We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Price makes it worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newport Channel Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is more like a motor hotel, with clean rooms and friendly service. The rooms are a good size, definitely not too small. The location to the beach and a few restaurants is perfect. The surrounding neighborhood is a little funky, but Cappy's next door is a fun friendly place to eat, with really good food. In fact, we had breakfast there 3 days in a row! If you are going with a group, the roof deck is a great place to meet up, look at the beach houses across the street, and watch the world go by. If you are looking for plush and room decks, this is not the place to stay. But if you are looking for location and low key, this place is for you.
**There is a park right next door if you are travelling with small children.

Room Tip: Try not to be on the street side--it is quieter in the back
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Newport Channel Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 331 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

This "inn" is a motel, complete with rooms bordering the parking lot. There was a lot of noise from the parking lot as well as the highway. The rooms are ok. The proximity to the beach is what you are paying for. Although it is nice that they supply beach towels and boogie boards and you can easily walk to the beach, parking does not seem to be too difficult and next time I plan on staying at a nicer hotel farther from the beach and just driving there. There is also so much else to do in that area that although we were travelling with kids we actually only spent one or two days at the beach during our whole week there. Also really missed having breakfast included. The restaurant that is across the way, Cappy's is VERY crowded and noisy and not a relaxed place to wake up to. The bicycle rental place right next door is run by a very nice guy and I recommend renting bikes and cycling along the beach. I felt that Newport channel inn is more suited to young single travelers than families or older travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Seeing as this is identified as the best value in Newport, I had some expectations. Whenever the owner answers the phone or you talk to him......he is fantastic, helpful beyond measure and very kind. The kids he has working for him seem bothered if you ask questions and certainly arent going out of their way to help you, and God forbid they ever smile.Over the phone they were very helpful but the messy haired guy at the desk seemed downright annoyed that we came in the door. Sad, because I dont think that is the thinking of the owner.
The room was clean but they never cleaned our room once we arrived so we didnt get clean towels or coffee for the next day.
The location is great and the rates arent bad. Appalling for someone from the Pacific Northwest but ok for Southern Cali. I think they could make this place much nicer with a couple inexpensive fixes, like take down the 1970s art and the 1980s comforters. Be a little creative with the decor and you could really step this place up.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheechujones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

You can't beat this place for location. You'll wait longer for the light to cross PCH than it takes to actually walk to the beach. You're in close proximity to Cappy's, a great little breakfast joint, and there's a combo mini-mart/liquor store on the way to/from the beach, that has everything you might have forgotten to pack.

The hotel itself seems to beg to be described as "no frills". But then you take a step back, and tally up the frills: Free use of boogie boards and abundant beach towels. Even some beach umbrellas and cruiser bikes. Every room has A/C, a big flat-screen TV, cable, free wi-fi, a refrigerator, and a microwave. The ice machine kicks out the jams for when you're ready to head to the beach, and although parking is tight, there's enough of it. That's a lot of frills for a place that looks no-frills.

If this was the middle of Omaha, it wouldn't rate. But it's a short walk from the beach, and they set you up to enjoy it. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and score a room on the 2nd floor and you won't suffer Dancing Elephants Syn...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFE92MFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

For the availability / pricing of this hotel, I was expecting nicer facilities. The decor, bathrooms, etc. are nothing to write home about, but they are definitely clean and reasonable (hence the 4-star rating). I would recommend this hotel for the traveler (single, couple, family) that is looking for a reasonable place to stay - just don't expect the world!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyK873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had prebooked a short stay at the Channel Inn as part of a road trip down the coast of California. It's a small old fashioned motel well located for the beach and the Newport Beach area. The accomodation offered is bsic, we had a two bed room, but the rooms are clean, pretty well equipped and the facilities are good. Our beds were comfortable, we had a microwave, fridge and air conditionning, and all worked well. The young staff on reception were very friendly and welcoming, we were asked if we needed beach chairs and towels, a very nice touch. There is plenty of free parking, and there two or three restaurants right nearby, but we did not use them so I can't comment.We ate at the 'Div' bar down the road, that was excellent and not dear. The motel is a couple of miles from the Balboa Marina area which is excellent area to visit. Good restaurants, boat trip hire, shops etc, lovely.

The inn is located on a very busy main road, but we were not disturbed at all by the noise of it, we were on the second floor. Please be aware that you have to cross this road to get to the beach, but there is a pedestrian crossing 20 yards from the motel entrance so it's not a problem. The beach is absolutely lovely, big long stretch of golden sand and sea that produces some great waves, but can be swum in. The motel served us fine and was good value. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Just be aware of the main road, second floor rooms are better
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfcfan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We always love it when you can find a great place to stay that is owned by a local family (and this one has been in their family for 40 years). We are happy to help keep a small family business going, especially when they are such a friendly family.

This little motel is not fancy, but it is very clean and centrally located. The grounds are well kept. There is a frig, microwave and coffee maker in the room. Most people want to spend their time out and about and at the beach, so this motel is more than adequate for making a good home base.

It is the BEST value you will find anywhere in the Newport Beach area. We were thrilled to find it, as the hotels at the beach in summer can be so overpriced that it makes it nearly impossible to find a decent place to stay affordably.

We will definitely stay here again on our next get-away to Newport Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank We3luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn
1.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 18 in Newport Beach
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,018 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
4.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Channel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Channel Inn

Address: 6030 W. Pacific Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $119 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Newport Channel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Channel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Channel Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Channel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing