We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice, most recently in March of 2013. It's got all the basics of a good hotel experience: it is clean, comfortable, quiet (at least during my stays), safe. Internet access was okay in terms of speed, for about $12 a day. The staff were nice and helpful, but I didn't need to interact with them much.

The weather when I visited didn't lend itself much to use the pool, but it looked nice.

There is a Sam and Harry's in the premises that you can use for your immediate dining needs.

The hotel has a definite resort-like feel to it, which suffers a bit when you don't have resort-like weather. The feel of the place is a bit cheaper than other Marriott's that don't go for the resort experience.

The hotel also suffers from being in a 'blah' suburban location. The only meaningful place you can walk to is the Fashion Island mall across the street, which tends to have high-end stores, none with a particular local flavor (e.g., you won't find any UC Irvine shirts there).

Room Tip: You will get nicer views in rooms higher up, especially if you get to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Incredibly friendly service….staff could not be more accommodating, friendly and outgoing. These people really make you feel welcome and that they have your interests at heart. A model of perfection when it comes to taking care of customers!

The physical plant, however, is mediocre. The furniture and carpet are all in good repair and everything is clean and neat. It is just that this property has that “old and tired” design era problem. Looks like it was built in the 60’s with what is now outdated architecture compared to newer resort hotels.

Room Tip: don't waste money on ocean view......you need binoculars to see the ocean from anywhere on this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davekv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Lovely hotel, great location, fabulous pool area, very comfortable bed as I've come to expect by the Marriott Chain, no complaints with the room and amenities. The only comment I would make is the hotel seemed to lack any real atmosphere, that said it was early January and the hotel was quiet, this would not stop me from revisiting.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Newport Beach Marriott is a great location with easy access to get around and located next to Fashion Island. Stayed as part of a conference. Hotel staff was very help and accommodating. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHTruett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate her birthday weekend and we really enjoyed our stay. We had a few things we wanted to do and see in Orange County so we made the quick drive from Los Angeles and had a great time. The hotel is in a great location and the staff was incredibly nice and welcoming and the room definitely met all of our needs.

We were able to check in around noon and got a nice king room with a few of the golf course and the ocean in the distance. It was a little tricky getting from the lobby to our room but we were given a map and some hand-drawn instructions to our room and we were able to make it there. We didn't have a chance to go swimming or hang out by the pool but on our way to our room got a good view of the pool area on a perfect 80 degree March afternoon and there were plenty of people enjoying the amenities.

The room was comfortable and there was plenty of room for the two of us. The building was a bit older but had been updated nicely and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was standard and there was a small gap in the glass shower that led to some water leaking to the floor but it wasn't much of a big deal. Water pressure was fine.

We were mainly in town to shop and my wife loved that the hotel was right next to Fashion Island. We spent most of the day shopping and had a nice dinner at Fleming's which was located at Fashion Island as well. The hotel is also a very quick 10 minute drive to the beach and we spent some time there as well.

Overall we had a great stay and liked the hotel and loved the location and we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelRinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here and loved everything! The service was impeccable, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was so refreshing & romantic. We stayed here for one week and have never felt more relaxed. We hope to be back again! Thank you to all at the Marriott team!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYerBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just returned from a four day conference here and every single service experienced here was top notch and superb. The entire staff bent over backward to make sure your stay was perfect and it was. Loved the view of the golfcourse and the ocean from our windows. Would definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor facing the golf course and it was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnprofessr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,774 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
3.7 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,585 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 900 Newport Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $210 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the unparalleled beauty and relaxed luxury of Newport Beach comes an inventive new concept in hospitality - Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa. Our hotel in Newport Beach, California is a whole new take on the Southern California lifestyle. Welcome to our $75 million redesign, where you'll find your most ambitious visions realized in a perfect setting near the sands of Newport Beach and beautiful Balboa Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel And Spa
Marriott Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing