We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a place you would hang out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Little inn By The Bay
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Our room on the first floor was renovated and nicely decorated with fine linen etc
it was however dark and at night noisy with traffic and loud groups of people partying in the local bars
no out or in door space to relax
we will not return

Room Tip: walking distance to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bess32355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleInn11, Manager at Little inn By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our remodeled rooms. Little Inn by The Bay is surrounded by local restaurants and bars therefore it is difficult to control people who are not our guest. It is unfortunate you could not find our outdoor patio which is located on the north side of our building off of Newport Blvd. and 28th St. and it faces 28th St. We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay, please accept our most sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 159 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

We booked a room with high expectations, none of which were met.

The room size was small to the point of discomfort. The bathroom was so small that you couldn't use the toilet without the lavatory being right in your face. The shower door could not be opened all the way. There were no soap dishes in the shower, nor towel racks to hang a wet towel.

They refuse to answer their office phone. We called twice for service, the first time we let the phone ring about 10 times. We ended up having to ball the 800 number to get an answer, and, when asked, the desk clerk said the phone was broken. The second we called we let it ring 8 times, hung up, dialed again and let it ring another 8 times. When I went down to talk to the clerk in person, she said that she tired to answer but the ringing had stopped by the time she reached the phone. Not that the phone was broken.

The place was VERY noisy. There is a translucent window in the door with a bright light just outside that shines all night long and no way to turn it off.

We were very disappointed and will know better next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaosRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleInn11, Manager at Little inn By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

We appreciate your feedback it always helps our service improve. Some of our rooms are a bit smaller than others, but if you decide to stay with us we would like to accommodate you in one of our more spacious rooms so that you can see that all of our rooms are different sizes.

We apologize if you could not find soap dishes and towel racks during your stay, but we have already made sure that all these things you have brought to our attention have been fixed. All of our rooms now have shampoo and body wash dispensers as well as liquid hand soap near the sink and the shower door now has two hooks to hang your wet towels.

We would like to remind you that we only have one staff member in the office that handles not only calls, but that also has to deal with maintenance issues since our maintenance employee is not on site. Perhaps during your stay another guest needed extra towels or pillows, we try to satisfy and accommodate all of our guests, for this reason sometimes it is hard to answer all phone calls.

Unfortunately we can not do anything regarding noise, may we remind you that our hotel is located off of a major street. However, when our guests get loud we let them know that we do have other guest in the building. If you would like to come during a quieter time of the year we recommend October-February which are our off season months. All hotels have lights along the hallways for security reasons, I would like to apologize if our security lights bothered you.

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking your time in rating our Inn. We hope that in the future we are able to better accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I left my laptop in my room and walked up the street to get breakfast. I told the front desk I did NOT need my room cleaned and I left the "DO NOT DISTURB" sign on.
When I got back, my door was slightly opened and I discovered 2 of the front desk people in my room. When I asked them why are they in my room when I specifically said I dont need my room cleaned, they replied "Oh, we're not cleaning your room, we are checking the iron and ironing board." Their accent was very thick middle eastern and hard to understand and their attitude was dismissive and disrespectful. I cant believe they dont respect privacy. They could have waited until I checked out to check their ironing boards and to respect the "Do Not Disturb" sign.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SBau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleInn11, Manager at Little inn By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

We are extremely sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay. Please accept our sincere apology for all the inconvenience s that happened during your stay, we can assure you that the things you have brought to our attention will have immediate correction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

stayed for 2 nights in 2 different rooms. first room was 2 full beds. small room with very tight bathroom. they just remodeled it, very nice room but again tight tight bathroom. no breakfast like they mention on the website. second room was 2 queens beds, room spacious bath room is bigger than the first night, good size bathroom. it was the corner room on the second floor. 2 rooms come with the good size fridge and microwave, coffee make which we didnt' try to use. all the stuffs are really new cos of the remodeled they'll hold $100 from your credit card which i don't mind that much but very bother me about the free breakfast. it sucks when you expect it as they said on the website and don't get it. they got free beach chairs, first come first serve. beach towel at the front desk if you need it. restaurant within 10 minutes walk, good location. not a surf location cos too many swimmer on the beach. have to go to 7th street or 60th st. front desk always sleep the room next to the front desk so you have to always ring the bell. overall good but lower than expectation.

Room Tip: corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FaySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleInn11, Manager at Little inn By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Thank you for allowing Little Inn by the Bay in accommodating you on your visit to Newport Beach. It was our pleasure to have had you here and we thank you for taking your time to review our Inn. We apologize for no longer serving breakfast, our website does mention complimentary breakfast, however we are also is also working on establishing a new website with all the updated photos and information on our hotel. We hope you were able to enjoy our complimentary beach chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas, beach toys, and bikes.

We hope that you enjoyed Newport Beach's outstanding restaurants which are in fact a couple minutes away from our Inn. We appreciate your feedback and hope to accommodate you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We picked "The Little Inn by the Bay" primarily for its location and value. When we arrived we were able to check in early (good) and went to our room which we found had been newly remodeled (very nicely done). The renovation was done well, however, since the location is just off Newport Blvd there is a lot of street noise, and on the weekends there are a lot of people passing by who can be quite loud. Being on the coast you'd think that AC wouldn't be needed, but due to the external noise the windows needed to be closed and AC was required. Well it doesn't seem that the units were updated as ours was quite loud. So loud that we couldn't sleep with it on. The bathrooms were nicely finished but the hot and cold water lines were reversed. Soap, shampoo and body lotion were provided but no hair conditioner was available.
The bed mattress was very comfortable and brand new, however, the plastic had not been removed and while this meant that we didn't have to worry about bed bugs it was a little noisy and warm to sleep with.
The staff was quite pleasant, they have beach chairs and towels available for guest use although the towels were smaller than those provided for room use. Beach cruisers (3) are available for guest as well, a nice touch.
Finally, we were informed at check-in that a $50 deposit would be charged to our account refundable after check out and was in the event any damage to the room occurred - "due to the recent remodel" we were told. At checkout we were told the deposit would be returned.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Semueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleInn11, Manager at Little inn By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

We are extremely pleased to hear that you found our remodeled rooms to your liking. We are sorry to hear that you had problems with your air conditioner during your stay with us. We have made sure that all our air conditioners are running well and we thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We have recently bought new covers for all our mattresses so that bed bugs and noise won't be a problem for guest. We now have 10 bikes available for valued guest to use free of charge. Thank you valued guest for your feedback it helps our Inn strive for better customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The little inn by the bay was a wonderful get a way. It was a short walk to the beach. The room was beautiful with the extra large jucuzzi tub. It was located near many resturants and stores. If i had to stay in Newport Beach again. I would definetly stay at the The Little Inn by the Bay.

Room Tip: make reservations in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanny1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

where to start ? the toilet was falling apart, stained and dirty carpets , tv didnt work and neither did the clock radio . the sheets had holes in them and the mattresses were falling apart and should have been replaced 50 years ago ! very noisey all night and the complimentary breakfast was a joke. RIP OFF ! oh, and the place had a stinky smell .I'VE WARNED YOU ! ! !

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philydog50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 18 in Newport Beach
609 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beac...
#15 of 18 in Newport Beach
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#9 of 18 in Newport Beach
247 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little inn By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little inn By The Bay

Address: 2627 Newport Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-3719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $130 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Little inn By The Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Inn has recently renovated its entire property to provide the utmost comfort to its guests. As a visitor, you may have already explored many lodging options in Newport Beach, but when you go out with your friends and/or family, you deserve the best place to stay with the most convenient location. Our humble staff is enthusiastic to help you plan your vacation. Little Inn by the Bay is always one step ahead in satisfying its visitors, by offering them best accommodations in Newport Beach, even as the most inexpensive hotel on Balboa Peninsula. Little Inn by the Bay offers complimentary Wi-Fi, Wired Internet Access, Parking, Bicycles, Beach Equipment upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Little inn By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Hotel Newport Beach
Little Hotel By The Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing