We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and convenient location ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great service and convenient location ”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located an hour and a half from LA and San Diego. It was in a great location for us to drive and visit Santa Monica, Anaheim, and Hollywood while staying there.

The staff was awesome especially the valet guys however I wish we were not required to pay for parking.


Pool and services were great to and it is located right next to a mall with many restaurants.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Aaron,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. I’m glad you were happy with our location and property amenities. We also appreciate the kind comments about the staff and will be sure to give special recognition to our valet team. We hope you will stay with us next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    444
    190
    61
    35
See reviews for
200
249
57
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
145 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Had an enjoyable five night stay at the Marriott.

Was surprised by how large the property is. The hotel is spread out with several pools. I had a room that overlooked the golf course, Balboa Island and the ocean. Room was comfortable and was able to sleep with the doors open letting the cool June breeze in. Enjoyed getting up in the morning to see the golf course staff mowing the lawn with their border collies.

As a Marriott Elite member, I had access to the lounge. There was a nice breakfast spread and evening happy hour. There was an honor bar for alcohol.

The hotel is adjacent to Fashion Island with numerous shopping and dining options. For walkers, you can easily walk to the beaches, shops and restaurants of Corona del Mar and Balboa Island.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKHNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
It is wonderful to see how much you enjoyed your stay and the entire property. The golf course and ocean views from our guest rooms are unlike any other in the area! We appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and for allowing us to provide you with a Brilliant experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Pros : Good location, good value for money (especially if you use AAA discount ).
Cons :Small rooms. Pools aren't very tidy or big, $25 parking, Restrooms in the main lobby were very dirty.

Not the hotel you would want to be in for those special moments. If you are going to be mostly away and barely spend time in the hotel, this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishnaprasad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I’m glad you were satisfied with our location and the value you received for the price paid. But I’m very disappointed to hear about the issues you experienced with cleanliness, and apologize for the negative effect it had on your entire stay. We hold ourselves to the highest standards when it comes to cleanliness and what you have described is not acceptable. I will speak with the appropriate departments and make sure it is corrected moving forward into the Summer season. We want to be the hotel at which people want to celebrate those special occasions, so thank you for providing us the feedback on which we can learn and improve. If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail, please feel free to call me directly. We want to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the excellent experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
354 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I got a AAA rate of $143 and that made the stay ok. Service was typical Marriott with everyone freindly and helpful. The hotel is spread out for its room count, but the walk from the parking lot to our room on the other side of the hotel wasn't awful. Parking was crowded and $25 a night but there are three levels down so just keep decending and I am sure you will find a place. The beds were super comfy...just don't try to sleep with two people in a double bed. There are no queen bed double rooms and with the fluffy doubles pulling you into the middle there is only the "edge" to sleep on for one of you, unless you sleep well cuddled together, and that just isn't how my wife sleeps. Worst sleep night of my trip. We stayed there so we were within walking distance of Fashion Island and Balboa so that while we were away the kids could get to the coast. In room wifi is $13-17 and is free in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougTMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing about your recent experience on TripAdvisor. We value all guest comments and appreciate the time you took to provide such detailed feedback. I’m very happy to hear you were pleased with our service, our central location within Newport and found the beds comfortable. Those are just a few of the things I think make our hotel a great choice for travelers! However, I am sorry you did not get a good night’s sleep. No matter how great everything else is, I see how it can put a damper on your total experience. I hope you will stay with us again in the future. And if at any time during your stay there is anything we can do to make it more comfortable and enjoyable, please let any one of our Brilliant hosts know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here for two nights to attend a meeting and found it to be a pleasant stay with excellent service. The lady who checked me in, a "Linette" was extremely down to earth, professional, and fun to talk to; she took care of me and helped me settle in even though I arrived late and after most eating options were closed.

The king size bed was heavenly, and the room nicely appointed including a beautiful shower and plenty of room in the bathroom and room was a nice size as well. Plenty of storage, a refrigerator and a safe to lock your valuables when you are out of the room.

For a premium hotel I was surprised that the toilet did not function optimally...you had to really push the lever to get it to flush. Also, while the shower itself was beautiful, it did not drain well at all....I showered in almost ankle deep water. Lots of construction outside of my window which obscured the view of the next door golf course and which caused a good deal of noise.

Nevertheless, very happy with the hotel: 1) meals provided for our meeting were quite delicious and nutritionally balanced; 2) the coffee, most likely Star$ was pretty darn good; 3) the work out center had a nice variety of Life Fitness aerobic machines; 4) the Starbucks inside the hotel was a pleasant place to do some work as I waited for my taxi trip to John Wayne Airport. Not a perfect place, but solid and located across from an outdoor shopping mall which is great for shopaholics.....not my thing....but nice for those who enjoy Nordstrom, Macy's and other high end places. Oh....and there was a Whole Foods market in that mall as well.

Room Tip: Lots of construction on the North side of the hotel, ask for a room on the South side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Have stayed here three times for the Newport Beach Jazz Party. Beautiful room overlooking pool, golf course and sea side in distance. Staff friendly, informed and helpful. Near the fashion mall and a variety of restaurants in addition to the very good restaurants in the hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EugeneLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
410 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed at the hotel on a recent business trip. While certainly not a new hotel, it is in good condition with quiet, comfortable rooms. Had a very nice suite overlooking Balboa Island and the Pacific. Convenient to Fashion Island and its restaurants. Staff some of the friendliest and most helpful I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazeracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 900 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the unparalleled beauty and relaxed luxury of Newport Beach comes an inventive new concept in hospitality - and a whole new take on the Southern California lifestyle. Welcome to the $75 million redesign of the Newport Beach Marriott Hotel and Spa, where you'll find your most ambitious visions realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel And Spa
Marriott Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing