We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a Surprise in OC!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow! What a Surprise in OC!”
Reviewed July 2, 2008

With a location in OC, I expected this hotel to be surrounded by tall office buildings, which it is. The web site indicated a location adjacent to Fashion Island, but such claims can be misleading so I was pleasantly surprised to find it directly across the street from Bloomingdale's. My total surprise was the view -- from my 9th floor balcony in the main atrium tower, I could see the large pool/bar, a beautiful golf course directly beyond, and the ocean/beach in the distance! I rented a bicycle from the hotel ($26 for half day including helmet and lock) and took the pleasant ride down to the coast and a ferry ($1.25) to Balboa Island. Rooms were recently renovated with LCD TVs, glass showers, and fresh appointments. A free shuttle to John Wayne Airport and the reasonably-priced room service breakfast made this hotel a great value for me. At night, the lobby is full of candles -- a very romantic return from a day of fun. Highly recommended!!

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PhoenixWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    450
    191
    62
    35
See reviews for
204
250
57
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

I attended a conference at the Newport Beach Marriott and stayed there. It's a good choice for a conference hotel - plush surroundings, unctuous staff, lots of pools, expensive-looking spa.

Both the hotel's web site the conference brochure made it look as if the hotel is right on the beach. This is misleading. I walked from the hotel to the beach one day, and it's about a 45-60 minute walk; going back, it's uphill all the way.

Most people will want to take a taxi to Balboa Island, then take the ferry to Balboa Peninsula in order to access the ocean.

Aside from the neighboring ( and enormous) Fashion Mall, there are no businesses anywhere near the hotel, so bring everything you need with you.

If going to a conference, this a great choice. If you're on vacation, you may want to stay closer to the water.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brewbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

My wife and I stayed here after the hotel was awarded our 85 bid. The hotel was great and fit all of our needs. If we returned to the area again for a long weekend, we would not hesitate to stay here again. We found the room to be very comfortable and the staff was more than willing to go the extra mile.

  • Liked — Bed and TV
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank redraidermba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

Stayed here with the kids, wife and a nanny over a 3 day trip in May, 08. Took down a large suite room (bedroom and separate living room) with two connector rooms. Put the baby and his crib in one room, nanny doubled up with the older daughter (sleep over!), we had the master bedroom and kept the living room for playing.

High floor level room in the "Towers", a long walk from the check in stations---sort of a Vegas feel to the walk for a moment (you know, the long walk to any hotel room in a Vegas hotel), but the remodeled rooms actually seemed nice.

Nice view of the harbor and the ocean in the distance, over looking the golf course.

Room service was passably fast and good enough for the weekend (good kid food---pasta, etc---is critical to the success of such a venture).

Pool was large, but didn't use it (weather was unseasonably cold!); if it were hot, looks like it would be a lot of fun AND they have a sand box and a SplashPad! (Floor mounted water jets in a rubber playground area that shoot up at random times) so on a hot weekend, I bet it would be kiddie riot.

Starbuck's coffee snack bar right in the hotel; nice touch for a weary traveler.

Pretty quiet, didn't hear much of anything from other rooms (our baby's crying, that's a different matter).

The last renovation was done, well, a little oddly in places; in our bathroom, the contractor had left the previous shower pipe sticking out of the ceiling, not cut off, not painted---as they installed the new shower pipe in the wall! But the finishes, fabrics and what not were all acceptable to fine; and the beds were comfortable.

Walkable (2 city blocks) to the rather large Fashion Island shopping mall, which has the key young kid attractions of:
1) A carousel!
2) A knick knack synthetic peddler area where toys and Croc Jewels are sold and
3) A wonderful Koi pond with stepping stones that will entertain the children for quite some time as long as you can keep them from falling in it!

Only had one meal in an on-property restaurant and it was certainly competent, if not spectacular.

This is an entirely competent convention hotel, 4 stars--not more---but 4 stars. We'd stay there again for a weekend trip to see our friends in Southern California/Newport Beach---and hope that it was hot, so that the kids could play in the SplashPad and swim in the pool!

  • Liked — Large Suites with the ability to have two connector rooms
  • Disliked — Like everything in Southern California, you are car dependent for going anywhere but Fashion Island
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATravelingFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

My wife and I just returned from 6 days at the Newport Beach Marriott Hotel and Spa and found it very marginal. The building is quite old in appearance. When we got to our room, we found it tolerable, but definitely small by major hotel standards.

My biggest complaint revolved around the category of "Deluxe Ocean View" as designated by the hotel's website. I booked this category expecting a deluxe ocean view as indicated. The hotel needs to strike this verbiage from their website. With a good set of binoculars, you may have been able to see the ocean! This hotel sits way back from the ocean and in spite of a 7th floor room, this was definitely not a "deluxe ocean view." I might have considered it as a partial ocean view, but to charge what I paid for such a limited view was a total scam.

On 3-4 occassions when turning on the sink water in the bathroom, we got an immediate sewer smell. It was short lived, but stil unacceptable.

The hotel does excell in customer service. Everywhere we wen on the grounds, we found the hotal staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Customer Service by staff
  • Disliked — The view designation
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed here as part of a wedding group (the wedding and reception were at the hotel) and there were some great parts of our stay but some disappointments as well.

Excellent:
Most of the employees had top notch customer service and were very friendly. There was a "Welcome Ambassador" who was hanging out in the lobby almost the entire weekend - he knew everyone in our group and was always available to help with anything. This was a really nice touch, especially for a hotel this large.

Complimentary water (flavored with strawberries and mint) and lemonade throughout the hotel - nice touch.

Location is good - lots of restaurants and the Fashion Island mall within walking distance. Beach and other places within a very short drive.

The wedding coordinators were great. In fact, I thought they were even better than at a Four Seasons wedding that I was in.

We ate at Sam and Harry's twice and found it to have excellent service and better than average hotel food.

Needs improvement:
The hotel is basically 3 old motel-like buildings connected by wierd long walkways and hallways. Our room was in the tower and we had to walk past all the ballroom/convention rooms which were usually packed with people and events going on.

Our first room was in the Atruim which has outdoor hallways like a motel. The room was so small it only had a King bed and about 2 feet all the way around it. The front desk was very nice when we requested another room though. FYI - we were told that room numbers ending in '50 are the smallest so you might want to ask for a different room from the beginning.

An 80 year old woman in our group was escorted to her room by a bellman but the elevators had been roped off for a private event (which is wierd anyway) and he told the 80 year old woman he had a hernia so she'd have to carry her own luggage up to the 5th floor! Unbelievable! That is rediculous for so many reasons!

The last morning we had the hotel neighbors from hell next door to us (physical fighting, yelling obscenities, smoking in the room, wandering the hall and harrassing people coming out of their rooms, etc.) and the hotel was very slow in responding. By the time the situation was taken care of, our entire room reeked of cigarette smoke (non-smoking hotel) coming through the vents and we had been up from 6am - 9am dealing with the problem. It took multiple people on our floor making complaints before the hotel sent up security and even then, security did little to put a stop to it. This left us in a bad mood about the hotel as we tried to get out of there as soon as possible the last morning.

Lastly, the people on the phone when you call have no clue so don't take their word about anything! We used the free shuttle to the airport but it makes multiple stops to and from the airport at other Marriott hotels. I wished we had just taken a 5 mile cab ride rather than being driven all over town for 45 minutes! I specifically asked about this when I called and was told there were no other stops. An extra 45 minutes could easily make you miss your flight.

  • Liked — location, good service by some staff
  • Disliked — poor service by some staff members, slow to respond to problems, too many events and large groups
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beachtraveler404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Definitely not a 4 star hotel. Our room was small and cramped. The remodeling effort was shoddy at best complete with a crooked wall, a badly misaligned bathroom door and light coming through the frame of the front door. We also had a burned out light bulb in the bathroom. We will not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank shedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
484 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,522 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 900 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the unparalleled beauty and relaxed luxury of Newport Beach comes an inventive new concept in hospitality - and a whole new take on the Southern California lifestyle. Welcome to the $75 million redesign of the Newport Beach Marriott Hotel and Spa, where you'll find your most ambitious visions realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel And Spa
Marriott Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing