We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,008)
Filter reviews
2,009 results
Traveler rating
775
602
356
186
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
775
602
356
186
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shor restaurant balboa building fashion island jazz festival golf course shuffle board lobby bar self park beautiful grounds orange county airport john wayne airport main building nice property per day free shuttle shuttle service bay view
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 2,009 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2018

This hotel is more of the old type of resort, with lots to do other than just have a decent room to stay in. It's a beautiful campus to walk around, with three pools, exercise room, volleyball, shuffleboard, etc. Just a few steps from the back of the property is the Upper Bay nature preserve, for running, walking, or bicycling. I only ate breakfast there, it was delicious, and the staff was very friendly and attentive. Since I sat on the patio, I got to watch a hummingbird feed on a bird-of-paradise flower. There's a free shuttle bus to the airport and a couple of other locations in town. If you want to get some fresh air and exercise while traveling for business, keep kids busy for a weekend, or just relax in the amazing weather, you will get a lot more here than in some standard box building of a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Your comments above really speak to the essence of who we are and the nostalgia that we feel the hotel offers. Thank you so much for sharing. We hope that you have the opportunity to return and spend some time with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

The title of my review says it all. Plus their menu prices are outrageous. I travel a lot for my job and can’t believe this property is getting away with these prices. You can’t call this property a resort...

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank laurenL7552HP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are sincerely apologetic that we failed to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

The hotel is very pleasant. Beds are comfortable and place is clean. Nice sitting patios connected to our room overlooking the patio. The food is horrible - do not waste your money eating at the restaurants. Overpriced too. Do not trust the vegetarian and vegan indicators as all their vegetarian food is cooked on the grill with the meat making it non vegetarian.

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank janetnottley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel pleasant and comfortable. We are apologetic that your food and beverage experience was such a disappointment. We will be sure that the comments are shared with our culinary team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

We visited this hotel whilst on a road trip around California. We love the OC series and wanted to visit fashion island. We were taken aback by the pool area, quiet of the hotel, beautiful surroundings and impeccable staff. A hotel I will never forget and it's location is somewhere I will always want to return to.
Amazing - thank you

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank parkerparkeswedd2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your comments. It is awesome to hear that the hotel and staff made such an impression. We do hope you will return and spend some more time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We had a delightful wedding at the Newport Beach Hyatt Regency. I would highly recommend it. The hotel is beautiful, set on lovely grounds facing water. It's up to date ,very comfortable and well staffed. Everyone we dealt with went to extra mile for us. We were especially grateful to Breanna who helped us with the wedding planning and execution. We'd love to come back the next time we're in town.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! Thanks for letting Hyatt Regency Newport Beach be a part of your special day. It is awesome to hear that Brianna was such an asset to you. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews