We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are better hotels in Newport!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“There are better hotels in Newport!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have stayed at many Fairmont properties. This one is by far the worst I have ever stayed. Upon arrival I was given a room on the first floor. After unpacking, I was greeted by a cockroach larger than my thumb! I stepped on it as scurried towards the door. Went to the front desk and asked for a room on a higher floor. I moved to the 10th floor. The room was dirty. Stained carpets and furniture. The toilet flushing mechanism did not work. At 2:30 in the morning the heating quit working. I was tired and wanted this trip to end. I wrapped up in the two bathrobes, went back to sleep and checked out in the morning. Upon check-out, I noticed a large billing error overcharging me. I mentioned the error and all my problems to the lady at the front desk. She corrected the billing error, but said nothing my other problems. This hotel is off my travel list.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanceH_BizTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    487
    276
    140
    93
See reviews for
327
424
69
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Grand California and other disney properties, but over the holidays they simply are not worth $400+ per night. Found this place and the staff, room and service were excellent and it took about 12 minutes to get to Disneyland, day or night. Had room service a couple of times and it was excellent as was the Rack of Lamb in the lounge/restaurant. Restaurant was being remodeled, but should be completed by now or within the first couple of weeks of January.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Near Airport, no noise whatsoever, this is in a business park. 5 minute drive to downtown newport/fashion island/balboa. Friendly and fast valet (i paid $0 for my Prius, a cool perk Fairmont offers), friendly front desk. Kamal checked me in at 1:30pm, nice guy w/ a large hospitality background I enjoyed his chat. Breezy C/I. We had a nasty yet small green stain on our sheet (no biggie, just told the front desk) and Ally at the desk, a supervisor, sent it to be changed and sent us a sweet fruit amenity to apologize. I used to work for Starwood and let me say, when an employee sends a small gesture like that, it goes a long way and she displayed what a hospitality professional she is. Nice room, yes as some say a bit "dated" but its an older style sense of luxury. Nice bathrooms. I had a delightful time and will return when in OC/Newport. Thought the Westin beds were the best, but damn, their bed here and pillows were the best hotel bed I'v experienced so far....Negatives? not many really. the stain, whatever, stuff happens. the orange love seat needs to go haha I'll give other reviewers that, but no real complains. Great property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3246DA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Fairmont Newport Beach after having stayed 3 nights at the Fairmont Miramar. I am a Fairmont President's Club member so wanted to stay at Fairmont but was worried about the Newport Beach one based on previous reviews. I have to stay that I was pleasantly surprised. I actually wish I had booked all 5 nights at the Newport Beach one. We had a one bedroom suite at a very good rate. Hotel is just 3 minutes from John Wayne Airport and while you can hear the airplanes during the day, it is not noisy to the point that you can't sleep at night. Room was dated but comfortable. Only drawback was that the outer darker and thicker curtains did not cover all of the window so light would come in early in the morning. The hotel is also close to the highway junctions so great base to get around the area (Anaheim, Newport Beach, South Coast). They have a shuttle to Fashion Island and South Coast Plaza and to Balboa Island that you can use but we had a car so did not need it. Price of in-room dining is on the pricy side but it is Fairmont after all so you pay more for food there. There is a strip mall across the street and a Starbucks a block away but it is not walk-friendly because the street is so wide so you are better off taking your car.

The pool was under renovation but it was cold anyway so I would not have used it.
I would definitely book again at this location as it is good value for your money. You could get away with not renting a car if all you want is go to Disneyland and nearby shopping malls and Balboa Island as they have a special package to Disneyland that includes a shuttle ride to and from.

Room Tip: Rooms ending with 31 on the floors that have a vending machine could be noisy when vending machine i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank safar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Some of the reviews of this Fairmont were a little tough I believe after staying there myself. Check-in was very quite and the front desk associate was very personable and professional. The lobby itself was very elegant and nicer than I expected.
I was on the 3rd floor with a King room. The furnishings were very large and you could tell were quite costly and more lavish than your typical hotel. Yes, as some people have photographed, some pieces were dinged up a bit here and there, but that was no big deal to me. I thought the room was lovely and higher end than most properties. I would happily stay here again.
Ordered room service and received a lovely breakfast for my son and I. Just a tip...I ordered off of the kids menu..the pancakes and the Jr Breakfast and it was MORE than enough food for both of us. The serving size of both meals was "adult-like" and the price was $7-9 each if I remember correctly as apposed to $16-19 on the "adult" menu. The food was great and we really enjoyed it.
Great hotel...aside from the John Wayne airpor noise, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenbug75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a little misunderstanding on the number of beds required by our party, ending up one bed short because all of the rollaways were in use, but the staff solved the problem promptly and courteously. Well done!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 605WestCoastGuy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel was situated very conveniently to the airport. Checking in was very efficient with a friendly staff. The room were well decorated however not as nice as the other Fairmonts. Bed was very comfortable and the Lodgenet in room app was very convenient.
Room service was a bit pricey but well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amydavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#12 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Property: The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Newport Beach hotel in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, Fairmont Newport Beach hotel is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! Fairmont Newport Beach hotel welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! Fairmont Newport Beach hotel offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. Fairmont Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. Fairmont Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. "Green" Parking: Overnight guests who drive hybrid vehicles can enjoy 50% off parking at Fairmont Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing