We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Just returned from a 2 night 3 day stay at the Hyatt Newport and had a wonderful time with the kids. At check in, they wheeled out a wagon filled with toys so that each child could pick something. Each child also received a plastic hyatt cup so they could get free drinks at the pool. The rooms were very comfortable and the crib(pack 'n play) came with a johnson and johnson's travel box of shampoo and lotion. They kids pool was great. There was a huge water slide, water shooters, mini golf, and a huge pool that was 3.5 feet at the shallow end. There is a cute play area across the street from the hotel (where self parking is)- with a couple of small slides, teeter totter and swings. I'd say good for kids 5 and under. Fashion Island is a 5 min drive and has a ton of nicer restaurants as well as a great food court. It also has a Whole Foods Grocery.
Upon check out, they gave us some salt water taffies that the kids enjoyed. Would HIGHLY recommend this hotel- especially those with kids! We had a wonderful time and Helena who works at the front desk was exceptionally friendly and went out of her way a number of times to help make our stay that much more memorable. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank desertratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your great feedback! It's so great to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us! We are very happy that your kids were able to choose a toy from our welcome wagon! We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,397 - 1,403 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

When you arrive at this hotel, you will be happy with the settings and its garden; however, once you get to the room, it is very very small. I guess this Hyatt acquired few very old hotel and refurbished. SO you will see the room is very small and many signs of old hotel. The swimming pool looks great in the website but they are just average. It is located in the back bay, it looks nice in the website but the beach is dirty.

One bad feature is the ceiling is only 8 ft, as a 6' person, low ceiling gave me feeling claustrophobic.

Another annoying thing is the internet is NOT free. For 3-4 start hotel, requiring to pay internet is very lame.


not very happy with my stay.

Room Tip: if you can get other hotel or resort, do not choose this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We no longer charge for Internet in our guestrooms. Our Internet is now included in the resort fee which also includes many other concessions such as golf, bike rentals, beach rentals, access to our shuttle, complimentary printing station, ipad rentals, local and 800 calls, and kids cups with complimentary re-fills. We hope you were able to enjoy our amenities we offer on property! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a really good hotel with excellent facilities, lovely refurbished spacious rooms and very friendly, helpful staff. Loved the pool areas, grounds and gym. We had a lovely room but unfortunately not a good view facing the car park. As our holiday company had incorrectly cancelled our booking we were just so happy the staff pulled out all the stops to make sure we had a room at a time when the hotel was full, so didn't complain about the view. The only negative is that the hotel caters for a lot of corporate events so we found the bar full in the evening with a particular group, and it didn't feel like a holiday bar. The hotel restaurant is also very good although we found it a bit pricey

Room Tip: Ask to not have a room facing the car park. I think all other rooms have some sort of view, be it g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It has been beautifully refurbished, the pools are fantastic, and the staff are so friendly and so helpful - especially Katie, Helena & Joe. We were given a fantastic room with a balcony in the Catalina building on the top floor overlooking the quiet pool. It was really lovely. And if you have forgotten anything they pretty much have everything you might need - nothing was any trouble. The food is great, there is also a Starbucks in the morning and the bar is fab. It's lovely to eat/have a glass of wine out on the terrace with the palm trees! The kids loved the family pool, especially the water slide and the kids activities which were free every friday/sat while we were there. The shuttle buses to Balboa and Fashion Island were so handy and such a brilliant idea for guests. The only negative I would have about this hotel is that some of the rooms do over look the car park and I think perhaps the hotel could maybe put up some kind of attractive screening for guests. They have put in so much effort this hotel and it all is so lovely, that it seems a shame that some guests should have to look at a car park during their stay. I would have been very disappointed if we had been given these rooms, although I'm sure that they are very nice inside. The only other thing is that during their 'concert series' at the hotel they use a few of their top floor rooms as 'concert boxes' on a friday night - of which we were opposite. It seemed very inappropriate to us, to use actual hotel rooms in this way, and although it wasn't a massive deal & only for a couple hours, it felt intrusive having our bedroom just opposite these functions and then having drunk people make a ton of noise as they were leaving at 10pm. Crazy! HOWEVER, all in all a brilliant hotel and I would definitely recommend it. It is also in a great location to explore California - Disney is about 20 mins away and it took us 1hr to get to LA, and we had a great drive down the coast to San Diego.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HelsBels07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback! We do host a summer night concert series on Friday evenings every week in the summer. We are very sorry that you were disturbed by people attending sky boxes for the concert. If you stay with us again, I would highly recommend the Balboa Building for your stay because it has great views of our golf course and pool, yet is away from the lobby and the concert so you can have peace and quiet. Feel free to reach out to me directly if you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very nice hotel with an excellent and very accommodating staff. I had gone on a fishing trip and they were nice enough to store my big catch of fresh tuna in their freezer for a couple of days! Great location as it is close to Balboa and Fashion Island. Just the ideal spot in Newport that I plan on visiting again soon. The people at the bar are awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JeffAtlanta_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Unfortunately I stayed here for business and could not take advantage of all this hotel had to offer. With 3 pools, a 9 hole executive (par 3) golf course, tennis, spa, plus more you could take a vacation at the hotel and never leave. The rooms are spacious and roomy with a balcony overlooking a courtyard. The hotel restaurant "The Shor" offers a fixed price menu where you choose from options for each course. The food was excellent, despite the limited offering. The bar offers burgers and other pub fare. Outside the rooms you could tell you were on the flight path of the Orange County, John Wayne Airport. However, inside the rooms were very quite.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Lido courtyard are the furthest away from the lobby and are right next to the golf cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank awfountain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you for sharing your great experience with us! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Newport Beach and had a blast! The beds were super comfy. The room was clean. Room service was quick and delicious. Parking was easy and convenient. Staff seemed very happy all of the time.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a Villa - you'll have your own private pool. AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your great feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed the Villa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel
Fashion Island Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,048 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,563 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,587 reviews
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Address: 1107 Jamboree Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6219
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $167 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 26 beautifully landscaped acres, offering style and luxury in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Minutes to Fashion Island and Balboa Island and centrally located on Jamboree and Pacific Coast Highway providing easy access to major attractions & theme parks, local beaches and business. Ideal setting for groups and events featuring high-tech meeting space and tropical outdoor venues, this landmark hotel easily accommodates functions of all sizes. With its rich blend of Pacific, Indonesian and Mediterranean styles, the Hyatt radiates the warmth and charm of this unique beach community unlike any other hotel in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Hyatt Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing