We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing, good value for money”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel accommodation is spread across several buildings on a very large site and this gives the place a relaxing feel. The pool we used in the Lido block was quiet and never busy as people with young children tend to use the pool with the slide which is nearer the lobby area. (I would recommend the Lido rooms as they are furthest from the restaurant and lobby but still only 2-3 mins walk). The staff were excellent, food very good and the location is great if you want to visit Huntingdon Beach, Laguna etc. The hotel also provides a free courtesy bus to the Mall and Balboa island. The rooms are very comfortable, have nice balconies (worth requesting one overlooking Back Bay for the views) and whilst the buildings are relatively old they are well maintained. Overall, a nice place to stay and good value for money.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms and pool area tend to be in Lido block. Worth requesting room with a view of Back Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    474
    245
    132
    51
See reviews for
447
316
40
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

First of all they staff at this hotel is some of the BEST. I have traveled many different places on business but the staff at this hotel seems to go above and beyond. When I stayed that had just finished renovating the interiors of the hotel. The also have appeared to renovate the ground or were working on it. I had a room in the Lido section it is the fartherst from the Lobby but it is very quiet. I had a nice view of the golf course and could see the bay. The hotel does have a free airport shuttle which is very nice and leaves every hour from the hotel but it is a bit hard to pick it up from the airport. There is a shuttle to the Fashion Centre Mall and to the edge of Balboa Island but I wish there was a shuttle that went a little further or at least maybe on the went to the Cannery area.
There is only the one restaurant at the hotel and if you don't have a car you are pretty much stuck with it. The food is really good but it is $$$$.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the bay or in the Lido area they appear to be the most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyndeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed for conference hosted by hotel. Would come back if had to but would not seek out. VERY good and accommodating staff!...they compensate for most short-comings & seem to take pride in that. Typical "SW Resort" outdoor walking layout. Decent place. Clean throughout. Well maintained. Can tell bldgs. must have been built in 1960s or so. Not contemporary feel of most Hyatts. Nice grounds, plantings/etc, pool, chip-n-putt golf 'course', tennis courts. Solid Wifi, but better be @ $13~$17/day! Average but tasty breakfast (included in conference fee). Good food & catering staff and conference facilities for our ~350people. Room beds & surfaces are updated but generally a typical feel. Bonus: rooms have ample sized balconies for nice days. Shuttle to-from John Wayne/Orange Cty (SNA) airport good - - but would be nice to have more than once per hour. Close enough for decent $$ taxi ride.

Room Tip: Lido 'block' (where I stayed) away from reception. Quiet but feels dated... View of bay is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mechcr8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Large, sprawling hotel that is tired looking and in need of a total overhaul. The hotel has focused on the aesthetics of the lobby area to mask an old, poorly maintained establishment.

˃ BEACH: the hotel is located over 2 miles from the beach. No bus\shuttle service is provided by the hotel, and there is no public bus link available.

˃ BARS: nightlife in Newport is centred in two locations, ‘the Peninsula’ and ‘the triangle.’ Both are a $20-30 cab ride from the hotel. A bar is available on site, with friendly\pleasant staff. A pint of Bud Light is $6. The food menu is simple and limited. Bar food service is slow, especially at the weekends. Small fridges are provided in room. The nearest grocery store is 1.2 miles away.

˃ SHOPPING: an hourly shuttle service is provided to Fashion Island. For a more extensive range of apparel, visit the South Coast Plaza mall (on Bristol Street), which is located 15 minutes away by car.

˃ HOTEL AMENITIES: 3 swimming pools, golf course and tennis courts. The hotel has removed physical poolside attendant\waitress service in favour of ordering food and beverages by a mobile phone app. This appears to be a cheap money saving gimmick that compounds the poor service that guests should expect from the hotel. A small exercise room is available with some cardio machines.

> ROOMS: there are 3 main accommodation blocks. The ‘Lido’ accommodation is particularly shabby. Rooms are small and have been renovated to a low standard. Expect little sound proofing. If a good night’s rest is your aim, this hotel is not for you.

> INTERNET: internet is available in room for $10 per 24 hours for a low bandwidth, or alternatively $17 for a high speed service.

IN SUMMARY:
Hyatt charge a high price for a hotel that is in need of major renovation.

I would recommend either the Balboa Bay Resort or the Shorebreak Hotel located in nearby Huntington Beach as more modern, relaxing and pleasant alternatives – and both hotels are located right next to the beach!

Room Tip: Avoid the Lido building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hugo, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent stay, as your comments provide us a chance to further improve our property for you and our future guests. Although the beach is not located directly across from the hotel, we do have the bay just across the street, and there is public transportation pick up right on the corner of PCH and Jamboree Rd, which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We also offer a complimentary shuttle ride to Fashion Island as well as Balboa Island. Our season staff has departed, but we feel our hotel app is a step toward the future and see this as a way to provide our guests food and beverage to the pool area year round, which I dont think you will find in many places. I am truly sorry that your stay was not as perfect as we would like for you. I hope that you will give us another chance, as I am sure we will amaze you with our top notch customer service and beautiful property. Please feel free to contact us before you return so we can ensure your future stay goes smooth and effortlessly. Thank you again for your time, and we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed for 8 days as part of a vacation in the US. Bear in mind we were already in holiday mode so our patience for minor frustration may be greater than it may normally. Most of our not so good experiences are relatively minor but the sum total of these left us feeling a bit miffed. It's the small things that make a big difference. Our experience in the US is that overall customer service is excellent. The staff at this hotel are very willing, always smiling and try there best. In my view the problem does not lie with the quality of the frontline staff

So, the not so good #1

Despite explaining that we were a couple staying at the hotel for 8 days we were dispatched to the furthest room from reception which had 2 small double beds made up as singles, with a view out of the window of a grassy bank! We went back to reception and without a flicker they moved us to a room with a large comfortable bed, with a decent view. Why didn't that happen first time round.

The not so good #2

On a Friday night from June to October they have musical concerts that can attract up to 1000 paying guests. Imagine a modest size hotel handling that influx and keeping the paying hotel guests happy at the same time. They don't! Not nearly enough staff on duty when we arrived which may have explained the room mix up

The not so good #3

They had a power cut on the Friday night with the place full of people at the concert. Speak to one member of staff and they say the power company had warned of power cuts in the area. Speak to another and they said it was a complete surprise. No problem with that as such, except that when we asked for 2 glasses of wine post power cut we were told that because of the number of people on site it was a health and safety risk so we couldn't get what we wanted! We were there the following Friday and made sure we went out for the evening- The Cannery, which was a great experience by the way.

The not so good #4

On the day after the power cut and so far no one has expressed regret for the inconvenience. We get a letter from housekeeping offering 30% of a future visit. A) this is not much use for travellers from the UK and B) the offer demonstrates that the hotel is more interested in making more money out of its customers inconvenience than to just say SORRY. Don't pretend this sort of offer puts the customer at the centre of your thinking. It simply doesn't. We complained at the time and it was agreed that the charge for that nights stay would be credited. It was, but only after we reminded them when we were checking out.

The not so good #5

The best pool for us as a couple was closed for one of the days we were there to cater for a corporate event. In the UK that called getting "double bubble. The hotel charged us for the use of the pool and then not doubt the hotel charged the corporate event as well.

The not so good #6

Change the out of date hotel facility booklets in the rooms. Your spa facility has been closed for 2 months!

The not so good #7

$10.95 per day for basic wifi for one appliance. It was cheaper for me to down load data via my UK data roaming package!!!!! Free at the Holiday Inn

Finally the not so good #8

Walls are paper thin and the ludicrous ill fitting sliding door arrangement for the bathroom is like nothing I have seen anywhere before. Not even in Greece in my back packing days!!!!!!!!.

The weather was great, the food was good when we ate at the hotel a couple of times. I even thought breakfast was good quality good value. The pool we used was good. The grounds were nicely manicured and the little pitch and put golf course is a pleasant distraction for 45 minutes or so. We actually had a very relaxing time, but we work very hard to pay for our vacations so we don't see why we should expect anything less than perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hopesprings_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Hyatt Regency at Newport Beach, CA for our last hotel in a trip driving down the coast, and it was definitely a case of saving the best for last! We arrived very early - before 11 am, and were told we could get in our room which was much appreciated. We were given a choice of two locations that had rooms ready and we picked the garden view - definitely a great decision. This room had a good size balcony which overlooked the beautiful gardens and had a tiny view of the bay also. Everything appeared brand new and freshly remodeled with all the most modern touches. They have 3 pools and we chose the one that had wonderful furniture- huge bed with overstuffed pillows and large umbrellas around, couches, and a firepit! The service was top notch and everyone was so helpful with any questions we had. The location is near to everything and I can't say enough about how great this place was! I want to come back and stay a week just at this place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LABPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were here for a conference. Our room was convenient to the conference rooms, but right next to the pool. I was working in our room while my boyfriend attended the conference. My work involves a lot of phone work. Between the thumping loud music blasted from speakers at the pool, the rush of water down the long tube slide, and children screaming incessantly...getting much work done was very difficult. The room was spacious but quite stripped down. No artwork of any kind on the walls and plain white bed covering. Not even a bedspread. This hotel has just one restaurant and it is high priced. The portions are very small. In the morning, the bar transformed into a continental breakfast bar where you pay for coffee, pastries, bagels, juice, or fruit. There was no microwave in the room, which was disappointing as we had brought microwave popcorn with us. When staying for four nights, being able to heat something in our room would have been nice. There was very little insulation between rooms. A female sneezed in the room behind our headboard and it was like she was in the room with us. The hotel locks the tv volume at 20. Just barely enough volume to sort of hear it. I called to ask about this and was told that they cannot change that volume limit because the volume might bother our neighbors. I have a suggestion...put some insulation between the walls. The alarm clock in our room had no way to set it, so we asked for a wake up call for 3 of the nights we were there. Out of three nights, we got one wake up call. And never the 10 minute follow up call as requested. We pre-paid for this stay. Upon check-in, the woman said "I see you are pre-paid for this visit." Two days later our charge card was hit for over $700. It was the hotel charging us for the four nights plus extra. When we went to the front desk, a different female told us that we had not pre-paid our stay. She printed out something to prove this. We let her know that we definitely did pre-pay and that it was acknowledged upon check-in. She held her ground. Two days after we got home, that mysterious charge was reversed. We never got an apology or any kind of explanation. Unless we have to stay here, we will not be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.5 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,275 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
484 reviews
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Property: Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Address: 1107 Jamboree Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6219
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 26 beautifully landscaped acres, offering style and luxury in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Minutes to Fashion Island and Balboa Island and centrally located on Jamboree and Pacific Coast Highway providing easy access to major attractions & theme parks, local beaches and business. Ideal setting for groups and events featuring high-tech meeting space and tropical outdoor venues, this landmark hotel easily accommodates functions of all sizes. With its rich blend of Pacific, Indonesian and Mediterranean styles, the Hyatt radiates the warmth and charm of this unique beach community unlike any other hotel in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Hyatt Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing