We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Being a USA travel agent, I have seen a lot of USA hotels and this one was gorgeous...great location for the beach and getting to Huntington Beach for nightlife. We loved our 2 night stay here, but make sure you book a bay view room...sunsets are stunning.

Room Tip: Bay view every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larasmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,607 - 1,613 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

I'm a frequent Hyatt customer and this trip specific was a great experience, Sarah who oversees the Hyatt passport customers went out of her way to make my stay great, she was helpful with my requests, contacted me afterwards to make sure everything was taken care of and even met me the next morning in the lobby to personally introduce herself.

Everyone at the hotel was courteous and always willing to help in anyway possible.

Perfect customer service!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I just stayed here for two nights for a girl's weekend. The staff was very courteous and helpful - they advised us on room location telling us, honestly, about noise level. We chose a room in the Balboa building near a very quiet, adult pool and loved it. The pool we were at, though not the main pool, still have beverage and food service. The room was clean and spacious and beds were very comfortable. We did not eat at the hotel but they have a nice bar area which serves coffee and light breakfast items in the morning (very handy) and turns into a bar at night. This hotel has a nice tropical feel and is extremely well located to enjoy all of Newport and Balboa Island. I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Just talk to the person checking you in about room location and noise level. Balboa building faces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I wanted to like the Hyatt Regency Newport Beach but I value my sleep too much. We stayed in the Lido Building and other parts of the hotel might not suffer from the same noise issues.

My main problems with noise include:
a) You can hear every word of your neighbour's conversation through the connecting doors - you can even join in the conversation if you want!
b) The courtyard outside is bare so noise bounces around. This is especially a problem with drunken guests saying their long "good nights" in the small hours - you can hear every word because it will wake you up.
c) The passageway outside each room is stone/brick and you can hear guests wheeling their luggage around throughout the night - it sounds like a rail track.
d) The flight path from John Wayne Airport is overhead and will wake you early in the morning (clearly this is a bit beyond the Hyatt's control).

The Hyatt can and should do far more to soundproof the doors to each room which would cut out a lot of the problems.

Apart from the noise the hotel is in good order. It is a long walk from the self-park to the reception - but you can view it as good exercise!

I doubt I would stay again at this hotel because of the noise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights after we had flown in to LAX. Check in was simple and the room we had was a good size and felt like it had recently been refurbished. The safe wasn't working and when we tried to ring to tell them we found the phone didn't work either. We told them about the problems as we went out for food. On returning to our room later, neither were fixed and we couldn't be bothered to walk all the back to reception that night. We made them aware again in the morning and eventually people came to fix it all. No big deal, but for the price I expected better service. Location is OK, but not much within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I am giving this hotel this high rating because of the service. the hotel itself underwent a large renovation, so everything looks clean and modern, but the designs of the building still look a bit dated. that said, we checked into a great room (lido bldg.) second floor, overlooking bay and golf course. it was as though everyone agreed that the area would be quiet and private! we wound up with some neighbors smoking on their patio and it was coming into our room. we called to find out if we could get in another room and Ariana said she would check with management. after waiting some time we headed down to the restaurant and our server Shaun (I hope I spelled it right), was fantastic. it was our first wedding anniversary, so he bought us a bottle of champagne. dinner was great and the service fantastic. when we get to our room, we find a note from Ariana apologizing that they cannot accommodate our request for a different room, but sends a bottle of champagne and invitation to breakfast as an apology.

I had a less than great experience recently with the hyatt in boston and was a bit nervous to count on this chain for such an important day, but they came through and exceeded my expectations.

if you find yourself in Newport beach, make sure you consider this location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veebeewhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

When i first saw the reviews i thought the resort is a typical one in a deserted area. What i experienced was total leisure in a unique resort that has a lot of attractions and events for a great price compared to rival hotels/resorts. The rooms are clean and spacious. The resort offers 3 distinct pools plus jacuzzis. A state of the art mall (fashion island mall) is nearby with great restaurants and movie theaters. I would totally stay there again and again if I had the chance to.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach
2.8 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,571 reviews
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
3.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Address: 1107 Jamboree Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $203 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 26 beautifully landscaped acres, offering style and luxury in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Minutes to Fashion Island and Balboa Island and centrally located on Jamboree and Pacific Coast Highway providing easy access to major attractions & theme parks, local beaches and business. Ideal setting for groups and events featuring high-tech meeting space and tropical outdoor venues, this landmark hotel easily accommodates functions of all sizes. With its rich blend of Pacific, Indonesian and Mediterranean styles, the Hyatt radiates the warmth and charm of this unique beach community unlike any other hotel in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Hyatt Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing