We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Conferences, not so much for family vacations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
218 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great for Conferences, not so much for family vacations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here recently with my family and while Marriott always has a great property this was not the best hotel for a family stay. We were in several nice rooms at the tower located at the far end of the conference center. While the long walk may have been therapeutic, it certainly was not great for grandkids who had to negotiate the hordes of convention attendees.

We were moved to the tower just behind the front desk which is much better. Had a great beach view in both areas. We found the service to be good, location is great.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with you family ask for the Harbor tower and request an Ocean view. We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    439
    189
    61
    35
See reviews for
196
246
57
451
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed here for a week for business. Great staff, wonderful breakfast buffet. I also ordered room service a few times and enjoyed the omelets I ordered. My only complaint is that I didn't have a bath tub.; I like taking long baths to relax when dealing with clients. I'm usually too busy to use spa facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lhernand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Between three false fire alarms which were not properly communicated to guests, this experience was worst than anything I have been through before. It was my daughter's birthday and she brought three friends, I was embarrassed to show them this disgusting hotel. The lack of restaurants was horrible. If you wanted breakfast for 1 person good luck paying $20 for a buffet. The pool closed at 10 and the poolside service was just awful. You had to go up to the bar even if you wanted just plain water. Do not visit this disgusting hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuckles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I get away for a few days to Newport Beach frequently. We stay at the Balboa Bay Resort, which is 5 stars all around.

This time we decided to try this Marriott in Newport Beach. What a disappointment! Management of this Marriott needs to learn a lot from the management of the Balboa Bay Resort.

This Marriott, pardon my being blunt, is cheap in terms of toiletries. Staff has an attitude, and they don't handle problems well. On Friday night there was a party of some sort a couple of rooms away from us. People were extremely loud, slaming doors, laughing in the hallway - you get the picture.
It all began around 12:30 AM. I had to call the front desk. It took them approximately two hours to resolve the problem with the overly loud guests.

Our night was ruined - we did not get any sleep that Friday night. In the morning, on the doorhandle of our room, there was a cookie-cutter printed apology from the management for our inconvenience, with a free voucher for one free beverage at the hotel's Starbucks.
My wife and I don't need a beverage donation from the hotel if we can afford to pay over $300 per night. We need excellent service. Our stay was less than pleasant, to say the least...

We will stick with the Balboa Bay Resort in Newport Beach - they know the meaning of happy guests, excellent customer service, and excellent housekeeping procedures.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GIB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for our staycation. No regrets.

It is a bit pricey for a budget traveler. But service and location justifies the cost.

It is right across from the mall named Fashion Island where there is a theater, a bunch of good quality stores, and a variety of dining choices.

It is very close to the Balboa Peninsula where you can find quaint island themed stores and restaurants. Very difficult to find parking though ( in Balboa Peninsula), so we didn't get to stroll, just drove around.

It is a short distance from the beautiful Laguna Beach, an artsy eclectic laid back town.

Service at the hotel is wonderful. Everyone greets you with a smile. They have nice water containers through out the property where you can help yourself to cold lemon water. Nice touch.

Public areas are clean and beautifully decorated. Pool has a shallow and deep part, up to 8 feet. I just thought I'd mention that since I'd been to very few hotels which offer a deep pool. There is a bar poolside, but not always open. I ended up ordering my maitai from the server the restaurant sent over and ended up paying a 20% room service fee to the already overpriced cocktail. I paid a whopping $15.00 total. But what the heck, I was on vacation after all.

I mentioned the restaurant so I'm going to say something about it. It is called Sam and Harry's. Overpriced for underseasoned food.

Rooms are spacious, clean, nicely decorated and I believe all have a wonderful view. Bed is comfortable. (Though I had a bed from a previous stay where the down feathers were poking me.) Great water pressure in the shower. I just loved showering there, I was thouroughly drenched.

Parking will cost you $28.00 a night for valet and $21.00 for self. I have to mention the parking attendant, I never met a friendlier and happier parking attendant ever.

Hotel has a spa. Unfortunately I didn't get to experience it. Again, I thought it was expensive. Next time I will when I skip Sam and Harry's.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would consider returning.

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank experiencecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

First, the customer service was beyond 5-star. From the valet, to the concierge, to Front Desk Staff, everyone went out of their way to greet me and remember my name. My room was very nice, bedding was very comfortable. The downside - it's expensive. Valet is $28/night, self-park is $21. Wi-fi costs $12 per day, and I found it to be very slow and unreliable during my stay. I spent a few hours at the quiet pool, but the Sand Bar wasn't open and there wasn't an attendant, so I wasn't able to order any drinks or food. The Sand Bar opened around 1pm, and once I did order food it was good (but very expensive!). For as much as I paid for my room, I would have hoped for a free breakfast included. The only breakfast options are the Starbucks or very expensive room service. It is a very nice hotel, but I can't give it four stars because it didn't seem like a good value.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding, no kids.The location could not have been netter, and the views were spectacular. I run almost everywhere I stay, and there were many wonderful places to run nearby, including beautiful Balboa Island and around Back Bay Drive. I didn't spend much time in the room, but the room was comfortable and clean. Everything was what you expect from a Marriott. The staff and concierge were unbelievable. Incredibly helpful, friendly, courteous, and kind. We were all on a first name basis by the end of our 4 day stay. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: I don't ever spend a lot of time sitting in my room, so it was not important to me. We had a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 900 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the unparalleled beauty and relaxed luxury of Newport Beach comes an inventive new concept in hospitality - and a whole new take on the Southern California lifestyle. Welcome to the $75 million redesign of the Newport Beach Marriott Hotel and Spa, where you'll find your most ambitious visions realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel And Spa
Marriott Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing