The staff was friendly and moved with a sense of urgency to ensure you get to your room quickly and painlessly.

The rooms were clean and the location was very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CT_travler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here for a work conference.

Pros:
* Staff is very engaged and will do whatever they can to make your stay pleasant.
* Lunch served for our conference was very, very good. High quality ingredients and wonderful staff
* Excellent service at the bar and generous pours.
* Valet service was quick
* Room service was timely and food was very good


Cons:
*Hotel seems older and in need of updates. Examples of this would include:
My phone didn't work
My TV remote didn't work (called twice and each time immediate response and fixed)
Limited outlets and several didn't work
Shower head tilted to the wall, so I had to basically stand close to the shower wall to shower.

This was a work trip, so the issues I encountered were not that big of a deal.

However, I would not stay here for leisure.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 110 and thought I could smell smoke periodically --- maybe I was close to an area w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colbysophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

It's obvious this is normally a business travel hotel, but we have stayed in this hotel several times while visiting family in SoCal and find it convenient and a good value for the price. Specifically, we stayed for 6 days this past Christmas and found the hotel to be perfect for our needs -- it's no Four Seasons but what you get for the price is a good value.

Each time we have gotten a suite for our family of 3 and taken advantage of the package including breakfast and valet parking. With a young child, it's very helpful to be able to have breakfast in room each morning at no added cost and in fact, my son loved being able to order what he wanted and have it delivered via room service. There are many options on the menu, including several gluten free items which is fantastic as my son is GF.

While this hotel is not what I would call luxurious, it is perfect for our purposes and all of the staff from valet to housekeeping to room service to front desk are all courteous, friendly and helpful.

The property is also pet friendly (they even have a doggie portion of the room service menu), which is an added bonus since we tend to bring our dog on longer trips.

Room Tip: The executive suites are much more spacious and can very comfortably accommodate a family with kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueblood2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The spa experience leaves a lot to be desired. Facility is just so-so, services are horrible. The facial was the worst I have ever had, the girl basically did nothing, did not remove eye makeup, did not extract anything, did not touch neck, chest, hands or feet. Basically spent about 30 minutes of a 45 minute facial having steam blown on my face. Would not recommend spending your money in this spa to anyone - there are plenty of other options close by with better services.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJA735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,453 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#12 of 17 in Newport Beach
712 reviews
6.0 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Property: The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing