We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to everything including the sand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Little inn By The Bay
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
1 review
“Close to everything including the sand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

It was a very enjoyable stay. Outside was very appealing. Decor inside very nice. Walking distance to the beach. Room had all the comforts of home. Micro,coffee pot,Fridge,iron and board+blow dryer. Beds comfortable. Complex quiet. Easy to find,parking space for all occupants.patio . Convienece store next door. Donut shop across the street. All you need is right close including the sand. see ya next year. Phil,Moe & Kayla Ann.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sldnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little I, Owner at Little inn By The Bay, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Sidnut,

It is wonderful to hear from you. We renovated our hotel about 2 years ago and it is nice to hear that you like what we have done, inside and out. I'm glad that you like our in-room amenities as well as our proximity to everything else in the area. I am especially grateful of your mention that our hotel is a quiet one, for that is exactly what we are during most times of the week, except Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights when the party scene breaks loose. Thanks for getting the word out there. Keep in touch and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Gita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    41
    25
    14
    44
See reviews for
27
65
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Loved the location of this Hotel and the convenience of being so close to the beach and shopping. It was great being able to get beach cruisers at no additional cost to pedal around on. The room had been newly renovated and was very clean. We enjoyed our visit and will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83Michelle1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little I, Owner at Little inn By The Bay, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear 83Michelle1965,

It fills my heart with joy to see another happy customer take the time out of her busy schedule to let us know how well we are doing. It validates the effort that we put forth in making sure all of our guests get the value of what they pay for when they stay with us. I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for the nice feedback. I hope that you will keep in touch and return to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you want to be near the beach in Newport this is the place for you! They provide cruisers to pedal around the peninsula which are perfect for sightseeing and no hassle of parking. Our room was just big enough. It was clean and new renovated. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. We will definitely stay here the next time we're in Newport!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKK513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little I, Owner at Little inn By The Bay, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear MKK513,

Thank so much you for your very kind comments. I knew at the outset that the beach cruisers would be a boon for us! Did you also use our complimentary boogie boards, beach chairs and umbrellas? I am glad that you liked the aesthetics of our newly renovated rooms. I am twice happy that our staff treated you well, not that I expected anything less in that regard. We cannot wait for you to return to visit us again.

Sincerely,
Gita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Bear in mind that this is not the Ritz so expectations need to be in line. For a decent rate, I was happy with the room. We stayed in room 16 which has a king size bed. Room is very small but clean and in between the buildings so that may have helped with the noise problem. It backs up to a busy road but you have to keep in mind that the beach is a busy, crowded area and if you aren't willing to pay sky high prices for luxury than this place should suite your needs. Location was great, close to pier, etc. McDonalds across the street which was good for our kids. We were there for one night, on a Sunday so that probably also helped with the noise. I am a freak about bed bugs and we check every room we stay in...lift mattress, etc looking for signs of a problem and we found NO problems. I would recommend they install towel rack in bathroom. Would stay again but get a larger room next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the liquor store. Room 16 has a king size bed and in between buildings so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBunny_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little I, Owner at Little inn By The Bay, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Miss Bunny_13,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. True, we are not the Ritz-Carlton but we do try to provide decent rooms for the price that we charge. We are centrally located, you'd never have to walk far to get decent food or drinks or enjoy the beach. On a more personal note, I cannot begin to express my gratitude to you for having validated the fact that our establishment is completely free of bugs as had been previously alleged. We have been looked over, top to bottom, by the Orange County Public Health Services and passed that with flying colors. Again, thanks a million for that. As for the towel hooks in the bathrooms, that is definitely in the drawing board. It will happen as we continue to look for ways to make our guests' stay more comfortable. The next time you are in town, give us a buzz.

Sincerely,
Gita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I'm japanese,so i'm sorry poor English.
I stayed hermosa beach room.
I felt good front man.
He is very kindness.
I'll stay this october.
So,I'll book your hotel soon.
Thanks a lot!
see you soon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCCHIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little I, Owner at Little inn By The Bay, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear CCCHIE,

Thank you for taking the time to give us wonderful feed back. I am happy to hear that our staff treated you very well. We here at The Little Inn by the Bay do our best to make our guests feel welcome and have a wonderful stay. We are looking forward to your next visit. Once again, thanks for the kind comments.

Sincerely,
Gita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Little inn by the bay reminds me of if you have crazy friends that you only visit because they live by the ocean and you're staying in their crazy guest room. The customer service was not great. The room itself was musty with a broken shower. If you are a light sleeper, avoid this place. The noise didn't bother me, but I can sleep through anything. Lots of channels on the TV, so if tv is your thing, then it's great. The location is pretty awesome. Walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and great bars. That was the best part of the stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 598Storm598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little I, Owner at Little inn By The Bay, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear 598Storm598,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feed back. I apologize for the condition of the shower in your room during your stay. It must have been one of those days. Please know that all of our rooms are newly renovated and that we do have a maintenance person available 24/7 in case of emergencies. Rest assured that the condition of the shower in the room you were in has been rectified. Additionally, our hotel is centrally located and by that I mean we are within walking distance to many watering holes and restaurants in the area. That is the main contributing factor to the noise you were speaking of, especially during Friday and Saturday nights. I hope that you understand that that is something beyond our control. We are all looking forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This Inn is in a great location, and was recently remodeled. The rooms are quaint and stocked with a small refrigerator, coffee maker, and nicely decorated. Excellent for the price. Would stay again. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little I, Owner at Little inn By The Bay, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Nitz19,

Thank you for your great feed back. We at The Little Inn by the Bay strive to provide our guests service and accommodations to make very memorable stays. Please tell your family and friends about us. We are not Newport Beach's little secret anymore! We are looking forward to your next visit.

Gita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.4 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little inn By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little inn By The Bay

Property: Little inn By The Bay
Address: 2627 Newport Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-3719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Little inn By The Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Inn has recently renovated its entire property to provide the utmost comfort to its guests. As a visitor, you may have already explored many lodging options in Newport Beach, but when you go out with your friends and/or family, you deserve the best place to stay with the most convenient location. Our humble staff is enthusiastic to help you plan your vacation. Little Inn by the Bay is always one step ahead in satisfying its visitors, by offering them best accommodations in Newport Beach, even as the most inexpensive hotel on Balboa Peninsula. Little Inn by the Bay offers complimentary Wi-Fi, Wired Internet Access, Parking, Bicycles, Beach Equipment upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little inn By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Hotel Newport Beach
Little Hotel By The Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing