We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay...excellent customer service & awesome location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Channel Inn
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Castro Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay...excellent customer service & awesome location!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My sister and I stayed here with my nephews, ages 14 & 18. We stayed near Disneyland for three nights, then stayed at the Channel Inn for two nights so we could be close to the beach. The boys can be a little picky, so they were a little unsure at first. But they ended up LOVING this motel! I had stayed here once before and was very impressed with the location and service. The inn is right across the street from the beach and a short drive down Highway 101 to Huntington Beach. We walked across the highway every day and took a nice walk through the neighborhood and down the beach walk to Newport Pier. We found many interesting shops and restaurants to keep us busy. We also spent a nice afternoon on the beach across the street...very CLEAN and beautiful!! The customer service at The Channel inn is EXCELLENT! At check-in they offer many suggestions and draw things out on a map, so you can get the feel of the lay of the land. Also, they have beach towels, chairs and boogie boards (first come, first served) for the beach. Awesome! We all loved the Big Belly Deli, which is very close, right down the street. We ate in once and got sandwiches go go for the beach, super convenient!! A shopping tip to those with pre-teens and teens: If the kids are interested in surf wear and "younger" style clothing, take them down to Huntington Beach to shop. There are tons of shops in HB to keep them busy! We went to Fashion Island one night, which is very upscale and more suited to a more mature group, IMHO. Not exactly the young teen boy's cup of tea! lol I highly recommend the Newport Channel Inn. We will def be back! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripindicular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    129
    31
    7
    5
See reviews for
119
86
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alta Loma, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed for one night and had a corner room on the 1st floor. When we first entered the room, it smelled funny, like cleaning detergent or probably from the carpet. The smell went away the ff morning or probably our noses got used to it. Room was clean. There is only one sink, no sink inside the bathroom, stall shower, there is a sliding door for privacy between the bed and sink area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildorchid99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The Newport Channel Inn is a beach motel. It is basic but clean and comfortable. The rooms are good. The bathroom and shower are clean. They have parking. There are many restaurants within walking distance.They have a nice deck to sit on. There are refrigerators and microwaves in the room. They have beach towels and umbrellas in the office. It is not fancy but it is a fine place to stay. I think for the area, it is a good value.

Room Tip: I would stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjc_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

did alot of research to find a nice hotel for my hubby's birthday. this was a quaint place within walking distance of the beach. great in january cuz i'm told its less crowded and the weather was very nice. rooms were clean - quiet room and easy parking. staff was very accommodating to us - definitely would stay here again. had a blast - between newport beach and huntington beach so you are not limited to fun in the sun.

Room Tip: room in back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phx, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Very nice, Staff and maid service. Room was good-but we were on the run all the time. Cappys Great breakfast, but pricey. Another place is good just North you can walk. They also have "boogie boards", chairs, besides the towels at the hotel.. You do have to cross Coast H'way(1) and they FLY on that road-just be careful-Granny would not make it!!!. Parking on site. Staff was always cleaning and sweeping grounds. If you want to go to movies it is Edwards Theater chain-VERY nice (but pricey) take Coast H'way SOUTH left on AVACADO movies(3) theaters -about 15 mins away. Movies are accross from Macys big mall there. Balboa pier is much nicer than Newport Pier. Plenty of parking there-you pay though about 1.50 hour- quarters/credit card. I beleive the street is Palm street( (Balboa Pier Parking). . A side note Newport must be making BANK money on parking when you get there you will see. After 6PM parking is free on street

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gringoinphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Just spent a night at the Newport Channel Inn. Coming from someone who is VERY picky about staying in hotels, I booked a room because of all the good reviews it got on here, and I have to say we were not dissapointed. This place is so cute and sooo well kept. First of all the staff is very friendly and very helpful. The rooms are very well kept and clean. The bathroom was so clean, and the price is great! And you get free parking and free wi fi. I have stayed in expensive hotels that don't give you free wi fi. Right accross from the beach. The location was really clean and nicely kept. Very nice neighborhood. There is a cool restaurant next door called Cappy's that has great breakfast and good atmosphere. A short drive away is the ferry to Balboa Island and Balboa Blvd. where there are a lot of restaurants and shops as well as the pier. We will definitley be back.. We are already planning our next rip, since we have now found a great, inexpensive place to stay when we want the beach.

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woomart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

If you want to be close to the beach and don't care about the frill's of a nice hotel then this will do just fine. The staff is friendly and helpful which is why I picked this place. Our room was small and absolutely no frills, but clean which is most important to me. We just wanted to be close to the beach without spending a lot of money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn
1.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
4.2 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,003 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Channel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Channel Inn

Property: Newport Channel Inn
Address: 6030 W. Pacific Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Newport Channel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Channel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Channel Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Channel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing