We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newport Beach Marriott Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Newport Beach Marriott Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed here as part of a conference last month and while it was fine, it was just average. Most other hotels that I stay in offer some perks to their loyalty club members such as free internet and I was disappointed to have to pay for internet each day. Very convenient to Fashion Island and many restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldwilc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    432
    186
    61
    35
See reviews for
193
241
56
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed here as part of a large group in the spring. It was ok - parts of the property are very nice such as the grounds in the back, with the pool and view of the golf course. The hotel restaurant and bar are just ok. My room was on a low floor and looked out over the rooftop - kept the blinds closed. Overall the hotel was clean, staff was friendly and competent - just nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ny_guy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were in the garden wing, and one had to walk up and down stairs to get to the room. The walk ways were dark and did not look clean. The rooms were a little on the small side, and although quite clean, it needed refurbishing. I expected much more out of a Marriott in an up scale place like fashion island. I did not see the rooms in the tower, but would think that it would be better.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

After a night in Hotels near Disneyland Anaheim this was a refreshing change. We checked in late at night and were surprised by the nice view of the Ocean and the Golf Course. If you are into shopping the Hotel is right across from Fashion Island Mall. The challenge with the rooms is you can only choose between King or two doubles, which does not really work with 4 people. The beds and the quality of the bedding was excellent and clean.Odd little detail the bathroom door is a sliding door and really loud. Do not expect to find a bell boy. The hotel restaurant is good and has good choices.

Room Tip: Get a ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uTravelTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We checked in on 20th. Small, old towels, (3 star hotel has nicer, big fluffy towels) 1 tea bag, awful coffee machine - we called staff about the coffee machine and no one came to assist as promised. When checking out we asked for the bell boy - no one turned up again. And to top it off, I found a big black hair on the shower! Yuck. Also they will charge you $13 per day for painfully slow Internet. Also two out of four treadmills were not working so I missed out.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
247 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

There are two Marriotts in Newport Beach...this one is the Hotel and Spa and it is across from Fashion Island on the East and the beach is about 1 mile away to the West. Rooms offer a nice view of the ocean, and all amenities are available within a 10 minute drive. Rooms have walk in showers and hand held shower nozzels, and are very nice.

There is a spa onsite with all the usual services, and a restaurant, although that is a bit on the pricey side considering the number of other good restaurants within a 10 minute drive.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ODtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

My wife and I spent a night here recently and were very satisfied with the hotel. Our room was very nice and had a great view accross a golf course with the Balboa Bay and the Pacific Ocean in the distance. The staff were great and very friendly. The only downside was that all the parking was valet which meant delay in getting the car and an additional $20 per day in total cost. This seems to be a trend and many Marriott Hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 900 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the unparalleled beauty and relaxed luxury of Newport Beach comes an inventive new concept in hospitality - and a whole new take on the Southern California lifestyle. Welcome to the $75 million redesign of the Newport Beach Marriott Hotel and Spa, where you'll find your most ambitious visions realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel And Spa
Marriott Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing