We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The Fairmont”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Reviewed September 29, 2007

We loved the Fairmont Hotel, arriving at the hotel close to midnight, we experienced a friendly check-in. When we were shown to the room we were amazed, what a great size, also offering a spacious balcony area and a lovely bathroom with a big tub separate from the shower. The bed was divine and after a long journey we slept like a log!
We had the buffet breakfast which had a splendid choice and all waiting staff were very friendly. On our first evening we decided to have room service and the food and wine were great again served by a friendly waiter.
The hotel itself is about 5 miles from the beach, but it offers complimentary travel allowing you to visit South Coast Plaza, Fashion Island and Balboa Island by bus.
We would like to visit Newport Beach again and see more of the surrounding area and we will make a point of staying at the Fairmont.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ailie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,480 - 1,486 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2007

Ok, the title was hokey, but I forgot to write a review about this hotel last year around this time. After traveling to several hotels in the mean time, I have a better idea of what was great, and could have been better. The location was much to be desired. Don't let the title fool you, it is not really as near the beach as other resorts near here, but on the border of Irvine, surrounded by a business center, the 405, and John Wayne Airport. I did get a package through the hotel which was excellent. It included car service to all of the items listed: Kayaking in Newport Harbor, a dinner cruise through Newport Harbor, breakfast both days, complimentary valet parking, and late check out. It was a good deal, but it wasn't quite what I was expecting. The beds were really nice, but the room itself wasn't all that special. The A/C made this really loud noise that would go on and off through the night, and I had to turn it off at certain points. I complained to service and they said they were slowly changing the old units out, and the only thing to do was leave it on constantly. I think I was most disappointed with the pool. It was really small and there was a small menu to order from, in which chips and salsa were $15! If you are not looking to be too close to the beach but enjoy personable staff and a nice hotel, this is a good fit, but if you're looking to be near the beach, you're better off in Huntington or Laguna.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laangelsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We were a little worried when we first booked the hotel as we felt it maybe a little far away from anything but we were really pleased when we arrived. The initial entrance and lobby of the hotel was beautiful what immediately suprised us was the service from the staff. Our 8 night stay was brillant def worth paying extra for the club, beautful breakfast, lovely hors-d-o euvres ! Pool was great and the hotel is really close by to fashion island and all newport sights ! Perfect stay !

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MSW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Myself and a coworker stayed here one night. This property is only a mile or so from Orange County airport with a free shuttle. Even though it is close to the airport, you don't notice the airplanes and the ambiance there feels like a resort. The staff is wonderful and they go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The restaurant has excellent food and the bartender makes great drinks. The outdoor pool on the 3rd floor is surrounded by cabanas that you can rent resonably. I didn't try the spa, but did a tour and it looked wonderful.
The valet parking is very quick.
They have alot of meeting space with outdoor area's also.
The rooms have all amenities and are very comfortable and you don't hear your neighbors.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank christy2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2007

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Risket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

Stayed: July 2007
7  Thank bitnibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dn4whtvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,718 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel
Fashion Island Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel Newport Beach
Carlton Hotel Newport Beach
#12 of 18 in Newport Beach
752 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $118 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing