We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Have stayed here several times, most recently for the weekend in July. Really no complaints. Rooms are large, comfy, clean and quiet. The hotel has a small pool and hot tub and many comfy chaise lounges. Seems to cater to airline staff, lots of pilots and flight attendants coming and going.
The bar/lounge is a nice place to grab a snack and a drink.
They offer a shuttle to South Coast Plaza.
Join Fairmont club to get best rate and othert amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
There are newer reviews for The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,320 - 1,326 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

Got hotel through priceline, asked for four star or higher got three star, still paid close to $200.00 per night. Hotel was okay nothing spectacular, they try to give you the illusion that you are staying in a really fancy hotel but really your not. Has a nice lobby, okay swimming pool, small restaurant and lounge (but nice). Now to all the bad stuff, first parking is rediculous, it is !00% valet parking, meaning we were not able to park our own car anywhere, which was a major inconvinience, because we were their with our kids and their were times we had to make quick stops to our hotel, but it wouldn't be a quick stop, it took about 5 min for someone to park our cars and then about 15 to get our car back and then all the tipping we had to do when they parked our car on top of the $28.00 daily parking fee. Im not really thrilled about letting anybody in my car to park it, with all the identity theft going on, I felt like my privacy was being invaded. Then the daily $14.95 fee for the internet, and if your traveling with kids, be prepared to pay for childrens television programs, they have cable or satellite but to get the kids channels you have to pay extra. Rooms are nice but need to be updated, location okay, not close to beach, starbucks across the street. Lock on bathroom door didn't work and no fan in bathroom. Overall not impressed with this hotel, unless you dont mind waiting around all the time for your car and the extra fees then this might be a great hotel for you.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beatrix1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Needed location for 5 days in LA prior to heading South to Cabo.. The Fairmont Newport Beach was great location. We had two rooms as kids now both near 20 years old and the facilities were very good. The Pool area was very resort-ish and while the girls shopped the pool area was better than most of the hotels in the area.. We have stayed at many of the hotels around the OC airport (because of the variety of shops) and the Fairmont Hotel is a stand out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynmar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

In brief, we visited the Fairmont Newport Beach for a week in order to have spa getaway and attend the O.C. Fair, Pageant of the Masters (in Laguna) as well as the beautiful beaches nearby. Our stay at the Fairmont Newport Beach was nice. However, we did come across a few somewhat minor incidents in regards to our personal needs not being met at the time. I had sent a quick note in the comments section on the website and low and behold, the actual General Manager of the Fairmont (Mr. Paul Ohm), voluntarily stepped in to personally make things better for us during our stay. That was quite impressive as many hotels will not provide this type of service to their guests...unless there is a very, very serious issue concerning their stay.

I would like to extend my appreciation for Paul Ohm's excellent level of service and ability to quickly solve any issues while forming a positive personal relationship with his guests.

We look forward to visiting another Fairmont Hotel in the near term.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms offer a nice view of the rooftop pool below.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This hotel was very busy. The lobby was well-appointed and the concierge desk was conveniently located next to the check-in area. Our room was small but well-appointed (nice sheets and comfy bed)...mini fridge was included. The bathroom was a nice size and well decorated with marble and fancy fixtures.
We took advantage of the hotel shuttle, which runs to nearby Fashion Island (outdoor upscale shopping area) and Balboa Island.
The pool is small but adequate. The pool/hot tub area have covered areas but need more chairs for the area.
We ate once at the hotel restaurant/bar and were pleasantly surprised by the delicious food. There are a few places across the highway, but unless you rent a car, you will probably end up eating at the hotel. The hotel is in a primarily business area, very close to the John Wayne Airport (we took the hotel shuttle to/from the airport).
Overall, this is a very pleasant hotel for a couple looking for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRoamingGnomette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This Fairmont is located very close to John Wayne airport. You wouldn't know it though, as it is quiet and tucked away off the street. Check in was slow (a huge airline group was ahead of us) and we were told our room wasn't ready yet (at 7pm). I was offered a drink in the bar, but didn't want to take my two children in there. As a nice compensation for the minimal delay, a large selection of wonderful treats was sent to our room for the kids. They were really pleased.

Our room was clean, quiet, had comfortable beds, linens. The pool was more adult themed, but there were lots of families there and we were made to feel very comfortable by all the staff. The parking valets were friendly and fast. Also very helpful with directions etc.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertdad67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The hotel was renovated in 2006, and still has a lot of nice features, but the owners/managers have made some peculiar decisions. Parking is a nightmare; the front of the hotel is always a rush-hour tie-up; there are just not enough parking spaces. The bell staff is great, but over-worked. Similarly, whether checking in or out or just asking a question, there were never more than three people behind the desk. Waits were endless. Finally, having spent a lot of money, while the room was very nice the level of maintenance was poor. The door wouldn't open; the desk clerk suggested we and hard, then kick. No kidding!. The knob fell off the bathroom door, and the sink was cracked. On the plus side, we were on the top floor and never had to wait even a minute for an elevator, and the concierge was really helpful. Staff: A; management/owners: C-.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor when you reserve
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryFLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,623 reviews
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,018 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#13 of 18 in Newport Beach
742 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $145 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing