We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great location, walking distance from Fashion Island Mall. Not too far from the beach. The service was outstanding. We booked ocean view rooms they were spotless and the beds were comfortable and cozy. The food was great. Close to John Wayne airport.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 832 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Chose this hotel expecting a good experience based on the Marriott name, will not stay there again. When we booked they said parking was included, but when we checked out they charged us $21/day for parking. We asked for extra towels, which never came. One day there were no clean towels at all and two other days we were shorted towels - which was difficult since we went to the beach a few times. The fan in the bathroom didn't work so after a bath or shower the whole room was dripping wet unless we opened the patio door, and then it was hot. The parking lot was on the opposite side of the "resort" from where our room was, and it was a good ten minute walk to the car and back every time we came and went. Called to ask for the parking charges to be reversed, since we were told they were included, and they could find no record of our having bought that room package and were not willing to reverse the charges. So much for the Marriott experience.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the "Pacific Overlook" tower, depending on where you are in it it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This Marriott is not too attractive on the outside (older 60s style) but I wouldn't let that dissuade you -- the inside and he grounds are lovely. The staff is very helpful. The pools are wonderful with very comfortable lounge chairs. The location across from Fashion Island is terrific (5 minute walk). The steak restaurant in the hotel was surprisingly good and we had a lovely table on the deck overlooking the ocean and fire pits below. The bed linens were surprisingly soft (which I rarely find to be true) and there were 2 robes in the room. Two downsides -- our room/bath was quite small (but I didn't see any other rooms so this may have just been an odd configuration since it was at the corner of the building (by the far pool (the one that does not have the kiddie pool/play area)) next to a service closet) but it did have a lovely Juliette balcony for lots of fresh air and parking fees of approx. $22 a day (annoying and seemed unnecessary since the hotel is not in a congested downtown area). I would look for a park/stay rate and stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxNomadTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This stay was probably the worst Marriott stay I've had! If they try to put you in the "Pacific Overlook" just say NO!! It is a good 7-8 minute walk from the Front Desk, plus there is only 1 elevator for this bldg, and you will have to compete with the service staff and the dirty laundry and house keeping carts. This only elevator is really a service evelator. It took 3 tries one time to finally get in a elevator to get to my room, after the long trek from the front desk. There are no stairs nearby either.
This part of the property looks like an old low end motel they plopped in behind the main bldg. I had problem with the door lock, it took 4 treks to the Front Desk to get new keys, the Front Desk clerk just laughed at you! They had to replace the entire door lock. James, in Engineering, and the Restaurant Manager (who just happened by) were the ONLY employees who seemed like they cared! The bad experiences keep going, but you get the point. This Marriott just isn't up to the tankards that I've experienced at other Marriotts.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank mlowder500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

It's a good, solid hotel with nice touches. The lobby is pretty, and they have flavored waters in a decanter, which is refreshingly on a warm day. I didn't find the staff to be overly helpful either at check in or at the Starbucks, but they got the job done.

The room was a good size, and I found the bed and the bedding to be very comfortable. Good size bathroom with nice Bath and Body Works products. As I'm finding to be typical with Marriott, there was no tub and only a shower, but the water pressure was good and I liked the hand held shower head.

The coffee machine was a single cup brewer, and they have actual cream pods and not the dry powder stuff, which I appreciated. Not bad for hotel coffee.

The gym was also a very good size for a hotel gym and had the typical cardio equipment you would expect, most of which was in good working order, but it was on the older side. The area where the weight machines and free weights were kept was cramped and messy. I did love the cold eucalyptus towels they had for post workout.

One of the elevators was out, and the other one was very slow. I ended up walking up 9 flights of stairs out of pure frustration. I suggest a lower floor unless you're interested in one of the sea or golf course views.

The onsite Starbucks was nice. I grabbed some coffee and oatmeal and took them outside on the balcony overlooking the pool. It was a nice place for breakfast and a little cheaper than the hotel fare.

My only complaint is the expensive internet at $13. I don't know why it is, but the more expensive the hotel, the fewer amenities that come with it. Courtyard had free internet, but you get to a place with "Spa" in the title, and there's a surcharge for everything, including parking. That'll also cost you $21 for self-park.

All in all, it's a good, mid-range hotel. Fair value for the price.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the lower floor if you don't want to wait forever for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyanhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nice clean hotel. Great location for the shopping malls. Need a car to get around, pools are ok, the one at the spa is the quietest..... Although they charge you to use by the day. Paid extra for sea views and it looks over the golf course with the sea in the distance, very nice.

Room Tip: Sea view as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a good hotel in a decent area, let down by the spectacularly poor quality bed. Honestly, I can't remember the last time I stayed in a hotel with a mattress that felt this old and worn. It was not comfortable.

Aside from that however, the room was nice, had a decent view, although ocean view was a stretch (I guess you could see the ocean, but only looking over a dingy looking roof). The bathroom especially was really good.

I enjoyed the fitness centre, and while it was a little small, there was a good amount of equipment in there. I could imagine at peak times there being a wait for cardio equipment however.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulMJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel
Fashion Island Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,047 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
2.9 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,587 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 900 Newport Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $170 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the unparalleled beauty and relaxed luxury of Newport Beach comes an inventive new concept in hospitality - Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa. Our hotel in Newport Beach, California is a whole new take on the Southern California lifestyle. Welcome to our $75 million redesign, where you'll find your most ambitious visions realized in a perfect setting near the sands of Newport Beach and beautiful Balboa Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel And Spa
Marriott Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing