We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low key comfort and convenience in Newport Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Low key comfort and convenience in Newport Beach”
Reviewed June 13, 2010

My wife and I searched the internet for a place to stay in Newport Beach that allowed easy access to Orange County International Airport. We had traveled to catch a flight home after a trip to Yosemite and Kings Canyon parks and wanted to relax after a week of hiking and site seeing. We booked two nights at the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel because it was on Balboa Blvd., running up the two-block-wide peninsula between the ocean and the large marina area. We both loved this "surfer boutique" hotel and the low key hassle free vibe. It is an older three story motel with convenient parking that fits in with the residential beach community neighborhood. We arrived early in the afternoon, but they allowed us to occupy the room immediately. They gave us a free upgrade to an ocean view room, free internet access and offered fresh baked chocolate chip cookies. The room had ample windows opening to an ocean breeze. It was decorated with a tasteful surfer mural, contemporary lighting and fixtures, a huge new LCD HD TV and had a relaxing beach cottage motif. The hotel does not have a restaurant or bar but offers a well stocked continental breakfast with the room. The hotel's uncrowded roof top sun and lounge deck was perfect for sipping morning coffee or your own evening drink. The comfortable seating offers a nice view of the ocean front neighborhood, the beach and the surrounding marina. The beautiful Newport beach was only a block away and the pier and clustered businesses and restaurants are in easy walking distance. The staff was very friendly and seemed to take pleasure from helping the guests. The rooms were very clean and the exterior hotel had an appealing "weathered" look. The only negative was the boulevard traffic at night which required closing the windows to get sound sleep. We highly recommend this well run business.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrhmkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    84
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
116
300
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

What can I say that I or someone else hasn’t already said about the BSP. It had been nearly eighteen months since our last stay and nothing has changed, it’s still the best little hotel around.
Actually I did notice one of thing had changed. The breakfast burritos have been replaced by a sausage and egg Mc muffin thing. Not sure about those.
Why does everyone like Bay Shores, I don’t know, it’s just one of those places.
Oh and thanks Fred for a great deal

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurferDave08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Our room was small but cozy. Extremely clean and comfortable. Free in-room wi-fi. Very cute hotel in great location. No view from room but nice from sundeck. Friendly staff. Parking is free. Will stay again. Don't be deterred by the few negative reviews!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda93555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flyover Country
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We have been going to Newport Beach for our yearly vacation for several years now and have made Bay Shores Inn our home away from home. The staff are friendly and accommodating and they really treat you like family. Being so close to the boardwalk and ocean is fabulous - The location is perfect! They have beach paraphernalia for guests to use, newspapers are provided and breakfast is served daily.

I highly recommend this hotel as a great choice to stay while vacationing in the Newport Beach area. If your main goal is clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a location that cannot be beat this is your hotel. I love this place!!

**One thing to watch closely for is the railing on the second and third floors. The bars are spaced quite far apart, so make sure to watch your kiddos. We've always had our kids there and have not had any problems at all, but just an FYI if you have kids.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamaneedsleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

This small hotel near the beach in Newport Beach is quite wonderful. Rooms are very comfortable and some have harbor views. There is a lovely rooftop with umbrella shaded tables where we ate breakfast and sipped some wine. Cleanliness seemed to be a top priority to the staff. For those of us who do not want to spend $200 a night for a room, this is a true gem.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overmyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay. The service was outstanding - from reservation to check out. Loved the clean feel and the fresh flowers in the bathroom. Afternoon cookies were great. Perfect location for our trip to Newport Beach

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StillwaterMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We just returned from a week in Southern California, including three nights at the Bayshores. I can not say enough about the hotel. On our first night at the hotel, we returned from dinner with friends to find no parking (It was St Patricks Day, and Newport Beach was very busy). The front desk representative actually came out and moved his car to give us his space. Everyone at the hotel was friendly & helpful, the location was excellent with just a short walk to the beach, reastaurants & bars, the courtyard balconies & roof deck were wonderful, and the free cookies were a nice added touch. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a cozy place to stay in Orange County.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,453 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
229 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Property: Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing