We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defininely a 2 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2007

Booked a 2 bed suite. I think we got the worst rooms in the place. On ground floor level, it was very dark and smelt a bit musty. But the worst thing was a very annoying noise that kept repeating every 9 minutes. I was awake all night!!
The next day we moved to the bay suite (at no extra cost) which was much brighter and airier (and no noise). They also took $75 off the bill, though I think there should have been no charge as I did not sleep at all.
On the plus side, the location is excellent, there is free internet access, dvds and vcrs for free, also continental breakfast, but breakfast room is way too small.
Also this place is expensive. We moved to the Fairmont and got % star rooms for much the same price.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jjjnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 605 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2006

We recently stayed at the Bay Shores for my birthday. I was pleasantly surprised by the rooms. They are very nice and extremely clean. The staff is very helpful and accomodating. There is a continental breakfast that was adquate. Although the breakfast area is a bit small. The only thing that could have made our room better would be more pillows. I prefer at least two or three extra. The inn is on a main street but it was not overly noisy. We had a very nice stay and would definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank btworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2006

I loved this hotel!! Very quaint and comfortable, with B&B feel. Rooms have darling beach house style decore. I am a clean freak, and our room was immaculate. Very comfortable bed, bath had soft, fluffy towels. Ocean view was fabulous, I loved the breeze blowing through the window at night. Beach chairs,umbrellas, boogie boards, etc. provided free!! Was great, since we didn't have to use our trunk space to bring our own, or rent at the beach. Beach just across the street is awesome, and the walk to the pier and shops was great. Hotel staff was friendly, breakfast was better than average continental. Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank DesertRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed the couple of nights we stayed at the Bay Shores Peninsula Inn (formerly Best Western) in September of 06. It has everything you need for a Newport Beach visit. Great location, a block from the sand, close to restaurants and shops, and with free parking. They've remodeled the rooms since our last stay a few years ago, and they are really well done - crisp and clean. Some rooms have a view of the ocean, which was nice but at a block away, it's not critical. The included breakfast is quite good, with some hard-boiled eggs (good) and breakfast burritos (so-so) to go along with the usual breads, juice and coffee. They have free videos to borrow and free beach towels, chairs and umbrellas to use, which really helps cut down on the amount of stuff you need to bring. The staff is friendly and helpful. I wish there had been little more soundproofing between the rooms, but there was never too much noise to fall asleep.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank OJC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2006

From the road this motel doesnt look special but once you walk in the front door you can tell its something different. The staff is so helpful, friendly. Always a smile. The lobby has a computer which you can use any time of the day, no charge. Small, cute breakfast room with a very nice continental breakfast. The view is amazing from the roof top where my husband & I ate our breakfast. The room has everything you could want. Great size bathroom, lots of drawers, cupboards. Refrigerator in the room with bottle water that is complementary! They provide beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas, beach toys etc. One easy block to the beach, near Newport Pier. Great location. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LeslieEllen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2006

I was sad when we left the Bay Shores Inn, because I couldn't make a reservation to return. This was our third visit and this time we brought our teenage daughters, and stayed in one of the family suites...it was great for the 4 of us...I can't help but rave about the place - what makes the difference is the ability to take a walk on the beach every morning! Don't hesitate to stay at this gem of a hotel.

11  Thank PinotSeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Germany
15
Reviewed June 6, 2006

Everything positive said about this hotel is true. It's small with only 25 rooms. The decor of the rooms is lovely and the personel is most helpfull. It really is a great tip. The rates are not cheap for a small hotel but it's really worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,755 reviews
3 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#9 of 18 in Newport Beach
245 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
4.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $157 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing