We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$284
Hotels.com$284
Priceline$284
Travelocity$284
FindHotel$284
CheapTickets$284
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveler rating
622
98
18
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
622
98
18
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop deck boogie boards beach towels afternoon cookies fresh cookies across the street post card within walking distance yogurt free breakfast breakfast sandwich home away from home the location is perfect dvd player little things definitely stay here again third floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 746 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2019

Here is the good and the downside to this hotel. The location is fantastic, located right across the street from the beach. They also are located within walking distance to some great restaurants. The hotel has a cool surfer/60s type of vibe, the staff is super friendly and the rooftop sitting area is awesome. The downside to this property is the musty smell in the rooms, the small size of the rooms and the breakfast was primarily frozen Jimmy Dean sausage biscuits.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Demonsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel - Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. Our breakfast has always been a simple continental style breakfast, and the personality of our older beach vibes hotel definitely shines through at times. I hope you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here with our parents, one of which is on a wheelchair. Make sure to give that info at booking because they have a room that is designed with more room for this and you won’t have to squeeze into the antique elevator

The hotel is older/historic, quaint, has small rooms with clean but tight bathrooms and a mini fridge in the closet. The beds slept well and the furnishings clean and nice.

They have outside hotel doors with patio furniture by each room to sit and enjoy the evening. There is also a top 4th floor with open air table and chairs to go and get a view and enjoy a drink or snack.

The staff is wonderful, helpful and so friendly. The breakfast included with the room and was full of variety of items to satisfy us all.

Oh and bonus, they put out complimentary fresh baked cookies every afternoon around 3 pm for the guests.

Also they have free beach chairs, towels and umbrellas for the guests to use on the beach.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank kbailey1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel - Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2020

Bailey,
Thanks for such a wonderful detailed review. Sorry that it slipped through the holiday cracks and didn't get a response until now, but I wanted to personally thank you for staying with us as well. I hope you'll come back in the future for another visit. Let us know how we can get that 5 stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2019

Great location staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating we totally enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning. Just a short walk to the boardwalk and then longer walk to Balboa Island but we thoroughly enjoyed it

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RMK4LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel - Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2020

Thanks for the great review! Hope you had wonderful holidays and Happy New Year! We hope you'll stay with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

What a great stay! I spent two nights here with my 11 year daughter for a beach getaway and would love to come back. I chose Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel because of the great reviews I read and I must say everything is true. Coming from Chicago we loved the beachy feel and decorations and the amenities include thoughtful touches other hotels don't provide. We had everything we needed for beach fun and the staff were so friendly and helpful in giving us recommendations. I wondered if I would mind not being directly on the beach but it is adjacent to a lovely park with lighthouse and there is a beach on the bay one block in one direction and the ocean beach one block in the other direction. We never needed a car. Really, really great classic beach hotel. Thanks for the memories and especially the warm cookies!!

Date of stay: August 2019
1  Thank Lindanitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel - Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Linda,
It was such a joy to hear that you came all the way from Chicago and that you enjoyed your beach getaway with us at Bay Shores. It is really nice to be nestled right between the beautiful bay and the beach and I'm so glad you got a chance to go to both and enjoy yourselves. We would love to welcome you both back for a future visit- maybe a family tradition in the making! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is safe, clean, comfortable, well maintained, conveniently located and staffed by some of the nicest people you will ever meet. It also has free parking, continental breakfast and lots of beach toys to borrow for a great day of relaxation with the family. I would definitely come back here again!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank LaureenP258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel - Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Laureen,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm so happy to hear that you were treated so nicely and offered a warm welcome. We really aim to make you feel at home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews