We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average for 5 stars”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights weekend , The hotel is very busy with wading and it has only one option for parking , Valley parking, so plan to wait for 10-15mins for your car even if you call ahead. we first got a room overlooking the Roof , then when we asked for a different room, the other choice was overlooking the parking lot. The hotel is near the Airport and you can still hear the airplane and the noises in the hallway and next room , not enough isolation between rooms. otherwise it's close to the Highway and short drive to beach. and has standard room with flat TV and small bathroom. not a 5 stars

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    495
    281
    140
    94
See reviews for
336
427
71
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at the Fairmont last weekend as a staycation surprise for my friends birthday and it was fantastic. The service was personal, professional, and sincere. Everything about the property was pristeen and of high quality. The bathroom amenities are very high end...liked the lotion very much and found that an 8 oz bottle is $65.00 so the 1.4 oz in the room is $10 alone. Appreciated the complimentary coffee service in the lobby...great coffee.

We were VERY well taken care of and would absolutely stay at the Fairmont again and I will recommend this property to friends, family, and colleagues as a result of the service received. Well done and thank you for a GREAT weekend!

Room Tip: We didn't have a balcony, but would choose a balcony room next time as they are quite large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights for a meeting/workshop with a group. Overall, I wasn't really impressed. There were certainly good points, but overall, a 3 rating seems about right.

Good: Location - it's very close to the airport.
Water pressure/temp - good!
Room - pretty roomy for a non-suite room. We weren't too crowded. The bathroom had a smaller, dimmer light and a regular light, which was nice. Internet speed was good, and it was easy to connect if you are a President's Club member. I think there is a hefty charge for internet access otherwise.

The bad - or at least, the unusual - housekeeping made up our room around 4:30 pm each day. Once they did show up, it was cleaned very fast. Almost too fast. The sheets didn't seem to be changed, but maybe they usually aren't until you check out? I don't know.

Our entire group had issues checking in, so some people waited in the huge lobby for a few hours. We received a note apologizing and saying "a small gift would be in your room prior to checkout." Nice. Our last evening, I called the front desk to ask about this - it wasn't a big deal, but nothing showed up. After about 10 minutes and a lot of "Please hold...", someone said "OK, we'll have a bellman bring it up". About 15 minutes later, he showed up with a small bag of 6 pieces of taffy. In the end, I would say they should either just apologize or make sure the small gift shows up - I felt worse after spending 30 minutes on it than skipping it entirely.

Overall, big hotel, bigger than average rooms, fairly comfortable and clean, but nothing really makes it stand out. We would probably go for a suite type hotel with a breakfast and free Internet over the Fairmont.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank professorroyhinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Decided on a little weekend getaway to Newport Beach and choose the Fairmont. It's in a great location, across the street from the airport, just off the 405 and close to the South Coast Mall. They have shuttles than run to the shore as well. The hotel seemed very busy with weddings each night. The hotel bar is nice and rooms pretty standard. The bed was very comfortable with the exception being the pillows, which were so soft they gave no support. Other than that, the room was very nice. My favorite part of the hotel was it's pool area. They have a standard size pool and jacuzzi. Many lounge chairs, fire pit and many cabanas that include a TV. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnieLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

we stayed at the fairmont for two nights. Breakfast was included for the price. you could order the buffet or off the menu. Our amount per person was more than we could you. A great value.
There is a valet fee per night, but as most hotels in the area that is usual. Very nice room and
bathroom. Location is decent to see the sights in Laguna and Newport

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe az
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I booked this room through priceline if I had not prepaid I would have declined to checkin due to the fact that I think it is outragious for this hotel to charge 28.00 a day for valet parking and not give their customers a say in the manner . In addition to this alot of their custmers are driving rental cars and there is a ? on weather their insurance willl cover them if one of these valet parkers damages their vehicle or hits a pedestrian . In addition to this the room was not quiet their ventalation system in the hallway made a continuos loud noise and I had to sleep with earplugs and a pillow over my head so much for five star treatment.

Room Tip: Find out beforehand if hotel mandates valet parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank transitpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a very slick, efficient, pleasant hotel, presumably aimed at business travellers. The staff were great, and very helpful when I had a couple of random questions. It was a bit large and soulless for my liking, but that's a matter of personal preference, I guess. I was not impressed, though, with the charge of $15 for 24 hours of internet access or - wait for it - $1 a minute to check your email on one of their computers. Even by the rip-off standards of fancy hotels, that was too much to swallow, when the rooms cost as much as they do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Property: The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing