We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel but full of conferences! Noisy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel but full of conferences! Noisy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here recently for 4 days so we could discover the OC beaches and also visit Disney.

The hotel is obviously an older property that has been pretty'd up on the outside. You can tell by the hotel room, building and the pool area that it's an older property (which is fine).

Pool area is nice and clean. Rooms are a bit on the small side.

Here are my gripes:

- The bar next to the main restaurant was so LOUD I couldn't hear myself think. Any particular reason you need FOUR flatscreen TVs blasting noise in a small bar with no carpeting etc is beyond me. I didn't even stay to order a drink.

- This is a big conference hotel. I felt like I was almost in the way half the time of conference delegates racing around from lobby to outside and back.

- The huge central atrium (which all rooms surround) is used for conferences and functions including microphone/speakers/loud music. There's not escape from the noise.

- Biggest gripe: one night they had live music playing until 11pm....OUTSIDE. We couldn't get to sleep until well after midnight as our child was so upset.

I'm all for live music but keep it inside where noise can be contained.

It's a nice hotel but it's nothing amazing. Proximity to Fashion Island is obviously a plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneygirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your Orange County & Disney vacation! I am glad you were pleased with our location and got to enjoy the pool. It’s one of my favorite spots on property to enjoy this fantastic summer weather! Like most hotels in the area, summer is the most active time of year, and that means we welcome those on vacation as well as those travelling for business. The team works very hard to make sure each individual guest has an exceptional experience, and I am sorry if we failed to provide that for you. The music should not have played past 10pm, so I will take that back to the appropriate departments to make sure we fix that moving forward. I hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    417
    182
    62
    32
See reviews for
190
230
51
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Not sure where to start! Have been a repeat customer at this location for years! We came for a personal family trip. Checked in for one night before heading to Santa Barbara. We had two rooms. My teenage daughter left 3 new dresses in the closet at checkout. When we came back one night later to the hotel we asked about our daughter's lost dresses. We spoke to management on several different times during our next two night stay to no resolve about the missing dresses. We understand that it was our mistake to leave our personal belongings behind. It is also another issue of trust with the hotel staff. We had several issues at this hotel in addition to missing items...another with the elevator being broken, another with our room not cleaned during our stay. We will never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Be sure to use the safe for any belongings you care about or want to return home with
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrojanGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I am very disappointed to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay last week. I regret that any guest would feel this way about our hotel’s staff, as I have the utmost confidence in our associates’ integrity and honesty. I know you have been in contact with our Director of Rooms Operations and Loss Prevention, and I am also more than happy to speak with you should you like to discuss the matter further. Please contact the hotel and ask for me personally. I do not take your loyalty to our hotel lightly and hope we can find a way to regain your trust so that you can continue staying at our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

After being told that the "ocean view" room we reserved was not available and the hotel would not make an adjustment in the cost for room without a view (that cost significantly less) we trudged off to find a small room that was not comfortable. One desk chair was the only place to sit. At 3 am two guests started screaming in the hallway and then about 20 minutes later started breaking plates and glasses in the concrete hallway. I know the hotel can't control its guests, but when I stuck my head out the door to make sure that someone wasn't being hurt, I was told by a Marriott staffer in a loud, rude voice to "get back inside your room," as if I was the problem! No apology from either the staffer or the security guard that had been summoned. This noise went on for about an hour and we were not able to get back to sleep at all. When I spoke with the front desk personnel later that morning hoping to at least get an apology if not an adjustment to the bill for a less than restful night, all I got was, "Oh yeah, I heard about that [incident].

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
First, I would like to apologize for the unpleasant stay you had at our hotel recently. It sounds like your problems began with check-in and continued throughout. That is certainly not reflective of our high standards of service and guest experience. I would like to personally connect with you to discuss your stay in further detail. Please call my office at (949) 729-3522. Thank you for your feedback and I hope we will be able to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The front desk staff, bell staff and wait staff, along with anyone else you encountered who worked at this hotel, provided superior, friendly and helpful service. I was there for a business meeting so the location was not particularly relevant. We had catered meals by the hotel for two lunches and one dinner. All were served in style and in lovely surroundings.

The room and bathroom were updated and the mattress quite comfortable.

The only item marring my stay was some sort of electronic "chirping" in my room at odd and obnoxious hours of the night. I mentioned to the hotel staff and they changed the battery in the smoke detector but it still went off the last night at 4:30 a.m. I'm not sure what the source is but for a light sleeper, it is a problem.

The only other item that prevents a five star rating is the common practice among these types of hotels for charging you very high prices for what business travelers require, i.e. internet service and copies. I refuse to give a 5 star in protest of this practice.

But the staff was lovely.

Room Tip: My room was quiet except for the obnoxious chirping noise. Room 430
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debosears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments surrounding your recent stay and meeting experience. I am thrilled you enjoyed the newly-renovated guest rooms and took special notice of the exceptional staff service. We take great pride in providing warm and friendly service in every department, and I will be sure to share your feedback with everyone! It also makes me very happy to see how much you enjoyed the meal functions at your meeting, as I feel it is another area that sets us apart from other hotels. Lastly, we will inspect your room to make sure everything is working properly moving forward. I hope we get to welcome you back next time you are in Newport Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a tired property that only has fashion island to save it. The location is OK but there are better ones in Southern California, This hotel is kind of confused as it is not a pure business hotel, not a really good location for a meeting, not romantic enough for couples and not really above average in any aspect. I have been here before and if it was not a Mariott I would not stay here as I get gold benefits, I complained about the bed and they did NOTHING and ended up with back pain. Glad to check out and would never come back. Held a meeting here 56 years ago and I swear it is the same bed. Just a terrible place that could be so much better.

Room Tip: don't go here if you have any choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to see you did not your stay at our hotel. We take great pride in providing exceptional service and comfortable accommodations for our guests, and I regret that we did not meet your expectations. Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss your experience in further detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a short 3 day conference which was very well run by the hotel. They provided great meals and snacks as well as excellent service around the hotel. The rooms were comfortable and well maintained allowing for a good night's rest.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PharmaRep3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and the great feedback about your stay with us. Our staff strives to exceed our guests’ expectations and we’ll be sure to let them know you enjoyed their hospitality. It’s nice to hear that you had an enjoyable conference. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Fresno!

Julee May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas Valley
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

For the area, this hotel had lots to offer my family of 4. (my wife, our too young daughters, and me)

The location and close proximity to the Fashion Island Mall gives you tons of dining options, not to mention the SHOPPING. You're less than a 5 minutes away from Balboa Island, 10 minutes to the Newport Beach peninsula, and only 15 minutes to Huntington Beach.

This hotel gives lots of options for dining and recreation in the area. Two swimming pools for guests and an additional, smaller pool for those using the hotel's spa services. If you have younger children, check out the smaller swimming pool, which gets as shallow as 2 feet.

There is a Starbuck's just off of the main lobby, with super-friendly staff.
Lots of areas to sit and relax throughout the hotel property. A few spots even have ocean views.

The room was great! Just enough room for the four of us. Even the roll-away bed was comfortable enough for my 5-year old to fall right asleep. The golf course to the rear of the proterty just about guarantees a quieter environment than most other hotels in the area can offer. The toiletries provided were a nice touch.

Parking? Not horrible. If your room is in the main tower, it's a bit of a walk. The $25 per night hurts a little, but there are 4 underground parking levels for hotel guests, which is really nice for the summer months. $25 a night is about average for the area, so it's not all bad.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cube44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
2.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 900 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6206
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the unparalleled beauty and relaxed luxury of Newport Beach comes an inventive new concept in hospitality - and a whole new take on the Southern California lifestyle. Welcome to the $75 million redesign of the Newport Beach Marriott Hotel and Spa, where you'll find your most ambitious visions realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel And Spa
Marriott Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing