We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but needs New Beds and Pillows in a major way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for 5 days beginning July 2. I was on the club floor. I had a beautiful view of the ocean and nice room. The hotel overall is very nice but the beds and pillows are not comfortable. I was wishing for a Westin heavenly bed the entire time I stayed there. Also, please note that even though we were on a club floor (paying for a club room) the club room is closed from Noon on Friday to 5 PM on Sunday. I find that wierd and having to pay for my wine or drinks on top of the room cost for a drink in the club room was not the norm for a hotel of this caliber. Also when stepping off the elevator on the club floor I found the smell to not be pleasant. Very institutional smelling like a hosptial. I did use the SPA and enjoyed my services. The hotel pool is beautiful as well. Room service was quick too. All in all a nice stay but I will look someowhere else next time for two reasons - club room services and beds were not comfortable. This is a shame because this was my first of many trips to Newport due to business.

Room Tip: Enjoyed our ocean view room in the Pacific Tower on 12th Floor but it is a hike from the lobby so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Legal_Lady_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Newport Beach Marriott Hotel and Spa a few times now and each time is as good as the last....which was great. The staff is incredible. I have to give a shout out to Alex (one of the managers) who has come through for me time and time again and ALWAYS makes my stay a fantastic one. I also have to thank the front desk Crystal who is a sweetheart and sent up chocolate covered strawberries because she knew it was my bday along with a card. How great is that???

Due to the customer service, GREAT ocean views, and overall pleasantness of the hotel/grounds, it's the only hotel I will stay at in the Newport Area.

Thank you to Alex and Crystal again. You both make my stay the best and its appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoso68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I wanted a nice weekend anniversary and boy was I disappointed! The property is located in a very nice area, has a charming lobby and staff. But o boy is this property outdated it reminds me of an old Inn, not a Marriott Property! the rooms smell, the furniture is falling apart! the ocean view is very deceiving because I was at the 11th floor and could not see the ocean. On top of it I could not open the window because the AC noise was unbearable (I was on the 11th floor)! The pool area is also in need of major touch ups! Not up to par! BTW the pricing for TV on demand is beyond outrageous $17.99-$19.99 per movie!!!

Room Tip: I really cannot recommend anyone to stay at a regular room. The AC noise is unbearable (Even Though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrCaliAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott Newport Beach & Spa for three nights this past long weekend.

The hotel has three main buildings/towers, one which is located above the lobby/restaurant etc. and another tower to the right and what appears to be the older/oldest mid-rise behind the main pool.

I stayed in the mid-rise, pool view with balcony. Nice part about mid-rise is its closest to parking lot, outdoor walkway so it's nice and airy. Can get a bit louder due to no carpet/noise absorption, but didn't encounter any issues with that. Room was nice, small but fine for being in California, had a walk in shower which is always a plus. Pool view with balcony was great to relax and take in the pool/sun, and views of golf course and ocean (depending on room location). I was in 388 which was a perfect pool view. It IS an older property, if you're hoping for modern lux - not the right choice, but cozy and quaint as designed.

The mid-rise side has it's own smaller pool area, nicely maintained and quiet if you want less "busy-ness", but the "spa" pool off the spa area is the quietest, no kids and was pretty laid back from what I saw.

The property is right across from Fashion Island mall, everything you might want for shopping and dining is walkable across street, including a Whole Foods. Movie theater is also walkable up the circle.. The rest of the area is commercial and residential..

The beach/Balboa peninsula is about a nice 15 minute car ride, if you're planning to hit up the beach - GO EARLY, like most California areas, parking is a premium and the beach fills up by 9:00 am, parking after that is tough.. Most meters are MAX 1 hour, so you'll be plugging the meter quite a bit, some take credit cards, others cash and/or pay by phone which is nice - never used but sounds good..

Everyone at hotel was nice and friendly, didn't really eat much at hotel, so can't comment much on that - it is a resort type property so plenty of families and kids, keep that in mind but plenty of pool options to avoid having kids running around screaming if that's not your thing..

Overall a great property and I'd easily stay again or recommend for visitors to OC.

Room Tip: Mid-rise section room 388 is great pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigTex18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. The conference accommodations were very nice - good meeting space, although it was a bit confusing with the layout. For the price we paid for the room, however, I was a bit disappointed. They had great bath supplies, but the room was small and noisy (we were on the back side and kept hearing garden carts going by). Nice location across from Fashion Island, if you're looking for shopping/restaurants to walk to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davismamawolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I just checked in for an extended stay. Im in the room at the conference tower. Its definately tired and needs an update. I was in a courtyard last night at San Diego airport that blows this place away. Great lobby but old shabby rooms and furniture.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oceanview100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Checked in today for what is supposed to be a mini baby moon. Knowing it's a holiday weekend, I called before booking to ask if there are separate adult and kid pools, as my husband and I really wanted a last weekend of adult relaxation. I was told that there was a separate kids area at the main pool, and a second pool that was very quiet.

Boy was this not the case. Upon arrival to the main pool area, the "kid's" section was empty, while all of the kids were on the main pool screaming, yelling, and splashing to their heart's content. Additionally, there were no pool beds available - for such a large hotel it was laughable how few beds there were to accommodate guests. And it is not at all the way it is pictured on the hotel's website ~ rather a basic hotel pool far removed from the slick images online. They stuck a few cabanas in that are good for photos but can't imagine shelling out $200 for the day with the lackluster surroundings of this property's pool area and screaming kids.

Went to the 2nd pool (where there is no bar or food service) only to encounter another group of children yelling "Marco Polo" in the pool repeatedly. Like, nonstop. By then I was exhausted after the drive down to Newport being quite preggers and just wanted to lay down to relax. Going into the pool was impossible because the kids were splashing up a storm and had taken over the space. Tried to go to dip my legs in the jacuzzi after the long drive, and the jacuzzi spa wouldn't turn on. Zero peace and quiet as promised at least at this pool, and flat lukewarm water as the only viable option.

Then the rooms ~ while the interior is decent enough, the balcony is still the old bumpy walls one would see in a motel. They basically took the nicest suite in the whole hotel, photoshopped the radiant glow, and used it to represent the hotel. That is definitely NOT the hotel I am in now ~ old, bumpy exterior walls throughout and an average (at best) pool area. The bed is completely creaky ~ every time one person rolls over it wakes up the other.

Waste of a weekend off and what was supposed to be a relaxing stay pre baby. Just wished they would have been honest with me when I asked point blank about the pool/children's pool situation (and more honest about how the place looks on their site) so I could have made a wiser decision about where to stay. Now will have to spend the 2nd day in Newport probably paying to use the pool area of another property.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuxLAlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,030 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#9 of 18 in Newport Beach
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,563 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
3.7 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 900 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $190 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the unparalleled beauty and relaxed luxury of Newport Beach comes an inventive new concept in hospitality - and a whole new take on the Southern California lifestyle. Welcome to the $75 million redesign of the Newport Beach Marriott Hotel and Spa, where you'll find your most ambitious visions realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel And Spa
Marriott Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing